We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bellini(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$260
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$271
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Tiziano(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$253
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$498
US$329
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Montecarlo(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$258
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$254
US$195
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$333
US$248
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
US$420
US$332
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$970
US$738
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,237)
Filter reviews
3,237 results
Traveller rating
973
1,433
541
184
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
973
1,433
541
184
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationgrand canalrooftop barwater busacross the bridgepiazzale romalovely hotelrooms are smallvenetian stylepeople movergondola ridest marks squareideal locationsuperior roomcold meatshambreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
1,706 - 1,711 of 3,237 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel is decorated very nice in the lobby and main areas of the hotel. However when you get to your room you find an extremely small room that is stuffy and humid. The hallways are nice and cool but the room is like 20 degrees higher than it is outside. When you go to the front desk they tell you that thy do not provide air conditioning to the room until May, 15th. Damn and I'm the idiot that decide to book a room for April 25th. You obviously get what you pay for pity Globus doesn't tell their customers this when they sell you the $4k dollar vacation for two without airfare. Globus, false advertising is something I didn't expect from your company.

Room Tip: Go someplace else, tell Globus if that is the hotel you are going someplace else.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pxxx T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonGrandCanal, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel.

Your major concern seems to be the air conditioning.

In our hotel the air conditioning is centralized and during the winter and early spring season it is absolutely not necessary. We are aware of the need to save energy to help protect the environment. We can see that society will not tolerate waste at any level anymore.

During your stay the maximum day temperature was 18° while minimum night temperature was 7°.

Heating can be adjusted to maintain the desired temperature but sometimes carpeted rooms could be quite warm. We can give tips on how to keep the room cool while saving energy: leave your bedroom window slightly ajar during the day.

With an overnight temperature of 7 degrees you could have cooled the room by simply opening the window for less than one hour.

Our hotel has over forty years of experience and. we can assure you that no one has ever before accused us of providing misleading advertising. We are equally certain of the standard of the service we provide and the manner in which it is offered.

We hope that we have clarified our position.

Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel is very nice and clean. Breakfast was great, staff very helpful. Internet free in the lobby. Hotel was convenient to train station. Would go back agian.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TravelerUnitedStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I booked this Hotel in the very last minute and I was pretty happy with the price and the quality of the Hotel. Staff are really nice and helpful and the place looks really nice, even fancy. The location may be a pro or a con depending upon the point of view; it isjust crossing the canal from the train and bus stations but it is far from downtown, anyhow, Venice is small and everything is at a walking distance. I highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uberpomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Nice location, good breakfast, beautiful lobby and bar area, nice decor and clean. Globus Tour

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

First impressions were good. The entry and reception area is clean and bright and the staff professional and polite.

The location is good for travel. It's a short walk across one bridge to the train station and a slightly longer walk to Piazza del Roma via another bridge where the coaches and car parks are to be found. For those who enjoy walking, such as ourselves, its an easy walk from the hotel to the main attractions of Venice, However, if time is of the essence or you are not one who favors exploring by foot there are other hotels closer to Piazza St Marco, although without the proximity to mainland transport.

The breakfast which was included in our booking was taken in the Hotel's restaurante. The breakfast was better than most hotels offer although was no where near as extensive as those offered in Dubai or Thai hotels we have experienced.

The room, while comfortable, was far smaller than we expected and the bathroom presented it's challenges - yes it was small and the shower was not easy for a tall western frame to manage, The rooms were also showing their age and the need for refurbishment showed. The rooms were nevertheless clean.

The staff were extremely helpful with all our requests and nothign seemed too much trouble for them,. So full marks here.

On the down side, as with most if not all hotels on the island(s) of Venice, the hotel is not value for money. But from discussions with others in Venice at the time and a healthy dose of internet trolling it lines up with its competition. If you really need to save the dollars, there are lower cost and comfortable hotels on the mainland a short buss ride from Venice, but of course you don't get the canal location and the convenience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zalton101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews