We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Ranked #140 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We went on our honeymoon to venice, like most of us we thought it would be really romantic. We reached in d night but the best part was location, it ryt opposite to the railway station. So it was easy for us to reach to the hotel. But it turned a task wid ol d luggage we had. We called the hotel to arrange for a transport but they said it would be charged at €40. So we carried our luggage ourselves. The staff was warm. The room we got was quite small n cozy. But the best part was canal view. Which made it really romantic at night. The size of the bed was definately a problem if u r a lil tall,which we had. The breakfast was nice.the balcony offered a great view of the mornings. Ovearall a decent hotel but cant say a four star kinds. Only great because of location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aasthagupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,684 - 1,688 of 3,106 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2011

The room we stayed in was a canal view room. Although it was small, it was quite nice as it had a fair amount of detail to it. Canal views were good, but have to stand quite close to the windows to appreciate it. One downside is the noise from the canal (not too bad during most sleeping hours however).

The location is obviously fantastic for train travellers but I'd also say is a good location all round. As it's not in the centre of town, it in a way forces you to either walk or get a vaporetto, which is fantastic! Part of the adventure in Venice is exploring the back streets and viewing the canal, so for this it's perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

my wife and I stayed here in May of this year for 2 nights as part of our 10th wedding anniversary. We upgraded to the Juliet balcony on the canal which was well worth the expense as it afforded us the perfect perch from which to watch all the coming and goings along the canal. Boats of every size and shape; some brimming with commuters, others carrying anything and everthing imaginable passed by our view.....staff were very friendly; eager to ensure that you were happy and the location is within good walking distance of St Mark's Square. Rooms were on the smaller size but were adequate for Venice standards and highly romantic. We actually slept all night with the balcony doors and side window open so that we could open our eyes and look upon the canal at any time. It is across from the train station but that did not take away from the overall experience....perfectly placed to catch the afternoon sun and sunset..We spent our time meandering along the waterways and shops and felt perfectly safe. Unbelievalble experience..we will come back to this hotel and defeinately recommend you try the Juliet balcony experience. We do have photos to view if interested.
Tramper

Room Tip: definately worth the upgrade to the Juliet balcony/canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tramper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We went to Italy for our honeymoon in Nov, 2011. Our second hotel was Hotel Carlton and it was FABULOUS. We booked the Junior Suit and got the exact same room that was in the pictures. We had flowers waiting in our room and Presco delivered on the second night. The whole hotel staff was absolutely lovely. Very friendly, spoke great english, and all were very helpful! We will be going back to this hotel in the future!!

Room Tip: Junior Suite with Canal View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayleigh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed here for a few nights and thought the location was the best thing about the hotel.
Rooms were very small, but that wasn't really a problem. Our location was step out and onto the grand canal. Shops, restaurants at your fingertips. Free wi-fi in lobby and breakfast was very nice. Great coffee. If in Venice, try to go out to Burano. Well worth the visit. A sleepy little place with wonderful restaurants, shops and terrific locals. The hotel is also opposite the train station. Don't worry, the station is located on the grand canal. Lovely walks at night with an easy walk back to the hotel. Do not be put off about coming here in winter. The weather was fresh in the morning, but we had lovely sunny days. Great not to have so many tourists around. You actually get to see more without being pushed around. Loved Venice and this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morrisjanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,217 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 387 in Venice
3,960 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#77 of 387 in Venice
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Cannaregio
Venice Times Hotel
Venice Times Hotel
#73 of 387 in Venice
113 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#122 of 387 in Venice
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Address: Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#149 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $177 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal has been run with passion for approximately 30 years by a Venetian family which loves to pay its guests attention, by providing them with valuable advise on how to capture the city’s true essence.Pastel shades, Venetian stuccoes, glass wall lamps made in Murano, furnishings which, while being functional, recall the glorious Serenissima epoch: these are the elements of the new hall and bar, completely mirrored on marvellous Istria stone. Right at the centre of the hotel is an original glass cupola creating light effects which highlight its sophistication. The recently restored, characteristic internal patio onto which some of the rooms look out and where guests can enjoy breakfast or relax, using it as a peaceful open-air lounge, has a notable impact on guests. The elegant Bar Carlton Café offers you the chance to taste excellent drinks and whet your appetite with unusual snacks both in the internal room and in the open-air, enjoying an unforgettable stay on the Grand Canal.The hotel also offers its guests outstanding opportunities to discover all of Venice’s magic, by organizing personalised itineraries and excursions: boat tours to the lagoon islands, guided tours of the city, romantic itineraries followes by a candle lit dinner and much more. For further information on “special” packages, check out our online booking now or send your request to our booking centre.For conferences and meetings we can provide the “Galileo” room, fitted with update equipment and capable of holding up to 60 people.Some of the services offered to our guests include: free entry to the Casino, free baggage surveillance, baby-sitting, restaurant booking, theatre and concert tickets.Restaurant “La Cupola”Elegant reflections, inviting aromas, brilliant colours and exclusive tastes: these are the defining features of our restaurant “La Cupola”, a jewel of refined style in newly renovated surroundings, boasting harmony in its menu selections inspired both by innovative cuisine, as well as the genuine traditions of the territory.The distinct, welcoming atmosphere and the fine cuisine will envelop you and capture you, transforming your “mealtime” into an exceptional experience.You will be greeted with warmth and courtesy, and given expert advice on your menu selections.The typical and international specialties are served with refined simplicity, elegant and genuine at the same time, accompanied by an exclusive wine list. Our Maitre, Filippo Nocerino, will be at your disposition for any special requests.Perfect for any occassion or simply for a romantic evening, our restaurant “La Cupola” will live up to your expectations and your appetites!TOP OF THE CARLTON SKY LUNGE & RESTAURANTLet “Time Out” steer you upwards to the finest sky lounge in Venice for enjoying cocktails in the clouds and Grand Canal view dining .Stylish evenings begin and end at TOP OF THE CARLTON, the rooftop terrace perched on the 4th floor of the Carlton on the Grand Canal Hotel. Impressive views from this spacious terrace take in both the ancient majesty of the Grand Canal and its noble palaces and the modern Constitution bridge, the newest structure that pierces the motley Venice skyline full of domes, bell towers, arches and spires.Choose from a multitude of cocktails, snacks and light-dining while you sit and enjoy a romantic sunset or experience the gentle lapping of the Grand Canal waters as a gondola passes by.When it’s time to unwind and relax, choose Top of the Carlton.TOP OF THE CARLTON can be exclusively reserved for private events and functions, such as wedding receptions, birthday parties, corporate events – in fact the sky is the limit.Open from mid May to end of September, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Grand Canal Hotel
Hotel Carlton Grand Canal
Canal Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing