We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and nasty”
Review of Sicilia Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sicilia Home
Ranked #263 of 339 Catania B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 December 2015

Thank goodness I only had to stay here for a single night.

Just because I was a solo traveller paying for a budget room does not mean I deserved to suffer. I was greeted coolly when I told the receptionist that I didn't have the exact money. What kind of hotel does not keep any change at all at their reception desk?

My room was directly outside the breakfast/seating area and thanks to thin walls and a flimsy door, I heard every conversation and scrape of furniture both in the evening and early morning. Pair this with a thin mattress and I did not sleep well.

My room had a mini fridge which was not plugged in and filthy on the inside. I opened a door to what I assumed was a balcony only to find what looked like a large boiler and no floor.

The A/C unit was noisy and I woke up to find it had leaked water all down the wall and onto the floor.

The bathroom was filthy and desperately needs updating. For some inexplicable reason whoever had prepared the room had left the toilet brush in the actual toilet.

The room was dark, not helped by dirty windows. Breakfast was spartan, the wifi was unreliable.

The only redeeming feature of this hotel is the central location, mercifully I couldn't hear the busy main road from my room.

The photos of the double rooms on here make it look so nice, what a shame that solo travellers are apparently treated like second class citizens.

Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2014

Quite a simple hotel room. Lovely decor inside but very difficult to find as the hotel itself is not advertised outside. For those looking, the entrance is a large door with a buzzer amongst shops some shops.
The hotel is very close to some local sites, a short walk to the main square and a minute from the supermarket which was convenient!
The area around was far from eye catching but improved slightly at night with the lights bringing out the architecture.
The lady who checked us is was friendly and happy to help when needed. Unfortunately we ate out everyday so I cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaLouiseA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The newly named Sicilia Home B&B is located a 15 minute walk away to the train and bus station, and a 15 minute walk south to the main square, this fantastic accommodation is surprisingly located in an office block near Piazza Stasicoro. It offers cooking facilities, superb accommodation, comfy beds, good air con, and hosts who are there at your beck and call. There's only five rooms so they really concentrate on the service. The rooms are spacious and although there's a little noise from the bathroom amenities when you use them, there's not much noise and easy to walk to Piazza Bellini for a great night out. Highly reccomended. We were here for five nights and Massimo and Giuliana were superb!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sheffielder68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Had a lovely stay here with a mate. Cycled and saw stunning scenery on the way before returning to this idyllic spot. Can't tell you how good the beds were and great hot showers. Breakfast were great served with good fresh coffee. Didnt eat in the dining room so can't tell u how the food is.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardiffb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carlo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#7 of 49 in Catania
606 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
576 reviews
A Casa di Laura
#51 of 339 in Catania
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sicilia Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sicilia Home

Address: Corso Sicilia N. 10, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range: $57 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sicilia Home 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
it's a new receptive structure that is able to satisfy the demands of a tourism of business, of relax , of fun and of culture. Quality and comfort are the characteristics of our bed&breakfast , where the elegance of the spaces conjugates perfectly with the high quality of the services. The structure is situated in a modern building, in the heart of the historical,cultural and commercial center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Sicilia Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sicilia Home Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing