We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Marin(Venice)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Airone(Venice)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Canal(Venice)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellini(Venice)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,189)
Filter reviews
3,189 results
Traveller rating
964
1,415
531
175
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
964
1,415
531
175
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationgrand canalrooftop barwater busacross the bridgepiazzale romalovely hotelarriving by trainrooms are smallvenetian stylemarco polo airportpeople movergondola rideideal locationst marks squaresuperior roomhotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
1,668 - 1,673 of 3,189 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Great Hotel. Across the Grand Canal from the train station, so a short walk. There is still a bridge with many steps so think about that when you are carrying your luggage! Beware of strange men offering to help you with your luggage, it is not for free! The rooms were spacious and well appointed, although a little warm? There was free WiFi but it is only in the lobby?! Breakfast was typical, lots of pastries, cereal, scrambled eggs, cold meats, juice and coffee etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a Canal view room. They are by far the best. A little more expensive but worth the money.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour package and we loved our room. We are a couple so we opted for a double bed. The room we got was spacious and the bathroom is good sized too. The hotel offers rooms that faces the canal but we were not lucky enough to get that one. We loved the free wi fi. Breakfast is good enough.

The hotel is close to the ferrovia (which i think is a train station) and a lot of people are always near there so I am guessing it is a transport hub. It is also around 5 min walk to the vaporetto (water bus) stop so it is very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earth-trekker-x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel is decorated very nice in the lobby and main areas of the hotel. However when you get to your room you find an extremely small room that is stuffy and humid. The hallways are nice and cool but the room is like 20 degrees higher than it is outside. When you go to the front desk they tell you that thy do not provide air conditioning to the room until May, 15th. Damn and I'm the idiot that decide to book a room for April 25th. You obviously get what you pay for pity Globus doesn't tell their customers this when they sell you the $4k dollar vacation for two without airfare. Globus, false advertising is something I didn't expect from your company.

Room Tip: Go someplace else, tell Globus if that is the hotel you are going someplace else.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pxxx T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonGrandCanal, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel.

Your major concern seems to be the air conditioning.

In our hotel the air conditioning is centralized and during the winter and early spring season it is absolutely not necessary. We are aware of the need to save energy to help protect the environment. We can see that society will not tolerate waste at any level anymore.

During your stay the maximum day temperature was 18° while minimum night temperature was 7°.

Heating can be adjusted to maintain the desired temperature but sometimes carpeted rooms could be quite warm. We can give tips on how to keep the room cool while saving energy: leave your bedroom window slightly ajar during the day.

With an overnight temperature of 7 degrees you could have cooled the room by simply opening the window for less than one hour.

Our hotel has over forty years of experience and. we can assure you that no one has ever before accused us of providing misleading advertising. We are equally certain of the standard of the service we provide and the manner in which it is offered.

We hope that we have clarified our position.

Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel is very nice and clean. Breakfast was great, staff very helpful. Internet free in the lobby. Hotel was convenient to train station. Would go back agian.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TravelerUnitedStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I booked this Hotel in the very last minute and I was pretty happy with the price and the quality of the Hotel. Staff are really nice and helpful and the place looks really nice, even fancy. The location may be a pro or a con depending upon the point of view; it isjust crossing the canal from the train and bus stations but it is far from downtown, anyhow, Venice is small and everything is at a walking distance. I highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uberpomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews