We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across the train station but far from St Mark's!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Ranked #144 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Nicely appointed hotel on canal, lots of restaurants and shops. Train station on the other side of the canal. Great buffet breakfast and very nice employees. The AC was uneven but never totally uncorfotable. Small room and narrow hallways, European style. Only problem was the distance from the hotel to
the major attraction in Venice: St Marks. it is a 45 minute walk, colorful but not within evening stroll distance. A good value on the canal .

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyrellaCt_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,530 - 1,534 of 3,016 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

The Carlton was a great find, steps from the Grand Canal, over the bridge from the Centrale Train Station. Elegant and friendly..lots of smaller non-tourist restaurants and shops and water taxis and gondolas right there. Our issue was the poor air conditioning in our room. Management tied to resolve it but it was faulty. They did give us the option to move our room, but because we had just one night left we passed. Overall we loved the Hotel! I will go back

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grammyandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had three rooms, one with the balcony on the top floor and the air conditioner barely worked the entire time. The view from the balcony was a bit disappointing..... just rooftops. The hair dryer did not work well for any of our rooms. The staff was FANTASTIC, Good location away from the major bustle, easy access to Ferrovia bus stop.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

It was nice to be on the canal, but this hotel is pretty far from the major tourist areas. It costs seven euro to get a taxi to St. Marks Square. The rooms were extremely small, and some do not have a tub, only a shower. Very few of the rooms face water. The beds are not comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and a bathtub, as those rooms tend to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We spent the weekend at this hotel for our wedding anniversary and were very happy with the hotel especially since it’s located on Grand Canal. The room was a superior room which was adequate in size but well presented and perfectly clean. There are no in-room tea making items so bring your own travel kettle if you want tea in your room. Breakfast was from 7:30 to 10:30am which was great since the last thing you want on holiday is to be up at the crack of dawn for breakfast. There was a nice selection of items to choose from. Staff were very polite and helpful. Free wifi access is available on the ground floor lobby area which I was not aware of till the last day. You need to ask a member of staff for the encryption key to gain access.

Location: We took the land Actvo bus direct bus from the airport which only cost us 5 eur each. Cheaper if you buy a return ticket. It only takes 15 mins to reach hotel from airport to Piazzale Roma (bus terminal). Takes 40 mins if you take bus No. 5 which I don't see the point off since that is indirect. The walk from Piazzale Roma to the hotel is 3-5 mins and you have to cross over 2 small bridges. After walking around Venice we were even more happier with our hotel because we preferred this location allot more. Felt really sorry for those individuals who were hunting for their hotels in all those narrow streets which didn't look very nice from the outside.

Its takes about 25 mins to walk to the Rialto Bridge and our preferred route was crossing the Scalzi bridge which takes you across to the train station. There is then a well marked out directions to the bridge which has loads of shops along the route. Piazza San Marco is a further 10 mins from the Rialto bridge. Equally you can take the vaporetto water buses No. 1 or No. 2. Our preferred water bus was the No 2. since it doesn't stop at all stops on route to San Marco square. We bought the 24 hour pass which cost 20 euro and used that to do the ride up and down the grand canal which was more scenic than riding a gondola in my opinion. We tried the walk back from Rialto bridge to hotel via S. Polo but that was not a pleasant route and was just through what appeared residential alleys which do make you feel slightly uncomfortable at night but were safe. Also used the pass to visit Lido island which has a beach and a few restaurants. Munro island has loads of glass item shops.

Maps : We I first got to Venice the first thing I wanted to buy was a map which looked very complicated. To be honest I never used them much except to just get a rough baring where everything was. The yellow signs you see for the major attractions are perfectly adequate. At night when we got a little lost so I used the GPS on my phone to make sure we were roughly walking in the right direction and reached the hotel with only sore feet, but I guess that is the fun of Venice and you meets loads of people in a similar situation to yourself which just adds a laugh to the maze it can quickly become.

Food : We found the food choice and quality, very poor in Venice with extortionate prices. Most places all serve the same food. Do a bit of homework on recommended restaurants before you leave although they are not always easy to find. On our last night we actually ate at the hotel which was delicious and probably the best meal we had for our entire duration in Venice. Although charging 9 euro for a fruit punch is a bit much, no?

All in all my wife and I were very happy with our choice of staying in the Carlton on the Grand Canal and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
3,838 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,442 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,866 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#10 of 385 in Venice
2,128 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Address: Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#149 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $125 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal has been run with passion for approximately 30 years by a Venetian family which loves to pay its guests attention, by providing them with valuable advise on how to capture the city’s true essence.Pastel shades, Venetian stuccoes, glass wall lamps made in Murano, furnishings which, while being functional, recall the glorious Serenissima epoch: these are the elements of the new hall and bar, completely mirrored on marvellous Istria stone. Right at the centre of the hotel is an original glass cupola creating light effects which highlight its sophistication. The recently restored, characteristic internal patio onto which some of the rooms look out and where guests can enjoy breakfast or relax, using it as a peaceful open-air lounge, has a notable impact on guests. The elegant Bar Carlton Café offers you the chance to taste excellent drinks and whet your appetite with unusual snacks both in the internal room and in the open-air, enjoying an unforgettable stay on the Grand Canal.The hotel also offers its guests outstanding opportunities to discover all of Venice’s magic, by organizing personalised itineraries and excursions: boat tours to the lagoon islands, guided tours of the city, romantic itineraries followes by a candle lit dinner and much more. For further information on “special” packages, check out our online booking now or send your request to our booking centre.For conferences and meetings we can provide the “Galileo” room, fitted with update equipment and capable of holding up to 60 people.Some of the services offered to our guests include: free entry to the Casino, free baggage surveillance, baby-sitting, restaurant booking, theatre and concert tickets.Restaurant “La Cupola”Elegant reflections, inviting aromas, brilliant colours and exclusive tastes: these are the defining features of our restaurant “La Cupola”, a jewel of refined style in newly renovated surroundings, boasting harmony in its menu selections inspired both by innovative cuisine, as well as the genuine traditions of the territory.The distinct, welcoming atmosphere and the fine cuisine will envelop you and capture you, transforming your “mealtime” into an exceptional experience.You will be greeted with warmth and courtesy, and given expert advice on your menu selections.The typical and international specialties are served with refined simplicity, elegant and genuine at the same time, accompanied by an exclusive wine list. Our Maitre, Filippo Nocerino, will be at your disposition for any special requests.Perfect for any occassion or simply for a romantic evening, our restaurant “La Cupola” will live up to your expectations and your appetites!TOP OF THE CARLTON SKY LUNGE & RESTAURANTLet “Time Out” steer you upwards to the finest sky lounge in Venice for enjoying cocktails in the clouds and Grand Canal view dining .Stylish evenings begin and end at TOP OF THE CARLTON, the rooftop terrace perched on the 4th floor of the Carlton on the Grand Canal Hotel. Impressive views from this spacious terrace take in both the ancient majesty of the Grand Canal and its noble palaces and the modern Constitution bridge, the newest structure that pierces the motley Venice skyline full of domes, bell towers, arches and spires.Choose from a multitude of cocktails, snacks and light-dining while you sit and enjoy a romantic sunset or experience the gentle lapping of the Grand Canal waters as a gondola passes by.When it’s time to unwind and relax, choose Top of the Carlton.TOP OF THE CARLTON can be exclusively reserved for private events and functions, such as wedding receptions, birthday parties, corporate events – in fact the sky is the limit.Open from mid May to end of September, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Grand Canal Hotel
Hotel Carlton Grand Canal
Canal Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing