We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
298
189
63
21
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
189
63
21
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews people mover new wing piazzale roma train station grand canal main building cruise terminal soaking tub coffee maker water bus deluxe room large bridge convenient location transport links coop supermarket canal view marco polo airport
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We had an average experience at Santa Chiara Hotel. Our room was in the newly renovated section of the hotel and overlooked the Grand Canal. The room was new and nice, but the USB ports were not working, nor was the phone when we tried to call the front desk.

The hotel is diagonally across the Grand Canal from the train station, next to the bus station, and directly adjacent to the main vaporetto (public water bus) station. A public water taxi station is also directly in front of the hotel. Also, it is situated directly in front of a large bridge. We found all of these things to be very noisy and the hotel lacked any sort of tranquility or any privacy whatsoever when opening the curtains/shades. People on the bridge looked directly into our room—we even waved to a few before lowering the shades.

The hotel states that it is a 4-star facility. Although it was nice, it did not seem to be like the 4-star hotels in which we stayed in other cities in Italy. Surprisingly, the front desk staff ignored us most of the time—never speaking to us when we came and went and actually seemed ‘put out’ when we were asking advice on getting to the opera. There is no turn-down service which most 4-star hotels provide, and the bathroom toiletries were average at best and not restocked daily. The room was more like a newly opened Hampton Inn for those familiar with this American chain—nothing wrong with that, but not what one would expect in a 4-star hotel.

We will not return to Santa Chiara for future visits to Venice. I think staying in a more central location would be better and was disappointed with both the level of service and the room accommodations in what was designated as a 4-star property.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank TexasHaHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your review.
USB port is not for recharging the phone, it connects to the TV in case you listen /watch your media on the phone tablet or computer. Same is for the HDMI port.

Having the view on the Grand Canal has some pro and cons (as everything). On one hand you have the best view ever, on the other hand you have to deal with the traffic on that Canal. Venice is a small town, everybody can look into a window when you open it (from a bridge or from a building on the other side of the Canal). If you wanna have more privacy just let us know. WE have many different room categories overlooking on different side of the building (all with a nice view). I'm sure it will not be difficult to find something that you may prefer.

I'm very familiar with Hampton Inn (I've been in the states many many times) and we don't have ANYTHING in common with them.
We have silk on the walls, parquet, great decore on the furnitures and doors, marble on the common areas, murano chandelier in any big enough room... I could continue for rows and rows. Everything is made in Italy (except TV and phones) and every details has been studied.
I'm sorry if the phone was not working (maybe it was only not charged?) and I'm sorry if the toiletries has not been restoked (a mistake from the waiters, thank you for letting me know), but this doesn't mean that we can be considered like an Hampton Inn. Not at all!

I'm sorry also if you found the staff a little bit "cold", sometimes we simply don't wanna bother our guest with chats. But we are always at your disposal and more than happy to reply to any question of help you with any need. I'm sorry if your feeling has been different.

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, location, and service. We were in the newer rooms which were clean, modern and spacious. Wonderful view of the canal and access to water taxi within 3 mins. Great breakfast too. Would stay here again!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank smayer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in , it has recently been refurbished and has all mod cons. The staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome.one guy in particular was worthy of extra praise didn't get his name but he was a bald gentleman with glasses, he really couldn't do enough to help.The hotel is opposite the bus and train stations so very easy to get to and from the airport. Really can't recommend this hotel highly enough

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
2  Thank mark1norman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

This hotel is right in the heart of the city located at Piazzale Roma. It is one of only a few hotels that are also accessible by car. The hotel has 2 locations, their updated modern location (which is where you check in) and their older building about 400 feet from the main building. We were in the old building so we had to walk to our room at midnight from the main building with our bags. I would definitely stay here again but would upgrade to stay in the main building. The older building was nice though. The air conditioner blew cool and the bathroom was really large. The only thing I didn't like was the shower in the bathroom. Its just there with the rest of the bathroom (picture attached) with no curtain so when you shower the water literally goes all over the place. We had to put several towels down so the water did not leak out of the bathroom onto the carpet. There is a safe and minifridge in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aporfilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights pre-cruise and 2 nights post-cruise and couldn't have been happier. Venice is expensive and this hotel is not cheap, but it delivers value. The location is perfect, and only minutes away from the train station. The bus to the airport is just behind the hotel, and the vaporetti are almost in front of the hotel.

The front desk personnel are exceptional, answering all questions with patience. We appreciated the fact that it was staffed 24/7 and were thrilled they let us check in early as our room was ready.

Our room was very clean (we stayed in the annex) and we especially appreciated the quietness from busy Venice.

Breakfast was great! I had initially thought the price was a bit steep, but the variety was very good and we loved the service. After seeing prices at the restaurants, the breakfast delivery value.

Thanks, Santa Chiara Hotel for making our stay in Venice secure, comfortable and enjoyable! We miss you already!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalkersTalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews