We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Nearby Hotels
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ca' Pozzo Inn(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$336
US$260
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$288
US$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$251/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Albergo Marin(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Venezia Mestre(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tiziano(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$1,657
US$1,303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,189)
Filter reviews
3,189 results
Traveller rating
964
1,415
531
175
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
964
1,415
531
175
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationgrand canalrooftop barwater busacross the bridgepiazzale romalovely hotelarriving by trainrooms are smallvenetian stylemarco polo airportpeople movergondola rideideal locationst marks squaresuperior roomhotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
1,632 - 1,637 of 3,189 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The Carlton was a great find, steps from the Grand Canal, over the bridge from the Centrale Train Station. Elegant and friendly..lots of smaller non-tourist restaurants and shops and water taxis and gondolas right there. Our issue was the poor air conditioning in our room. Management tied to resolve it but it was faulty. They did give us the option to move our room, but because we had just one night left we passed. Overall we loved the Hotel! I will go back

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grammyandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had three rooms, one with the balcony on the top floor and the air conditioner barely worked the entire time. The view from the balcony was a bit disappointing..... just rooftops. The hair dryer did not work well for any of our rooms. The staff was FANTASTIC, Good location away from the major bustle, easy access to Ferrovia bus stop.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

It was nice to be on the canal, but this hotel is pretty far from the major tourist areas. It costs seven euro to get a taxi to St. Marks Square. The rooms were extremely small, and some do not have a tub, only a shower. Very few of the rooms face water. The beds are not comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and a bathtub, as those rooms tend to be larger.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We spent the weekend at this hotel for our wedding anniversary and were very happy with the hotel especially since it’s located on Grand Canal. The room was a superior room which was adequate in size but well presented and perfectly clean. There are no in-room tea making items so bring your own travel kettle if you want tea in your room. Breakfast was from 7:30 to 10:30am which was great since the last thing you want on holiday is to be up at the crack of dawn for breakfast. There was a nice selection of items to choose from. Staff were very polite and helpful. Free wifi access is available on the ground floor lobby area which I was not aware of till the last day. You need to ask a member of staff for the encryption key to gain access.

Location: We took the land Actvo bus direct bus from the airport which only cost us 5 eur each. Cheaper if you buy a return ticket. It only takes 15 mins to reach hotel from airport to Piazzale Roma (bus terminal). Takes 40 mins if you take bus No. 5 which I don't see the point off since that is indirect. The walk from Piazzale Roma to the hotel is 3-5 mins and you have to cross over 2 small bridges. After walking around Venice we were even more happier with our hotel because we preferred this location allot more. Felt really sorry for those individuals who were hunting for their hotels in all those narrow streets which didn't look very nice from the outside.

Its takes about 25 mins to walk to the Rialto Bridge and our preferred route was crossing the Scalzi bridge which takes you across to the train station. There is then a well marked out directions to the bridge which has loads of shops along the route. Piazza San Marco is a further 10 mins from the Rialto bridge. Equally you can take the vaporetto water buses No. 1 or No. 2. Our preferred water bus was the No 2. since it doesn't stop at all stops on route to San Marco square. We bought the 24 hour pass which cost 20 euro and used that to do the ride up and down the grand canal which was more scenic than riding a gondola in my opinion. We tried the walk back from Rialto bridge to hotel via S. Polo but that was not a pleasant route and was just through what appeared residential alleys which do make you feel slightly uncomfortable at night but were safe. Also used the pass to visit Lido island which has a beach and a few restaurants. Munro island has loads of glass item shops.

Maps : We I first got to Venice the first thing I wanted to buy was a map which looked very complicated. To be honest I never used them much except to just get a rough baring where everything was. The yellow signs you see for the major attractions are perfectly adequate. At night when we got a little lost so I used the GPS on my phone to make sure we were roughly walking in the right direction and reached the hotel with only sore feet, but I guess that is the fun of Venice and you meets loads of people in a similar situation to yourself which just adds a laugh to the maze it can quickly become.

Food : We found the food choice and quality, very poor in Venice with extortionate prices. Most places all serve the same food. Do a bit of homework on recommended restaurants before you leave although they are not always easy to find. On our last night we actually ate at the hotel which was delicious and probably the best meal we had for our entire duration in Venice. Although charging 9 euro for a fruit punch is a bit much, no?

All in all my wife and I were very happy with our choice of staying in the Carlton on the Grand Canal and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent, away from the St Mark's Square, but a nice walking distance from it. Also, good position to take you any direction you wish to explore and there are so many ways to go around and every single one of them brings something wonderful to experience. The rooms are small, but decorated nicely. The air conditioning unit in one of the rooms was too loud to leave over night, which was not brillliant, since it was very warm. The roof terrace bar gives a nice view and feel, although the service was a bit slow, but if you are not too tired after a long walking day, it is a nice way to end your day. The view from one of the rooms was beautiful and it was lovely to wathc the city coming to life after a quiet night. That was a great advantage of the hotel location, it was quiet during the night, away from the night noises of the more central streets. The food was excellent, the service and the staff at the reception were helpful and very polite and we would definitely go back to the same place.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room with the view, it is charming.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews