We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
234
237
80
29
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
237
80
29
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view rooftop terrace paid parking rooms are basic charming hotel breakfast was excellent pastries old building on foot cheese island stylish ortigia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2020 via mobile

The Gutkowski is a charming hotel in an excellent position in Ortigia. You can walk everywhere on the island and also easily reach Syracuse archeological area on foot. Rooms are basic but comfortable, with air-con and WiFi. Breakfast was served because of Covid and there was a choice of a sweet or savory plate. The restaurant too is very good and has a nice view from the rooftop terrace. The only cons is the parking, which is not always easy to get for free in peak hours. However, there is a nearby private parking in case you can’t park for free.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Chiara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola Pretsch, Proprietario at Hotel Gutkowski, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Thank you! The maire is now trying to better organizing parking and circulation.
We hope he'll manage.
Our cuisine is very important for us, it gives our guests the possibility of having dinner
in a relaxed atmosphere, up on the terrace in front of the sea. And then get out for a
nice walk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2019

I had room 13 which was a very generous size and equipped with tub, shower, tea kettle, mini bar and best of all a day bed along with the full bed. A fine location on the sea front, close to the two main piazzas. It is not luxurious but comfortable enough, and the staff are helpful. The breakfast is very good and generous. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gutkowski, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Gutkowski, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2019

Thanks a lot Nina for the nice comment ! We hope to host you back soon !
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2019 via mobile

We booked online just a day before visiting Ortigia from our rented vacation apartment in Catania. We were delighted to get a sea view room, though smaller than the non-view one originally arranged. The hotel is charming, friendly, and decorated in a kind of hipster style with some industrial touches, some country pieces, and some modern furniture, all of which works very well and comfortably. Great bed. Lovely linens. Reading lights on BOTH sides of bed. Clean white bathroom with sea view, large tiled shower, and heated towel rack. Heard no noise from neighboring rooms once we closed our door. Breakfast was excellent, local cheeses, pastries, fruits, cereals, everything one could wish for (including hot milk for the coffee.) we sat on the second floor terrace in the late afternoon, had it to ourselves, cannot imagine a nicer spot for winding down. We would absolutely book here again.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wander585367
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gutkowski, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Gutkowski, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2019

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Hotel Gutkowski, We are really grateful for the lovely comment and we hope to see you another time soon ! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2019

Not the Ritz, but <90 Euro for a nice room directly overlooking the port and Ionian Sea beyond and close to everything in the ancient city center, Ortegia Island. Staff are congenial and in all a fine value at a memorable spot.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dr. Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gutkowski, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Gutkowski, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Thank you so much for the nice review ! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you another time here ! Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019 via mobile

While the rooms are quite spartan, the seaside view was opulent! The breakfast is very good, the staff extremely helpful, parking is pretty easy, and the location is top shelf. My only complaint is the AC is on a timer which shuts down at night, first night around 1 a.m., second night around 12, and snaps back at 7 a.m. so, with the windows open, the road noise was loud. I was given a fan which helped drown out the noise a bit. But the price and location are great!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank rovingcarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gutkowski, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Gutkowski, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2019

Dear Carole,
Thank you for your comment. Yes we do turn off the A/C when the temperature is not too hot (although during the hot summer we do let it all night! long) We are sorry that it bothered you... Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews