We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #53 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I decided to take a short break in Venice, I am pleased we did. We both had
A really nice, relaxing, luxury break. We decided to get the public transport boat from the airport. It cost 25 euro's each return. A private taxi boat costs around 90 euro's each way! The down side the public water taxi takes about 90 minutes. When we arrived ( boat station not far from hotel) the staff where friendly and helpful. Our room a 'classic double' was small but nice, the bathroom was also good and had every thing you need. We had the hotel breakfast which was expensive (28 euro's each) but very nice, a civilised start to the day. The hotel bar was nice with lots of atmosphere, the service good and the staff friendly. The hotel realised it was my birthday and invited us both to have a nice glass of proseco. We decided to try the hotel resturant, the food was good and brilliant service, the cost was about 140 euro's. We would defiantly go back, overall a good hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiaraVis, Direttore vendite at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear "Debra T",

Let us thank you for your preference towards our Metropole Hotel: we are pleased to understand you and your husband spent a good time with us!

We look forward to welcoming you soon again and offer you our best personalized welcome at our home!

Best regards,

Chiara Visentin
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hotel Metropole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    300
    86
    34
    24
See reviews for
236
670
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dinas Powys, Cymru
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We first visited here in 1977, and at about 2-3 year intervals since. All the positive things written by previous reviewers remain true - good location, fine public rooms. Yet we have perceived a gradual decline in attentiveness, with initial reception being pleasant rather than warm, the bar service professional rather than personal. As everywhere else in Venice, the prices seem to rise each year out of proportion to the rest of Italy, and we are beginning to feel that there are other many other choices of merit in the same price bracket. Do beware when booking a room with balcony - they range from real balcony to a simple step outside an attic room - the latter being poor value.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crwydryn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Our stay at the Metropole in Venice was a real mixed bag...

Pros:
1. Delicious room service from the Oriental Bar - the prosciutto crudo, and the prawn salad were stand out dishes
2. Lovely room - although in the traditional Venetian style, it had been cared for and looked beautiful. We were in room 319 with a great view overlooking the water.
3. Good restaurant recommendation - the recommendation to eat at Oliva Nera, just behind the hotel, was fabulous!! The best food we had in Venice.
4. The museum - each floor of the hotel had a different collection of antique objects (everything from religious icons to fans), and they were fun to look at and very unique.
5. Bath salts - I love to find a hotel that gives out proper bath salts, as well as the usual shower gels and shampoos!
6. Excellent location - close to the Vaporetto and gondola service points. An easy 5 minute walk to St Mark's Square.

Cons:
1. The bathroom - as someone else said, this rather felt like a glorified Travelodge ensuite. The floor was tiled beautifully in golden mosaic, but the rest of the decor felt tired and average. The over bath shower proved quite messy, as it was impossible to move it to a position where it didn't shoot water over the side of the bath (probably because the bath was TINY!). The shower curtain had definitely seen better days - I can't remember the last time I saw one of those horrid, plastic shower curtains in a hotel of this standard. The cover over the overflow 'valve' was plastic and not attached to the bath, so it repeatedly fell into the bath.
2. Towels were thin compared to what is standard in most hotels of this quality.
3. Concierge - on our first day, we asked for two places (with specific addresses), and these were marked on the map given to us by the concierge. Both - we were told - were on the main campo in S Polo, and we wouldn't be able to miss them because it was such a small area. The two addresses were both a good ten minute walk from the places the concierge had marked on the map. It seemed to be laziness, given that we had exact addresses with street names and numbers!
On the first night, we arranged a water taxi to a ball. My husband confirmed with reception the name of the venue twice. We came down to reception, and were told that the taxi for our room had arrived. It took us to the wrong venue and - not knowing Venice - we didn't realise until the taxi had left. To give them their due, the hotel did refund the extra 60 Euro we had paid for another taxi to the correct location. However, this refund was accompanied by excuses that they didn't recognise us because we were masked (we weren't, and the person who had escorted us to the taxi had said our room number); that there were no available water taxis so people had to share (we didn't); that four water taxis arrived simultaneously (they didn't, and we didn't see any other ball goers when we arrived in reception to catch our water taxi); that there was a language barrier (nobody asked us where we were going, as the concierge had booked the taxi, therefore, no opportunity for us to even encounter a language barrier!).
We had been promised on Sunday morning that the water taxi debacle would be investigated, but when we came to check out on Monday, no one had bothered to look into it, so we had to spend almost twenty minutes waiting to check out. The eventual rectification and apologies were much welcomed.

Conclusions
It would have been a 3 or 4 rating, if we hadn't had such a nightmare with the concierge / reception service. The rooms are lovely, and the food excellent. The rectification of mistakes by the concierge / reception team, and their many apologies showed that they do care about their reputation. But the fact that someone promised to investigate and didn't bother when we first reported our taxi issue is unforgivable.

Go back?
Don't think so...

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the canal - the views are wonderful. During the Carnival, we could also easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeachedExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiaraVis, Direttore vendite at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear “BeachedExplorers”,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at our Metropole Hotel and for sharing your experience with the community.
We do care a lot about our guests’ comments and suggestions as we try our utmost to offer the best of service and welcome in town: the Metropole is a unique property and our goal is to reach and fully satisfy our clients’ expectations in a unique and personalized way.
We thank you for all your positive comments about us, especially those about our restaurant services and collections of antiques. At our hotel all art and historical pieces are authentic and the result of long researches in Italy and abroad.
We do apologize if, during your stay, we failed to maintain our high standards of service and, most importantly, your expectations. We would like to inform you that your comment has been intensely object of internal discussion and we have already taken appropriate measures in order to improve any deficiencies you mentioned.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to our charming Metropole in order to demonstrate that what happened during your stay is not our normal standard of service as well as our sincere devotion to hospitality and our clients’ satisfaction.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again, we remain with our best regards,

Chiara Visentin
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate NY
Level Contributor
357 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

You can love this hotel or hate it. Nice "old fashioned" European hotel near St. Marks... if that is where you want to be. We prefer to avoid the crowds. The Metropole Hotel offers many types of accommodations that come with a steep price. Our stay was pleasant, starting off the morning with a nice buffet breakfast in the garden.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abarasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
165 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We had room 151 and 149, both had 3 star quality only. Breakfast was good and plenty, but nothing special. We had dinner once, which was ok. The staff is friedly, attentive and unintrusive. The best part of the hotel and not to miss are the cosy common room and the bar. The hotel is very close to the vaporetto stop Zaccaria. Would we go there again? Sure, for a drink.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans-Joachim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#69 of 385 in Venice
891 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#44 of 385 in Venice
1,147 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#19 of 385 in Venice
1,508 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#54 of 385 in Venice
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4149, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#54 Family Hotel in Venice
#58 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): $372 - $1,470
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing