We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$375
US$333
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Albergo Marin(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
US$560
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montecarlo(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$560
US$329
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Tiziano(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$414
US$355
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,177
US$618
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$805/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$466
US$355
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$330
US$197
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveller rating
425
199
32
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
199
32
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrialto bridgehost lucagreat locationno liftgave us a mapcroissantslower floorspacious roomcentral locationfourth floorside streetair conditioningflights of stairssan marco squaregondola ridestayed here for nightsyour luggage
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 676 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just returned from a 2 days trip to Venice with out 2 kids.
Very Nice Hotel, clean, confortable, just between Rialto and San Marco.
Guests are kind and willing to provide advices and suggestions.
Really recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fish690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Staff (Laura-Manager and Cheryl-Housekeeper) are very welcoming, helpful and friendly. Provides genuine care and gives all info you need about Venice sights, restaurants, transport, etc.
Very good location, if you can ignore the wonderful shops along the way it's only 5 minutes from Rialto bridge and 5 minutes from San Marco Square. Entrance door is in a quiet street. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room on the quiet side of the building as the other street is busy/noisy shopping/walking lane.
Rooms, bathroom/toilet, sheets, towels are very clean like a 4-star hotel, air condition is powerful, bed is perfect, not too soft, not too hard. Like most buildings in Venice there are no elevators and the rooms start from 2/F level. It will be a challenge for elderly guests and if you have bulky/heavy luggage.
Get up early or late for breakfast as the dining room is busy at around 9am.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms 01 & 02 are on the quiet side of the building. Room 02 is big.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is not just another good B&B, it is perhaps one of the best for customer care and service. Upon dragging my heavy suitcases through the narrow streets of Venice, the person at the reception (open during office hours) insisted on carrying them upstairs, I tried to protest but without success. Then, after handing the keys he gave us a thorough debriefing about the city. Impressive, never received so much valuable tips from any b&b or hotel anywhere.
The house has many stairs, of course an old building. The rooms are big by Italian standards, bathroom spotless and a/c works quite well but more noisy than the a/c of a hotel (better ask instruction on how to use it, the remote is a bit confusing). Internet is fast. What else? No problems with noise as we had a room on the side of a quiet street. There are other rooms on the side of a busy street (no cars of course but still).
Location is perhaps the best part. Two steps from San Marco. No way to get lost if you use the map from the website. At SM square take the only street under an arcade all straight until the end (ferrari shop), turn right and then left on the second street. After less than one minute you find your first bridge (oh yes, all the way is completely flat without bridges, except this one). There, on the bridge, look for the narrow street under some columns, enter that small street, and turn right ... you will see a sleeping grizzly bear hanging above the door of the b&b.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the side of the quiet street (the adress of the b&b), if relevant ask for a room with frigobar.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This little hotel is in a fantastic location, right between Rialto bridge and St. Mark's place so it's central and you don't have to walk too far to see the big sites. The staff is extraordinarily helpful with restaurant tips and anything that comes up. My room was clean and pretty large. The bed was pretty comfortable. There was no TV, but who's watching TV in Venice? LOL. There is free Wifi and I had a good connection the whole time. The breakfast is pretty standard for Europe, yogurt, juice, croissants, hot drink-- but considering the lack of restaurants that serve breakfast in the area and the lack of a grocery store it's imperative to have an hotel that serves some, and since it's included it's a nice deal.

Room Tip: It can be a little loud if you are over the street, ask for a room away from the street
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dufflyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Absolutely fantastic!

We were met at the Rialto Alilaguna stop when we arrived very late on the Friday night by one of the staff members. He walked us back to the hotel and still took the time to show us everything about Venice on the map, which we used throughout the weekend!
This was my second stay at Locanda ai Bareteri and it was as good as the first. The first time I was a solo traveller, this time I returned with my mother. The location is absolutely perfect for exploring Venice, midway between the Rialto Bridge and St Marks Square.
The coffee at Breakfast is excellent (what more could you expect in Italy!)
We were given an amazing recommendation for a local Venetian dinner at Osteria alla Botte on the Saturday night which was very traditional and super tasty.
And, to get back to the airport, we were recommended a quicker and cheaper way back to the airport.
We did so many of the things that were suggested on the night that we arrived (and in particular loved our 50 € cent gondola ride!)

I will be back in Venice again some time I am sure, and will definitely be sure to stay again at Locanda Ai Bareteri.

Room Tip: Room 2 is on the same level as the dining room, so one of the rooms on the higher levels may be preferable, though we had no problems with breakfast room noise.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nat_kolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews