We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2009

One of the nicest places we stayed during our 2 weeks in Italy. Eleanora is both a charming and informative hostess who was a great help in learning to navigate Venice (literally!). The rooms are very comfortable, neat and clean. Internet is not free, but reasonable and efficient. Breakfast was very good. The house itself is an attraction; it is 1,000 years old! There is a fresco on the kitchen ceiling that is 600 years old and a relief over the kitchen door that is even older. If you are visiting Venice, I recommend that you stay here and follow Eleanora's advice about what to see and where to go. Thanks to her, we focused our Lagoon excursion on lovely Burano, and spent only a short time in the very disappointing Murano.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

589 - 593 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2009

Two years ago, I was in Venice with my son and we stayed in the house of Eleonora Agostini, in the Fondamenta La Fenice, B&B Al Teatro.
It was an excellent experience then, and I wrote that we had the feeling to be in the " inner side" of Venice. To stay in een authentic Venetian house with an authentic Venetian family is quite something different as to stay in a hotel.
This time I returned in the last week of April with my wife and it was like coming home.
We had again the room with the 3 large windows overlooking the canal at the rearside of La Fenice and seeing thet gondola's passing by.
There was the gentle Eleonora with helpfull advices and tips. For instance, one evening there was "aqua alta"; no panic, if needed Eleonora had boots of all sizes.
No doubt, revisiting this house was "una delizia" again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WatervlietTiresias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

I've stayed at the Al Teatro B&B twice (Sept. 2007 and June 2008). I have also stayed in 3Star hotels in Venice which I did not like as much as I like this B&B. I love the location on the crossroads of two canals just behind the Fenice Opera house. Gondoliers often pause here and sing to their passengers. Their voices resonate beautifully off the walls of the buildings lining the canals. The rooms are large enough, spotless, and the bathrooms are bigger than what is the norm in Europe. The breakfasts are fresh and filling, and the host, Elenora, is helpful and efficient. I love Venice. I plan to return. When I do, I'll stay at the Al Teatro again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Our group of 9 (2 families) spent 2 days with Eleanora at the Al Teatro. The location was perfect - just 5 minutes walk from St. Marks and the Academia Bridge. Only 2 minutes to the vaparetto stop. We were greeted upon our arrival and really made to feel at home. The rooms were very spacious - each with its own bathroom. The bathrooms were modern - with good showers. The entire B&B was exceptionally clean. The rooms opened to a canal where gondoliers routinely came by. One of the rooms had a nice small balcony. The location was very quiet at night.

Breakfast each day featured a nice variety of pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts and juices, Eleanora was very helpful in making restaurant recommendations - both places she recommeded were excellent and reasonably priced for Venice.

We weren't sure what to expect staying at a B&B but were very pleasantly suprised. We would love to stay with Eleanora again on our next trip to Venice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MT61296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Our family of 7 (4 teenagers and a 20 year old) stayed at Al Teatro B and B for 3 nights post-cruise. Getting from the terminal to the vaporetto stop at Piazzale Roma was challenging. We decided not to wait for the cruise line transportation bus to the water taxi (vaporetto) as the line up on disembarkation day was huge. We rolled our luggage for about a kilometre (as did many others) to the ACTV boat stop at P. Roma where we bought our Venice Cards and Rolling Venice cards (for discounted transportation and museums). We were then able to take the water taxi 10 stops to the Gigli stop (about an hour on the water taxi) and rolled our luggage down a narrow cobblestoned lane and around the corner to find B and B Al Teatro. The B and B is located on the first floor (not the street level floor) of an 800 year old mansion and is accessed by two short flights of stairs from the street. It is directly across the canal from the side of the Teatro La Fenice, the recently rebuilt (1998-99) 1700's era opulent opera house with the amazing story of having burned to the ground and rising like a phoenix twice in the past. We booked the amber room and the pink room for our family which required adding three fold-up beds to the rooms. The rooms were spacious each with their own bathroom. The beds were very comfortable with good quality linens although the fold-up beds were quite hard mattresses were thin. Good enough for children, not as good for larger adults. The rooms were appointed nicely with Murano glass fixtures and ornaments. Floors were terazzo marble tile and were original with irregularities and unevenness aquired over the years. Renos have been well-done preserving the historic flavor with shutters and doors. The balcony in the amber room was so lovely suspended over the canal, we could watch the singing gondoliers as they passed right below us. The breakfast room was also the dining room for the Eleonora's family. The frescos on the walls and ceiling are original and have recently been cleaned. They are stunning. We had use of the dining room for breakfast (until 10:00) and until the early evening for internet use (reasonable price for wireless). Eleonora supplied cheaply priced bottled water, and canned beverages which we used daily as her prices were much more reasonable than buying elsewhere. Breakfast was wonderful consisting of breads, pastries, cheeses and yogurt, fresh fruit and juice/coffee/tea/cappucino. The Bed and Breakfast is ideally situated , close to Piazza San Marco and vaporetto stops, hundreds of shops, restaurants (food is very expensive) and entertainment. We went to a concert in La Fenice and were awestruck at the beauty of the theatre. The 20 euro seats were adequate for the concert. Eleonora booked a private boat to the airport for us (reasonable price for a large group with lots of luggage) in the very early morning on our departure day. It was a fast and easy way to get to the airport. From the boat dock there is a 5 minute walk to the airport terminal building. It is essential to have rolling luggage in Venice!
We found our hosts Eleonora and her family to be very helpful and friendly and we made friends with her famous biting turtle. We would definitely stay at Eleonora's B and B on our next holiday in Venice.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank shewholovestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,963 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,902 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Residenza Corte Antica
Residenza Corte Antica
#1 of 476 in Venice
433 reviews
San Marco
B&B Fortuny
B&B Fortuny
#4 of 476 in Venice
175 reviews
Castello
Residenza de l'Osmarin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2554, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Al Teatro Bed And Breakfast
Al Teatro Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing