We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in Cannaregio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda Ca' Le Vele
Ranked #4 of 228 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this B&B for 6 days and it was wonderful! We found it easy enough to find using Google maps and we got the alileguna waterbus from airport and got off at fte.nove stop that's just a few minutes walk away. Just down a quiet entry off one of the main streets, it was very well located! A few of our favourite wine bars where just left or right of the entry. Having walked around all of Venice it was the best place to be located in Cannaregio! As everywhere was reasonably priced and great variety of cafes,restaurants, wine bars, gelato places and takeaways (also near a coop too!) Rooms are traditionally Italian furnished and decorated and room was always warm and cosy (also has manual aircon & heating) We slept well every night and our bed was made up every day! We had the continental style breakfast every morning and it also arrived on time and presented beautifully. At €5 it was very well priced and nice to not have to worry about where to get breakfast from the comfort of our room. Staff were wonderful! Very friendly and helpful, we felt very welcome there.
Something to note would be that whilst the classic double room is well furnished, it has no natural light. Also a negative for others may be that it has no coffee/tea making facilities, however, if you get breakfast you get a pot of tea/coffee/cappuccino and there are also plenty of nearby places for espressos etc. Starting from €1.

Overall a fantastic B&B with some of the best staff I've came across and I would recommend to anyone!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kylie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stayed here for three nights . Location was great, very near the Ca D'oro vaporetto stop. The hotel is set down a quiet street, off a busy shopping street with lots of restaurants.
Once inside the courtyard and up the stairs you enter into a small reception area, and taken to your room, which overlooked the courtyard. This room was fairly quiet but you could here everybody's coming and goings which was loud as everything echoed.
The bed was two single beds pushed together, but was very comfortable, the pillows were however very rigid.
Decorated in a typical Venetian style, the room was of good proportion.
The breakfast was basic, coffee, orange juice, croissant, bread roll, and a yoghurt.
The bathroom was very clean and provided everything you needed, including a hairdryer !
I would stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RuthVivienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Our excellent experience started before we'd even arrived when we e-mailed in advance for instructions on how to find the hotel: they were comprehensive and spot on!
We arrived and were shown straight to our room which was a decent size for just the two of us. Everything was spotlessly clean and it was decorated in the typical Venetian style.
Nothing was too much trouble: our adaptor didn't work so they lent us one for the whole weekend. We came back with drinks we'd bought at the local shop and they happily got us a bottle opener and proper wine glasses.
We both slept really well: it was really quiet; it was nice and dark; the temperature was good, if a little on the warm side.
Breakfast was served promptly at the time we'd requested and I was very impressed with it: croissants, bread, cheese and yogurts complemented by butter, jams and honey. Fresh coffee and orange juice was also provided.
The area the hotel is situated in is perfect: close enough to walk into the city every day, but far enough away to have a break from the chaos of St Mark's Square and Rialto Bridge (about a 10/15 minute walk away) There is a fantastic restaurant on the adjacent side street which did the best meatballs I've ever had, and wine is served in little glasses for €1 each! It's called Osteria Alla Vedova.
I will definitely be staying here again and will recommend it to my friends.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LaceyJane83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a 3 night stay at Locanda Ca' Le Vele for our minimoon.

Location wise it is amazing. Situated within a quiet side street which leads to a bustling main strip, it gives the perfect balance.

The room was well sized and very, very clean and is decorated with a traditional Venetian style. Our double bed was two singles pushed together, and the bedding was a sheet and a blanket, not a duvet (which we believe is essential for the colder times of the year)

Breakfast was ok. It consisted of coffee, juice, sweet croissant, bread and yogurts and was brought promptly each morning at the time you ask. Whilst it's lovely, we think it could hugely benefit by just adding some fruit or something similar, because sometimes it feels a bit lacking.

One of the biggest issues however was the cold. Despite the temperatures being suprinsingly hot during the day (around 18/19 degrees) the temperature in the room was always quite chilly, especially in the mornings and evenings. The floors are marble which makes the room even colder. Now, there is heating in the room....but apparently it doesn't work until the 16th October?? I complained the first night and was told the heating wasn't working. Over the next two days I got a bad cold and had to start taking medication, I told the staff a few times and then on the last day he said he would fix it whilst I was out, but nothing was done. It is a shame that nothing was done as it did tarnish my time there.

On the whole, with my only gripe being the cold the rest of the experience was pretty great.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AJGilbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights to start our Anniversary trip. Location was wonderful, easy walk from the Ca D'oro vaporetto stop and down a quiet little street. Just steps away from the vibrant Main Street scene. The entry courtyard is charming as was Ivan. We had a large, comfortable room overlooking the quiet canal. The furnishings complement the historic Venetian style of the building and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom while small provided everything one needed and most importantly was kept clean. The morning breakfast was very basic, some fresh fruit would be a welcome addition to the breads and croissants. We were always greeted warmly by either Ivan, Max or Dennis and made to feel welcome. We loved exploring the area and easily walked to many of the main attractions. Found a gem of a little restaurant ( Verdova) right around the corner too. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breadmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,239 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,844 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,962 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#22 of 385 in Venice
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca' Le Vele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' Le Vele

Address: Cannaregio 3969, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 228 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range: $105 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ca' Le Vele 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Locanda Ca' Le Vele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` Le Vele Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing