We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very splendid experience at the splendid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #65 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Loved this hotel, location couldn't be better - perfectly positioned between St Marks square and the Rialto bridge. Great bar where you can sit in the window and overlook the canal and watch the boats go by. We had a deluxe double with a canal view, it was lovely to open the window and see the tranquil canals all around. The breakfast room is beautiful, and there was a great choice of food for breakfast. The only criticism I would make would be that the central heating was on very high (it was freezing temperatures outside) so we had to switch it off at night and open the bedroom window to get some fresh air. There was alot of street noise going on which then made it hard to sleep. But overall a really great hotel and I will definately be returning.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank englishrose1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear Englishrose1981,
thank you for dedicating a bit of your time time to us and for choosing our Hotel as place to stay.. I will pass to all my associates your lovely comment.. Thank you so much and we look forward to welcome you back soon at the Starhotels Splendid Venice,
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,246 - 1,250 of 2,774 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

My friend and I shared a double room for three nights on a girlie trip. The hotel was ideally located between St Marc's Square and the Rialto bridge and was easy to find from the Vaporetto with our wheelie cases (I printed directions from the hotel website). The hotel was clean and bright with friendly, helpful staff and comfortable beds. The shower (over a bath) was excellent and quite reviving after a hard days sightseeing! Shampoo and body wash were provided plus there was a safe and ampl clothes hangers. The reception staff helped with banks and restuarants and they even have a "pillow menu" with a choice of neck pillows. Free WiFi in the lobby or I paid for 24hours for 5.50 euro. Breakfast was served 7-10.30 am with juices, cereal, cakes, ham, cheese etc, plus scrambled eggs and bacon as part of the buffet. Extras were available to order. Marco in the bar is fab. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear Sara M,
thank you very much for your nice comment and for dedicating a bit of your time to us also after your departure... We are very happy you have spent a lovely stay and that our associates particularly Marco has exceeded the expectations. Your thoughts will be convoyed to all our associetes in a way of awwarding such great service and dedication towards our guests,.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon and remain
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My husband & I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - from the outset we found the email contact all very helpful, friendly and informative and the hotel more than lived up to our expectations on arrival - easy to find from the Rialto Bridge and literally a matter of minutes to San Marco - perfectly positioned and a beautiful room - we were on 3rd floor with a Canal View, truly Splendid indeed - clean, spacious and very nice and light - perfect.
We were so lucky with the weather and the whole trip was excellent. We found the desk staff and the guest relations lady very helpful and when (not if) we return to Venice we would not hesitate to go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Canal View rooms are to be recommended !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaJaneGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

From the time we made our booking through emails, the service was great. I requested a room with a balcony and a view and was given a lovely one overlooking a canal (albeit a long way down- 4 storeys) The view over the roof tops was charming. Our room was elegant with fine details. We loved the small tv in the bathroom!
Location is excellent. Piazza San Marco just minutes walk, as is everything else.
The restaurant under glass roof is beautiful, and I am told even more so when it snows!
Elegant lounge areas with large windows make fab photo opportunities, as you sip your drink and gondolas drift by only feet away.
Free wifi is only available in the lobby/lounge areas. Pity not included for the room.
Staff were very friendly and proffessional, and the concierge is very happy to help with any details. Thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suziestella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Had a glorious 2 nights stay at this beautiful hotel, and wished it could have been longer!
We were warmly welcomed to Venice and the hotel by the staff. Our room was ready earlier than expected for us, which was excellent.
The room itself was very modern in both decor and fixtures. Thi is not common in Venice, as majority of hotels are decorated in a more traditional style. We had a triple share room booked and I was slept onthe rollaway bed. The bed was as comfortable as a normal bed, so I was well rested to explore the city.
Breakfast was included in our room rate. The breakfast area was bright and welcoming. The buffet style was mainly continental style with a small selection of hot items too. All was beautifully presented and fresh.
Location wise this hotel is perfect! You are a short distance on foot from the vaporetto station and you are almost on Piazza San Marco. Like I said, perfect!
Have already recommended this hotel to my parents for their stay later on this year. And they are fussy!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Kirstywoo,
frist of all thank you so much for dedicating a bit of your time to us a for choosing our hotel as place to stay. We are very happy to read your stay was nice and enjoyble. Thank you so much!
We hope to see you back soon at the Splendid Vencie and at the Splendid Venice for an other glourious stay..
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#96 of 387 in Venice
1,418 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 387 in Venice
1,925 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#79 of 387 in Venice
1,048 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Family Hotel in Venice
#43 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $220 - $847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing