We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
234
237
80
29
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
237
80
29
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view rooftop terrace paid parking rooms are basic charming hotel breakfast was excellent pastries old building on foot cheese island stylish ortigia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2020

Having seen all the glowing reviews and recommendations on renowned websites we were very excited to visit the hotel. We had one of the budget rooms without any views which was fine as we were spending the whole days out, however the nights were very uncomfortable. The amount of noise coming in was on another level, worse than any hostels and budget hotels I had stayed in before, it was as if we left the doors open. We were woken up many times during the night with banging and shouting coming from downstairs neighbours/restaurant and also from within the hotel itself we could hear every door being open and closed by other guests. I understand it is an old building however well sealed rooms are not difficult to install and achieve, it is only good practice. To make it worse the hotel decides that at 1am they turn off the AC, this is their decision, however us as guests should have been made aware about this, not being woken up with heat, as if the noise was not enough. I don't usually write reviews like this but when we then spoke to the guy at the reception he simply shrugged it off. The hotel got its fame because of the way the hotel is decorated and that is it, there is nothing else to it. I would not recommend staying here to anyone. We were glad we only had two nights here, would have left earlier if it was a longer stay.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank rebeccav669
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola Pretsch, Proprietario at Hotel Gutkowski, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

I'm sorry during your stay there was a group with children as well, and we had not
renewed all the windows. Now they are. I understand quietness and silence are
essential, and so I apologize. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2020 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in room 1 and really enjoyed the nice service of the owner and staff. Everyone was very friendly and tried to answer any open question from our side.
Our room was in another building (half a minute away) and was rather old and dark. The interior was okay but the walls could have used some new color and there was almost no daylight as there was only a small window in the corner. For one night it was fully okay but I would not have wanted to stay longer.
Also the parking situation is rather annoying (nothing to blame the hotel for as this is a general issue on the island!!) but at least there was a paid parking option available only 2 mins away from the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank TravelBee93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2020 via mobile

The Gutkowski is a charming hotel in an excellent position in Ortigia. You can walk everywhere on the island and also easily reach Syracuse archeological area on foot. Rooms are basic but comfortable, with air-con and WiFi. Breakfast was served because of Covid and there was a choice of a sweet or savory plate. The restaurant too is very good and has a nice view from the rooftop terrace. The only cons is the parking, which is not always easy to get for free in peak hours. However, there is a nearby private parking in case you can’t park for free.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Chiara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola Pretsch, Proprietario at Hotel Gutkowski, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Thank you! The maire is now trying to better organizing parking and circulation.
We hope he'll manage.
Our cuisine is very important for us, it gives our guests the possibility of having dinner
in a relaxed atmosphere, up on the terrace in front of the sea. And then get out for a
nice walk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2019

I had room 13 which was a very generous size and equipped with tub, shower, tea kettle, mini bar and best of all a day bed along with the full bed. A fine location on the sea front, close to the two main piazzas. It is not luxurious but comfortable enough, and the staff are helpful. The breakfast is very good and generous. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gutkowski, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Gutkowski, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2019

Thanks a lot Nina for the nice comment ! We hope to host you back soon !
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2019 via mobile

We booked online just a day before visiting Ortigia from our rented vacation apartment in Catania. We were delighted to get a sea view room, though smaller than the non-view one originally arranged. The hotel is charming, friendly, and decorated in a kind of hipster style with some industrial touches, some country pieces, and some modern furniture, all of which works very well and comfortably. Great bed. Lovely linens. Reading lights on BOTH sides of bed. Clean white bathroom with sea view, large tiled shower, and heated towel rack. Heard no noise from neighboring rooms once we closed our door. Breakfast was excellent, local cheeses, pastries, fruits, cereals, everything one could wish for (including hot milk for the coffee.) we sat on the second floor terrace in the late afternoon, had it to ourselves, cannot imagine a nicer spot for winding down. We would absolutely book here again.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wander585367
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gutkowski, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Gutkowski, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2019

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Hotel Gutkowski, We are really grateful for the lovely comment and we hope to see you another time soon ! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews