We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (894)
Filter reviews
894 results
Traveller rating
785
89
13
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
785
89
13
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamber roomgreen roombed and breakfastgondoliers singinghighly recommend this b bgondolas passbalcony overlooking the canalvenetian homevaporetto stopother guestsevery morningsmall canalthree roomsrestaurant recommendationsperfect place to staysan marco squarewater taxi
Filter
Updating list...
697 - 702 of 894 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2008

We, a family of 4 with 2 kids aged 7&10, stayed at Al Teatro in July 2008. Even before arriving at Al Teatro I found Eleonora to be very prompt in confirming/acknowledging our emails. We really enjoyed our stay in Venice at Al Teatro. The location was perfect - a few minutes walk from Piazza San Marco, yet on a quieter street. The large room we got with A/C and 2 roll-away beds was perfect for all of us. The breakfast was very nice with enough choices (breads, ham, cereal) and of course cappucino! Eleonora had water bottles at reasonable prices for us to buy/take along with us. The computer with internet access was a nice amenity - I used it quite a bit on the last day to chart out our drive from Venice to Tuscany! I would heartily recommend the Al Teatro. Venice was expensive, but the Al Teatro was one of the better values. It definitely met and exceeded our expectations

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank axd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

The rooms were large and very clean. The flat screen TV mounted on the wall was a nice touch. The bathroom was recently remodeled. I especially liked the free internet in the common room. The B&B was a 10 min walk from St. Mark's square which was great.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Boston1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We stayed at Al Teatro for two nights during a 3 week trip to Italy and Switzerland. The location was great and our room was clean and comfortable. It was very hot, so we appreciated the air conditioning very much. There is a computer in the small breakfast room that is available on a limited basis. There is also a refrigerator from which guests are allowed to purchase bottled water and other cold drinks.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PCBMJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

We stayed in "Al Teatro" for three wonderful nights in July 2008. The situation is marvellous: at the end of a short and narrow (dead end) alley, just a minute from nearest tourist-crowded streets and less than ten minutes from Piazza San Marco.

When the Vaporetto left us in Piazza San Marco I was sure that we`ll never find this place: Venice is so different compared to all other places. All the canals and narrow, curvy streets full of tourists and little bridges everywhere (maybe not like regional planning of today?) confuse you ... Fortunately I had a copy of the map in their website and believe me: it was very easy to find just by following the instructions that were given.

"Al Teatro" is typical venetial building: it`s old, charming, by the canal (in this case by two, partly even THREE little canals!) and no lift (not so many stairs to the second floor).

Eleonora gave us keys and so we could come and go as we wanted to. We`ll remember the warmth of wellcoming when we arrived and the family was just having their lunch: all those friendly "buongiornos" will be in our hearts forever. :)

Eleonora gave us good winks for the restaurants and attractions. "Ristorante San Trevoso" (on neighbour island Dorsoduro, about ten minutes walk) is really good and their prices are very reasonable vice versa the overpriced restaurants more nearby Piazza San Marco.

We had "The Pink Room" and it was just fantastic! First I was a little disappointed, because we didn`t get the room with a little balcony of it`s own, but I think this "Pink Room" was even better! It has three windows overlooking to the canals and so you can easily watch the traffic on two, partly on three canals. Just take a seat by the window, have a "bicchiere (one glass) Vino Rosso" and enjoy. On the opposite of "The Pink Room" is The Venice Opera ("Fondamenta Maria Callas") and just below one of the windows there is very beautiful little white bridge "Ponte Maria Callas".

The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, the shower was one the best we`ve ever had in any hotel, the breakfast was good, the air-condition functioned well and the atmosphere of the house was really warm. It is very easy to recommend "Al Teatro" to all our friends who may plan a visit in Venice.

If you are looking for glittering walls and floors and cocky staff, this is not for you. But if you want to have clean and cozy room, very comfortable bed and pillow, good-working shower and nice atmosphere this is just for you! Plus extra you can live in the middle of venetian people.

Arrivederci, Eleonora e famiglia! Vediamo i futuro!

(Pekka, Seija & Markus. Turku, Finland)

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PekkaTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We stayed for three fabulous night at Al Teatro back in May 2008. I researched heaps of places to stay and as a result of the really positive reviews on tripadvisor, I choose the Amber Room at Al Teatro. Leonora was quick to confirm my booking and her instructions on finding the place were spot on.

The position was sensational. Only about 5 minutes from St Marks Square, opposite the back of the Fenice, down a dead end street with a canal on two sides. This meant two things: not too many tourists wandering past being noisy and the only real sounds you heard were from the serenading gondoliers poling under your window. Superb.

Would definitely recommend booking in early to get the Amber Room as it is the only one with a private little balcony. It is a lovely spot to sit and just watch the traffic on the canal. The room itself was quite large and the bathroom spotless.

Breakfast was great - lots of hams, cheeses, croissants, etc which were replenished during the entire time of breakfast. Enough to set you up for the day - but we pigged out with lunch and full dinners anyway!

I had trouble connecting my wireless laptop to the B&Bs internet, but Eleanora helped as much as she could. It baffled me so I ended up using her modem, which was great.

Be warned - it is a little difficult to find and is up one flight of stairs with no lift. Also, it is very much a B&B in Eleonora's house - you go past the kitchen and her children will be in the main living room doing their homework and watching TV after school and at night. If this is not your idea of a holiday, do not stay here. If you would like to get to know a real Venetian family and stay in a very comfortable and fabulously located property, then this will be your perfect B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JenLFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews