We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but hopeless”
Review of Villa dei Papiri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa dei Papiri
Ranked #13 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2015

Villa dei Papiri is beautiful, looks like a typical gorgeous Italian Don's Villa in the orchards straight out of the Godfather. Gives you that impression as you drive through the gates and down the gravel covered drive through the orange and lemon groves. The buildings and grounds are spotless and quite a view, the rooms are a descent size and furnished in old original styling, it all fits in nicely. But that is all it has to offer. It is 7-8Km away from life so a car is essential. No restaurants in walking distance which is a pain as they do not serve any food onsite other than the most basic of breakfasts, they say the onsite bar is open til midnight but the truth is they have a very poor very limited selection in a catering fridge and that is it. Sooooo much more could be done with this place and it would be very very successful and pleasant but they just don't do anything, at all, no exaggeration. A restaurant and a good serving bar and you could spend some quality time here. It's Villa's so self catering but they give you absolutely no facility to do this. No cups or glasses in rooms, no cutlery, no way of making a drink or even opening a bottle. You do get a fridge in you room???!! Seriously the management need to pay a bit more attention to the details here and evening arrangements and this place could have been perfect.......But sadly not the case..

Room Tip: All looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_barleymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

I didn't know what an agriturismo was before I went to this place and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. It's a beautiful getaway for a weekend break. It's very quiet and staff are nice! The breakfast included all the basics and had fresh orange juice grown from the orange trees surrounding the property

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank maxine2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

The charming agriturismo Villa dei Papiri is a large converted old stone farm and adjacent buildings with a fine garden ornamented by lemons and limes, bird of paradise, hibiscus, jasmine and palms. The huge central area for breakfast, reading, sitting by the fire in winter, opens out onto a lawn where we took our buffet breakfast. The rooms are a good size and beds very comfortable. The staff are helpful and, around the Villa, there are walks, boat trips on the river bounded by papyrus, horse riding and bicycles the staff will arrange. Dinner can be taken nearby at the Villa Christina under the same ownership, and it was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TaraL967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papirus, Direttore generale at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for appreciating this place as well as your stay, hope to see you soon again here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at the Villa dei Papiri for four nights ten days ago and found this hotel to be very disappointing. The rooms are small and sadly lacking. There was hardly any storage space.The bathrooms are also dingy and not kept clean. There were lots of mosquitoes because of the surrounding vegetation. Since it rained heavily, the bed sheets that were put on the second day smelled damp and musty. Btw, don't bother to send in any items to the laundry. They are returned damp! The breakfast was not appetizing. It was made up of small pastries in plastic wraps for the most part. We noticed that leftover food from breakfast remained in the breakfast area all day. The only good thing was that you were able to get some complimentary access to the internet although it was very slow. Their sister restaurant close by had horrible wine and when we brought our own bottles, we were charged a hefty corkage. We'll not return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quicktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papirus, Direttore generale at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We 're sorry for your sad experience , but we believe that there is a fundamental mistake in the location's choice: it is normal that being surrounded by the vegetation of a nature reserve there are humidity and mosquitoes , it would have probably been better for you to choose an aseptic hotel in the city center. At least you have specified to have stayed during rainy days and so we believe it is clear the basic problem, even for the laundry that not having chemical cleaning or drying systems entrusts to nature and sun, and if your clothes cannot dry well because of the rain we really apologize for that , probably we would have better recommended a dry cleaning outside. As for the breakfast we should point out that mentioned small pastries are almond pastries , fresh and soft , packed one by one to preserve their taste and which are well known as one of the Sicilian pastry specialties (never seen?); however, you haven't mentioned the croissants , cakes, bread and buns, boiled eggs , cold cuts , etc. ... Besides your leftovers commentary sounds strange because breakfast area is always cleaned up. To conclude we underline we are not be responsible for a negative comment about a close by restaurant where you had dinner because it is another management (wine problem).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

the location in a natural reserve is a winner/ rooms and public area very pleasant and the country atmosphere is very very nice . buildings are beautifully restored and a nice orcard with pld olive trees completes the nice set-up.
cleaning can be improved though by no means not "terrible" as mentioned in some reviews.
as we always prefer a nice country house to a luxurious hotel we really enjoyed our 2 nights there

Room Tip: locate it on GPS before you arrive - it is quite a challenge to find it. follow the signs to Fonte C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OFER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your objective review, we are glad you have appreciated your stay and this farm, we hope to guest you again in the future, best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
7.2 km away
UNA Hotel One
UNA Hotel One
#12 of 75 in Syracuse
1,073 reviews
209.2 km away
Casena dei Colli
Casena dei Colli
#27 of 98 in Palermo
207 reviews
5.7 km away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#15 of 75 in Syracuse
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#14 of 75 in Syracuse
688 reviews
5.6 km away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
5.1 km away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa dei Papiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa dei Papiri

Address: Traversa Testa Pisima 2/C | Riserva Naturale Fiume Ciane e Saline, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Syracuse
Price Range: $86 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa dei Papiri 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The holiday farm “Villa dei Papiri” is an old Sicilian house dating back to the 19th century. It dominates a 13 hectares area rich in organic farming of lemons and oranges and surrounded by papyrus plants, palms, olive, almond and carob trees, cypress, bonsais as well as other wonderful Mediterranean plants. It is located 5 kms away from Syracuse, inside the Natural Reserve of the River Ciane & Saline, a few meters from the mythological spring source Fonte Ciane whose myth of Persephone is praised in the Metamorphoses of Ovid. It is surrounded by beautiful Egyptian Papyri, exactly the same papyrus used for the preparation of those extraordinary paper rolls on which most of human history has passed, and it continues to grow wild in this place unique in the world. The area also denotes an archaeological as well as naturalistic interest , as there are several Paleolithic remains such as tombs, caves and wells. These valuable findings show the presence of the ancient Sicilian habitation; the Sicilians were the Indo-European ethnic group that inhabited eastern Sicily, while the other ethnic groups of Elymian and Sikelian people inhabited respectively the west and the center of the island as reported by the historian Thucydides . In this vast nature reserve Villa dei Papiri is an historical building of great landscape value. Elegantly refined and equipped with every comfort it offers to its visitors the opportunity to relax and enjoy the beauties of the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa dei Papiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dei Papiri Syracuse, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing