We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A FAIR CHOICE”
Review of Villa dei Papiri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa dei Papiri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

the location in a natural reserve is a winner/ rooms and public area very pleasant and the country atmosphere is very very nice . buildings are beautifully restored and a nice orcard with pld olive trees completes the nice set-up.
cleaning can be improved though by no means not "terrible" as mentioned in some reviews.
as we always prefer a nice country house to a luxurious hotel we really enjoyed our 2 nights there

Room Tip: locate it on GPS before you arrive - it is quite a challenge to find it. follow the signs to Fonte C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OFER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your objective review, we are glad you have appreciated your stay and this farm, we hope to guest you again in the future, best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very nice setting and full of potentials...but this is it. Rooms are lacking of some refurbishment and are very mouldy and scarcely ventilated. AC was not working, staff is not local and unprofessional, breakfast is a scandal for a so called agritourism in Italy! Despite the discount they gave me on the final bill is not a place a would reccomend...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaudioR_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

We are sorry for your complaints, especially for breakfast which is widely appreciated by our guests, and we are still wondering what could be so scandalous..... Never mind, everyone has got his own tastes and preferences, we'll try to improve rooms as well as services. Thank you for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was not the first time we had visited this agriturismo and I doubt it will be the last. Having previously tried other accommodation in Siracusa, I can safely say that this is my favourite. It's great if you like nature and want to get away from it all but still want to be close enough to the city centre to be able to visit Ortigia easily. You'd probably need a car if you're planning on staying here, but it's only few km to the centre of Siracusa. It can be nice just to spend the day hanging around the agriturismo though, because it's in the middle of a nature reserve and a great place for short walks amongst the olive groves and by the nearby river. The rooms have a real Sicilian feel to them and the room which we stayed in (Exclusive) has its own little patio/garden with a table and chairs. It was lovely to sit there in the late afternoon sun! The main building has a fantastic communal area/dining hall and our young daughter really enjoyed playing in the surrounding gardens. Compared to most agriturismos/B&Bs, the breakfast is excellent and there's a wide range of food to choose from and the staff are really friendly and helpful, but also respect your privacy. Although there's no restaurant here, there is another agriturismo very nearby (Villa Cristina) which is really nice. In a nutshell, I can highly recommend Villa dei Papiri!

Room Tip: The Exclusive rooms are larger and they're in a seperate building so nice if you want a bit of p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for coming again to this place, it shows your love for nature and relaxing holidays, and above all it's our prize for any effort we make to let people enjoy their holidays.
We expect to guest you again and again for sure! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

In the middle of an orange's field, the facility seems very romantic at the first view. And it eally is. We were 3 people and we got a big 2 floor suite for only 125€/day, breakfast for 3 included. Not bad. Anyway you need to tolerate a not perfect cleaning of the room. Not because the room service but because you are in the middle of the country and humidity or dust are possible and sometime aggressive to an old country house even if restored. Wifi available in the common area. No restaurant in the facility, but very close in another "Villa", or Syracuse downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhStrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for really appreciating the features of this place and our service, we hope to guest you again to satisfy your expectations even more.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This place really isn't what you'd expect. Another lesson to never judge a book by its cover.
The whole place is really musty and deserted, no soul or good vibe found here.. Unlike what the website suggests.
Our room wasn't very clean and even worse, it was covered by millipedes! They where everywhere! And I don't mean a few, more like a hundred or so.. Yikes!
We stayed here a couple of days and during our stay there was nobody around the place to welcome or help us or anything. Breakfast wasn't what we expected, on top of that I got a fierce food poisoning here that ruined the rest of my holiday. I'll never forget this place, wish that was a good thing...

Room Tip: Get out of there and book a room elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Guest
we don't know if crying or laughing is best, because your review looks very theatrical, nearly Scary movie, with a desert hotel without a soul and millipedes everywhere; but we want to know therefore what ghosts have given you the room, the keys, they prepared breakfast that you disliked (but for which the others make us compliments), and even a poisoning which of course we were not informed of until a year later in this comment of yours.
Sorry for this nightmare we have caused, we believe that the countryside didn't fit you, but we apologize anyway for everything and we hope that our future clients will tell their problems while present, and not a year later when we do not understand what and why.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
5.9 km away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
1,306 reviews
4.6 km away
Hotel Caiammari
Hotel Caiammari
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
408 reviews
6.0 km away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
615 reviews
5.9 km away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#35 of 75 in Syracuse
405 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa dei Papiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa dei Papiri

Address: Traversa Testa Pisima 2/C | Riserva Naturale Fiume Ciane e Saline, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Syracuse
Price Range: $59 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa dei Papiri 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The holiday farm “Villa dei Papiri” is an old Sicilian house dating back to the 19th century. It dominates a 13 hectares area rich in organic farming of lemons and oranges and surrounded by papyrus plants, palms, olive, almond and carob trees, cypress, bonsais as well as other wonderful Mediterranean plants. It is located 5 kms away from Syracuse, inside the Natural Reserve of the River Ciane & Saline, a few meters from the mythological spring source Fonte Ciane whose myth of Persephone is praised in the Metamorphoses of Ovid. It is surrounded by beautiful Egyptian Papyri, exactly the same papyrus used for the preparation of those extraordinary paper rolls on which most of human history has passed, and it continues to grow wild in this place unique in the world. The area also denotes an archaeological as well as naturalistic interest , as there are several Paleolithic remains such as tombs, caves and wells. These valuable findings show the presence of the ancient Sicilian habitation; the Sicilians were the Indo-European ethnic group that inhabited eastern Sicily, while the other ethnic groups of Elymian and Sikelian people inhabited respectively the west and the center of the island as reported by the historian Thucydides . In this vast nature reserve Villa dei Papiri is an historical building of great landscape value. Elegantly refined and equipped with every comfort it offers to its visitors the opportunity to relax and enjoy the beauties of the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa dei Papiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dei Papiri Syracuse, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing