We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$64
View deal
Hotels.com
US$64
View deal
Lol.travel
US$47
View deal
Booking.comUS$74
PricelineUS$63
eDreamsUS$74
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
150
119
94
35
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
150
119
94
35
57
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 456 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2019

The hotel is really well located itsa short walk 15 mins to the attractions of the city.Staff were really helpful giving us directions and even printed usa train timetable. The hotel is clean and well worth the money. Breakfast has a large selection.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Samj26636
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 June 2019

Located in a not too elegant corner of Palermo, the Albergo Athenaeum was according to expectations, especially for a visitor who had business with the university and stayed there for a couple of nights. Room and service (with the exception of an elevator problem that was solved relatively quickly.) as well as price were in harmony, so that a hotel that can be recommended without any special remarks.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank Akos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2019

This is a nice inexpensive hotel near the university, and near many of the tourist attractions. It is not on a main street, so it is a bit more quiet. The rooms were moderately large, and the breakfast was better than average. The staff people were helpful and informative. I would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: only one experienced
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 April 2019 via mobile

Yes the hotel is situated in a typical side street of an Italian city. Expect the neighbors to have washing hanging from the line. It offers all the comforts, sizable rooms with balconies, fast internet and free parking. Where it lost the fourth star is that the breakfast room on Sunday morning had no clean tables and everything had to be re-brought. No cheese. No bowls for fruit. The air conditioner didn’t work either. Otherwise centrally situated.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Roedig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Being half-Sicilian I’m always going to be biased about this place. Despite coming here as a child every summer and more recently twice in close succession, this is actually my first visit to Sicily’s capital.

This is the start of a nine day holiday to the island that commenced with two days in Palermo. Travelling with my parents in law, my wife and eight year old son, we collected our Fiat 500 (L - this big one) and set off for our Mediterranean Adventure.

The plan is to circle the island counter-clockwise taking in Trapani, Marsala, Sciacca, Agrigento, Syracuse, Taormina and Cefalu. We are going to the sites, little ports, temples, theatres, mosaics and sample as much food as our bodies will allow!

Back to the hotel for a second, it is easy to find from the airport, there is a large underground car park (which is great because you almost certainly risk your Insurnace excess parking on the street)... Palermo could be translated to Dented-Panel-City!!!
The hotel itself is then walking distance to the northern quarter and roughly 15/20 minutes from the Ballaro Markets.

The hotel is perfect, large rooms with balconies, adequate bathrooms with a great shower. You’re provided with an abundance of towels everyday!
The beds are comfy and the air con is effective, quiet and simple to use.

Fallen in love with the staff here - Pipo and “Lorri” in particular have made our stay really special. Our son is not fussy about food but like most eight year olds does prefer chips or penne with a ragu and Parmesan to anything else - and there was never an issue asking for these even if off the menu. Nothing was too much bother and the service is excellent.
The food is superb, a simple four courses with three options per course. We’ve enjoyed a tomato and fresh ricotta salad, farfalle pasta with salmon, chicken escalope, spaghetti with olive oil and chilli, local fish, Saltimboca and all this washes down beautifully with local red wine.
Five of us eating, four courses including a pudding to die for was 60€...bargain!

Breakfast is equally simple and sublime with a vast array of cakes and pastries - our son enjoyed the donuts with nutella (so did I in fact).

Referring back to my title of six lanes into one, I was referring of course to the driving style... I’m still not sure how many lanes are in one road, at one point I’m sure there were six lanes of cars and busses meandering round parked cars and scooters whilst avoiding a woman arguing with her partner on the side of a motorway junction (pulled over as you do). It is bonkers. However just go with it, push out with conviction and spot the tourists - we are easy to spot as the only ones using indicators. Rear view mirrors are really there as target practise for scooters / just assume there is always a scooter or car on your backside and you can’t go wrong. It was brilliant, chaotic and yet somehow refreshing to just go where you want, when you want and how you want - I think my father in law got it when we had to move over in the path to allow an impatient Vespa rider avoiding traffic caused by a bin lorry by riding down the side walk!!! Hilarious!!

Anyone who has recently seen Jamie Oliver’s Italy show will know that Sicily is famous for its location in history as a spice merchants trade post. The desserts here are famous as a consequence of Millenia of Arab, Roman, Norman and Greek ownership. The markets are full of this unique history with spices, fruits and veg from pomegranate to peppers, vanilla to vermicelli. It’s all here... six cultures and histories into one three sided island. Just lovely

Lastly, bit of advice, always carry some cash and change on you, there are so many stall holders with fresh prickly pears “Figo D’india” (literally figs of India) that they lovingly cut the needle covered skins three ways - top, bottom and down the middle to reveal a stunningly refreshing pink or yellow fruit / a must do.

We leave Palermo today for the coastal road to Marsala Via Trapani so will post again later. Ciao for now

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ReesF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews