We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm combined with good location”
Review of Ca' del Duca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ca' del Duca
Ranked #271 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Ca' del Duca was our first stop on our whirlwind tour of Europe and we did our best to stick to a modest budget as we were moving around a lot. This was no more difficult then in Venice, where the price of accommodation skyrockets the closer you are to central points like the grand canal or San Marcos Piazza. We were lucky in our finding of Ca' del Duca, a small boutique hotel within walking distance of both major landmarks. This moderately priced hotel offered street views, a comfortable and ornate room, a functional but not very spacious bathroom and even continental breakfast included which we felt was a lovely touch. A few things were difficult however, finding the hotel is exceptionally difficult unless you know exactly where it is as the only signage is on the door in the middle of a busy shopping lane. Also, upon entry you are greeted with a steep staircase up to the rooms which was difficult with suitcases. Finally, the hotel is only staffed briefly in the morning so if you do have difficulties (we didn't fortunately) that could be tricky. All in all though the beautifully decorated rooms and ease of access to main tourist spots made up for a few small issues. Well done.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Callatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

This hotel was very basic. Not really to much to say apart from small small small. Myself and my partner are not very big people but we struggled. If you are a slightly bigger person and I mean only a size 14 ladies, forget about having a shower. The door only opened 12 inches. Venice on the other hand is amazing would go every day if I could. Beautiful magical place. Only warning hold on to your sandwich in St Marco Square a huge sea gull lol mine clean out of my hands.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel with Booking.com. photos and description of room showed beautiful Venetion style rooms. Our's was far from it ! Saw manager and he said you booked with booking.com this is the Budget room. Photos only show 4 lovely Venetion style rooms nos 10, 12 ,14 ,16. Ours was no 18 !! The only thing nice about the room was the comfortable king size bed which took up the room ! It's a good location but wouldn't stay there again. Disappointed !

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Well -- to tell you from the beginning, this place is impossible to find. Between and across from many boutiques and stores, there is one door that looks like a home. We walked by with four suitcases until a very nice restaurateur took us there by the hand which had a small sign on the door. No sign above or lights saying HOTEL - nothing but a door with an intercom. We ring the intercom and there is an answer. We advise who we are and they buzz us in. Up about 15 carpeted steps with 4-5 bags and I almost killed myself on the last one because it was not attached to the floor. So i tripped right over it an landed on my face. At what you might think was a desk were a set of keys for us and a note of instructions. Never once did we see anyone but on cleaning woman in the entire place -- for 4 days ever. The bathroom was tiny and dirty. I am 5'10" and 210 pound an I could not get through the shower doors. And the bathroom was filthy We could not get the AC to work --we called "whomever, wherever" and he could not understand a word i was saying. Finally he put some one else on the phone to tell us they still considered it the winter season. So we opened noisy windows of people below in the street to try to cool down the room. Then my husband finds an unmarked remote. Well - we played with that and all of a sudden the AC came on --so much about the season. Same as this all four days. You CALL to tell them what kind of breakfast beverage you want and up comes a tray with the two drinks, two glasses of OJ and two croissants with butter and jelly. That's breakfast for your bed and breakfast. Yo get a knock at your door and your tray is just sitting there. No one again. The room looked aged and filthy. We were almost afraid to sleep on the mattresses. It really looked to me like the furnishings out of The Adams Family, as did the scary cleaning woman who was the only person we ever saw. It WAS a great location however. Right near the piazza

Room Tip: Just do not come here if you are looking for a good room or any hospitality at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank TheGazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Me and my husband spent two nights. Little tricky to find when the alley way is crowded with people, as you are looking out for them and not the little doorway enterance of this B&B. We arrive rang the doorbell, and were buzzed in (our Italian host had already called ahead for us). Everything was laying at the small reception desk, unlocked our door put our carry-on luggage in the rooms and set out to explore! The bed was very comfortable, amazing old wooden ceiling beams, the AC was so welcomed after walking all over the city and then there's the bathroom.......I'm gonna be honest (we had NO Problem with it) but if you are a big person the bathroom is TINY!!! But your in Venice who wants to spend hours in the bathroom??? Get in, get out (you'll have to dress in the room itself there's no room for dressing inside the BR).

AND then there is LOVELY Breakfast (not your typical Italen breakfast) served in your room. Breakfast is served 08.30 until 10.00 am (when you wake up) simply dial 9 choose your prefered hot drink and ca. 10 minutes later breakfast is served!

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms, we had N° 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Whoobiesmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#199 of 385 in Venice
431 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#121 of 385 in Venice
449 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#104 of 385 in Venice
833 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#205 of 385 in Venice
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' del Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' del Duca

Address: San Marco 916 | Calle dei Fabbri, 30100 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#139 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $81 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ca' del Duca 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ca' del Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Del Duca Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing