We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Montecarlo(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$409
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$415
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
US$565
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellini(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Tiziano(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$340
US$308
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$323
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$793
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
773
89
12
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
773
89
12
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamber roomgreen roombed and breakfasthighly recommend this b bgondoliers singinggondolas passvenetian homeother guestsevery morningsmall canalthree roomsrestaurant recommendationsperfect place to staysan marco squarewater taxireal venicegrand canal
Filter
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 881 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Two years ago, I was in Venice with my son and we stayed in the house of Eleonora Agostini, in the Fondamenta La Fenice, B&B Al Teatro.
It was an excellent experience then, and I wrote that we had the feeling to be in the " inner side" of Venice. To stay in een authentic Venetian house with an authentic Venetian family is quite something different as to stay in a hotel.
This time I returned in the last week of April with my wife and it was like coming home.
We had again the room with the 3 large windows overlooking the canal at the rearside of La Fenice and seeing thet gondola's passing by.
There was the gentle Eleonora with helpfull advices and tips. For instance, one evening there was "aqua alta"; no panic, if needed Eleonora had boots of all sizes.
No doubt, revisiting this house was "una delizia" again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WatervlietTiresias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

I've stayed at the Al Teatro B&B twice (Sept. 2007 and June 2008). I have also stayed in 3Star hotels in Venice which I did not like as much as I like this B&B. I love the location on the crossroads of two canals just behind the Fenice Opera house. Gondoliers often pause here and sing to their passengers. Their voices resonate beautifully off the walls of the buildings lining the canals. The rooms are large enough, spotless, and the bathrooms are bigger than what is the norm in Europe. The breakfasts are fresh and filling, and the host, Elenora, is helpful and efficient. I love Venice. I plan to return. When I do, I'll stay at the Al Teatro again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Our group of 9 (2 families) spent 2 days with Eleanora at the Al Teatro. The location was perfect - just 5 minutes walk from St. Marks and the Academia Bridge. Only 2 minutes to the vaparetto stop. We were greeted upon our arrival and really made to feel at home. The rooms were very spacious - each with its own bathroom. The bathrooms were modern - with good showers. The entire B&B was exceptionally clean. The rooms opened to a canal where gondoliers routinely came by. One of the rooms had a nice small balcony. The location was very quiet at night.

Breakfast each day featured a nice variety of pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts and juices, Eleanora was very helpful in making restaurant recommendations - both places she recommeded were excellent and reasonably priced for Venice.

We weren't sure what to expect staying at a B&B but were very pleasantly suprised. We would love to stay with Eleanora again on our next trip to Venice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MT61296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Our family of 7 (4 teenagers and a 20 year old) stayed at Al Teatro B and B for 3 nights post-cruise. Getting from the terminal to the vaporetto stop at Piazzale Roma was challenging. We decided not to wait for the cruise line transportation bus to the water taxi (vaporetto) as the line up on disembarkation day was huge. We rolled our luggage for about a kilometre (as did many others) to the ACTV boat stop at P. Roma where we bought our Venice Cards and Rolling Venice cards (for discounted transportation and museums). We were then able to take the water taxi 10 stops to the Gigli stop (about an hour on the water taxi) and rolled our luggage down a narrow cobblestoned lane and around the corner to find B and B Al Teatro. The B and B is located on the first floor (not the street level floor) of an 800 year old mansion and is accessed by two short flights of stairs from the street. It is directly across the canal from the side of the Teatro La Fenice, the recently rebuilt (1998-99) 1700's era opulent opera house with the amazing story of having burned to the ground and rising like a phoenix twice in the past. We booked the amber room and the pink room for our family which required adding three fold-up beds to the rooms. The rooms were spacious each with their own bathroom. The beds were very comfortable with good quality linens although the fold-up beds were quite hard mattresses were thin. Good enough for children, not as good for larger adults. The rooms were appointed nicely with Murano glass fixtures and ornaments. Floors were terazzo marble tile and were original with irregularities and unevenness aquired over the years. Renos have been well-done preserving the historic flavor with shutters and doors. The balcony in the amber room was so lovely suspended over the canal, we could watch the singing gondoliers as they passed right below us. The breakfast room was also the dining room for the Eleonora's family. The frescos on the walls and ceiling are original and have recently been cleaned. They are stunning. We had use of the dining room for breakfast (until 10:00) and until the early evening for internet use (reasonable price for wireless). Eleonora supplied cheaply priced bottled water, and canned beverages which we used daily as her prices were much more reasonable than buying elsewhere. Breakfast was wonderful consisting of breads, pastries, cheeses and yogurt, fresh fruit and juice/coffee/tea/cappucino. The Bed and Breakfast is ideally situated , close to Piazza San Marco and vaporetto stops, hundreds of shops, restaurants (food is very expensive) and entertainment. We went to a concert in La Fenice and were awestruck at the beauty of the theatre. The 20 euro seats were adequate for the concert. Eleonora booked a private boat to the airport for us (reasonable price for a large group with lots of luggage) in the very early morning on our departure day. It was a fast and easy way to get to the airport. From the boat dock there is a 5 minute walk to the airport terminal building. It is essential to have rolling luggage in Venice!
We found our hosts Eleonora and her family to be very helpful and friendly and we made friends with her famous biting turtle. We would definitely stay at Eleonora's B and B on our next holiday in Venice.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank shewholovestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

The position of our room with 3 windows overlooking the canal and the music and singing from the gondoliers passing by, made our stay so unique and very venetian. It was wonderful. The room was clean, bright, comfortable and spacious. Eleanora was wonderfully helpful and informative, even tho she must be asked the same questions millions of times. The breakfasts were more than sufficient, and everything served was fresh and delicious. Found the B&B very easily following the instructions. B&B well located close enough to the sights but in a quiet area. Don't miss out on a visit to Burano and Lido and take advantage of the tourist pass for water buses. Thank you to Eleanora for our wonderful stay and may God bless you and your family. We hope to return to you one day.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bothwellfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews