We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Ranked #144 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This hotel is a gem! Located right on the Grand Canal with gondola and vaporetto service right out the front door, it was a great place to stay while enjoying Venice. The rooms are small, but very clean, quiet, and comfortable. When back in Venice we will stay here again. The breakfast was excellent, as were all our breakfasts on our Italian holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,566 - 1,570 of 3,016 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Great Hotel. Across the Grand Canal from the train station, so a short walk. There is still a bridge with many steps so think about that when you are carrying your luggage! Beware of strange men offering to help you with your luggage, it is not for free! The rooms were spacious and well appointed, although a little warm? There was free WiFi but it is only in the lobby?! Breakfast was typical, lots of pastries, cereal, scrambled eggs, cold meats, juice and coffee etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a Canal view room. They are by far the best. A little more expensive but worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour package and we loved our room. We are a couple so we opted for a double bed. The room we got was spacious and the bathroom is good sized too. The hotel offers rooms that faces the canal but we were not lucky enough to get that one. We loved the free wi fi. Breakfast is good enough.

The hotel is close to the ferrovia (which i think is a train station) and a lot of people are always near there so I am guessing it is a transport hub. It is also around 5 min walk to the vaporetto (water bus) stop so it is very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earth-trekker-x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel is decorated very nice in the lobby and main areas of the hotel. However when you get to your room you find an extremely small room that is stuffy and humid. The hallways are nice and cool but the room is like 20 degrees higher than it is outside. When you go to the front desk they tell you that thy do not provide air conditioning to the room until May, 15th. Damn and I'm the idiot that decide to book a room for April 25th. You obviously get what you pay for pity Globus doesn't tell their customers this when they sell you the $4k dollar vacation for two without airfare. Globus, false advertising is something I didn't expect from your company.

Room Tip: Go someplace else, tell Globus if that is the hotel you are going someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pxxx T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonGrandCanal, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel.

Your major concern seems to be the air conditioning.

In our hotel the air conditioning is centralized and during the winter and early spring season it is absolutely not necessary. We are aware of the need to save energy to help protect the environment. We can see that society will not tolerate waste at any level anymore.

During your stay the maximum day temperature was 18° while minimum night temperature was 7°.

Heating can be adjusted to maintain the desired temperature but sometimes carpeted rooms could be quite warm. We can give tips on how to keep the room cool while saving energy: leave your bedroom window slightly ajar during the day.

With an overnight temperature of 7 degrees you could have cooled the room by simply opening the window for less than one hour.

Our hotel has over forty years of experience and. we can assure you that no one has ever before accused us of providing misleading advertising. We are equally certain of the standard of the service we provide and the manner in which it is offered.

We hope that we have clarified our position.

Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel is very nice and clean. Breakfast was great, staff very helpful. Internet free in the lobby. Hotel was convenient to train station. Would go back agian.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TravelerUnitedStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
3,838 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,442 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,866 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#10 of 385 in Venice
2,128 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Address: Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#149 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $125 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal has been run with passion for approximately 30 years by a Venetian family which loves to pay its guests attention, by providing them with valuable advise on how to capture the city’s true essence.Pastel shades, Venetian stuccoes, glass wall lamps made in Murano, furnishings which, while being functional, recall the glorious Serenissima epoch: these are the elements of the new hall and bar, completely mirrored on marvellous Istria stone. Right at the centre of the hotel is an original glass cupola creating light effects which highlight its sophistication. The recently restored, characteristic internal patio onto which some of the rooms look out and where guests can enjoy breakfast or relax, using it as a peaceful open-air lounge, has a notable impact on guests. The elegant Bar Carlton Café offers you the chance to taste excellent drinks and whet your appetite with unusual snacks both in the internal room and in the open-air, enjoying an unforgettable stay on the Grand Canal.The hotel also offers its guests outstanding opportunities to discover all of Venice’s magic, by organizing personalised itineraries and excursions: boat tours to the lagoon islands, guided tours of the city, romantic itineraries followes by a candle lit dinner and much more. For further information on “special” packages, check out our online booking now or send your request to our booking centre.For conferences and meetings we can provide the “Galileo” room, fitted with update equipment and capable of holding up to 60 people.Some of the services offered to our guests include: free entry to the Casino, free baggage surveillance, baby-sitting, restaurant booking, theatre and concert tickets.Restaurant “La Cupola”Elegant reflections, inviting aromas, brilliant colours and exclusive tastes: these are the defining features of our restaurant “La Cupola”, a jewel of refined style in newly renovated surroundings, boasting harmony in its menu selections inspired both by innovative cuisine, as well as the genuine traditions of the territory.The distinct, welcoming atmosphere and the fine cuisine will envelop you and capture you, transforming your “mealtime” into an exceptional experience.You will be greeted with warmth and courtesy, and given expert advice on your menu selections.The typical and international specialties are served with refined simplicity, elegant and genuine at the same time, accompanied by an exclusive wine list. Our Maitre, Filippo Nocerino, will be at your disposition for any special requests.Perfect for any occassion or simply for a romantic evening, our restaurant “La Cupola” will live up to your expectations and your appetites!TOP OF THE CARLTON SKY LUNGE & RESTAURANTLet “Time Out” steer you upwards to the finest sky lounge in Venice for enjoying cocktails in the clouds and Grand Canal view dining .Stylish evenings begin and end at TOP OF THE CARLTON, the rooftop terrace perched on the 4th floor of the Carlton on the Grand Canal Hotel. Impressive views from this spacious terrace take in both the ancient majesty of the Grand Canal and its noble palaces and the modern Constitution bridge, the newest structure that pierces the motley Venice skyline full of domes, bell towers, arches and spires.Choose from a multitude of cocktails, snacks and light-dining while you sit and enjoy a romantic sunset or experience the gentle lapping of the Grand Canal waters as a gondola passes by.When it’s time to unwind and relax, choose Top of the Carlton.TOP OF THE CARLTON can be exclusively reserved for private events and functions, such as wedding receptions, birthday parties, corporate events – in fact the sky is the limit.Open from mid May to end of September, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Grand Canal Hotel
Hotel Carlton Grand Canal
Canal Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing