We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, better hotel than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #67 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My first trip to Europe in 20 years, and this was my first hotel. It exceeded my expectations. People were friendly, rooms were clean and functional, and the breakdfast was great. It was so easy to walk to the great places in Venice from here. Compared to the prices I saw for other hotels, this was great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,208 of 2,746 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Having just returned from a 3 night break in Venice, I could not help feeling very cross upon leaving this hotel. Firstly the check in process was so slow made even worse by grumpy staff. The room itself was ok, I had booked a suite but it was so small in the bedroom area that there was just enough room to walk around the end of the bed as it was so close to the windows, maybe it was the shape of the room !. The decoration is nice however and the bathroom a good size. The location is wonderful, so near to everything and situated on a lovely little canal with lot's of good shops, cafe's etc nearby.
My problem really started at checkout - I left breakfast to pay the bill as we were being collected by a water taxi & I wanted to be organised. The man at the front desk was friendly at first asking me about the mini bar, wifi etc , all of which I agreed with, then he said I would be charged 3 days of extra breakfast for the child, no problem I said however we only had breakfast on the second & third morning. He then became quite rude saying he would have to check with the breakfast staff, " fine " I said, " however I am telling you we did not have breakfast on the first morning". He then proceeded to make a call & leave me standing for 10 minutes while he attended to another guest - meanwhile the lady in charge of the breakfast area came in, looked me up & down & said she would have to check. At this point I was really loosing my patience as I had been waiting now almost 25 minutes - I really did not care if I paid for the breakfast or not, it was the attitude that disappointed me. I then asked the other staff member behind the desk if I could pay her as my taxi was now waiting, but was told that he was dealing with it & I would have to wait. Eventually he attended to me & said yes I had not had breakfast on the first day !!!!! I think he got the message by my face that I was not impressed, however no apology was forthcoming over the delay & rudeness. One other thing to note is that every time we went to our room , the key card would not work & we would have to go to reception to have it reprogrammed - once or twice is understandable but every time is a bit of a joke. Having travelled extensively throughout the world , I find it very disappointing that front desk staff can let a hotel down so badly - whatever happened to the customer is always right ?

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oscarspet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Oscarspet,
first of all thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Venice and for dedicating a bit of your time to us also after your departure.
Your comment is very important to us. I will verify with the relevant head of department the better understand the situation and be well assured that we will definetly work on what you have kindly pointed out on your comment. Please feel free to contact me if you come back to Venice, we would be very happy to welcome you back and to show you our high standard of service.
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We thought this hotel was excellent, and would definitely consider staying here again if we return to Venice. The staff were exceptionally polite, the breakfast was great and the restaurant was incredible on the one occasion we ate there.
The location was perfect, almost exactly half way between Rialto bridge and Piazza San Marco, so in a city where it is very easy to get lost we could always find our way back to the hotel by following the plentiful signs to either.
The room was spotless, with a nice view over the canal. If I had one complaint it was that the "double" bed was actually two singles pushed together, and on a very polished floor they kept sliding apart very easily. Hardly a major complaint though!
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Venice. I can't, however, comment on the price, as our stay was paid for by Airmiles so I don't know the normal prices.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panzerbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was my first time at this hotel after many trips to venice.. If I return there I would definitely stay there again.. Wonderful location, on a small canal.. Lovely rooms and great helpful staff.. A real winner!!!!

Room Tip: be on the canal if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gramargot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We have nothing but praise for this hotel. My partner and I spent three nights here whilst visiting Venice.
The staff are very helpful, we had a first class room which overlooked a little canal and gave limited views of the city.
It's location was just two small blocks from St Marks Square in one direction and the Rialto Bridge in the other.
We had a really nice meal in the restaurant which is warmly decorated, and has attentive staff.
The hotel itself is very stylishly decorated without being overdone.
We were constantly getting lost in Venice which we suppose is part of it's charm. The whole place is a maze of little alleys and canal bridges which all look very similar.
We caught a Vaporetto from the airport which dropped us off at the Rialto Bridge . From there it is just a few minutes to the hotel, when you manage to find it .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seutonious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#99 of 385 in Venice
1,394 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#78 of 385 in Venice
1,041 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Family Hotel in Venice
#45 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $222 - $963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing