We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa dei Papiri
Nearby Hotels
US$115
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$106
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Residence Arco Antico(Syracuse)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Astrea(Syracuse)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel San Martino(Syracuse)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posta(Syracuse)
US$79
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Como(Syracuse)
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
131
107
42
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
107
42
18
19
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

If you are in Sicily, close to Siracusa, don't miss this amazing place. Located in the beautiful land, sorrounded by fruit trees, fields and of course rares and wonderful papiri, this b&b will give you a special peaceful sensations. This property was an old beautiful house located inside the Riserva Naturale Ciane e Saline .Everything is well restored with taste, respecting the old structure and charm. Arriving by car, you could admire the beautiful wild papiri growing up in the little river. We spent here 3 nights and it was a pity to leave this place. The staff is super friendly, professional and helpful. Some rooms are located in a separated beautiful buildings close to the main one and each one has a little garden in front. The temperature inside the rooms was perfect. We didn't need any AC! We also like the breakfast: a large and good buffet will welcome you every morning. Very nice and old furnitures, will sorround you during inside the hall. Outside the main building, you can have a rest in the beautiful and well decorated garden. All around, you can ear only the "noise" of the nature. Crickets, birds, cicadas. I definitively suggest this place to all Tripadvisor community!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jhonny75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Location is very good if you want to be in a quite area away from the traffic. The gardens are lovely and the staff are very helpful. You just need to rent a car but that is needed anyway in Sicily if you wish to visit many sites such as Catania, Etna, Taormina, Ragusa, Modica or Agrigento. The nearest beaches are lovely and easy to get there. We visited lots of places being based in Villa dei Papiri in about 9 days including (on top of the above) Marzamemi, Cabo della Corriente and Noto, so it is the perfect agriturismo if you are flying to Catania.

Room Tip: Ask for an exclusive Double room
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ryuk333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We had a very unpleassant experience - the pictures looked great but it's really just on the surface. It was dirty and smelly and nobody spoke English and pretended they could not help us and clean it. Breakfast was from the supermarket - way too expensive for the experience!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

While the setting is lovely and the property well-maintained, I was very disappointed in the room I was assigned. It was a handicapped room, which I did not request. The toilet seat was too high and the shower, which was walk-in, leaked from the bottom, necessitating my having to mop the floor each time. The floor was dirty when I arrived, and stayed that way. The staff was not friendly and one in particular was surly. The breakfast was superb and in a very lush setting. Too bad the rest of the services were not up to that quality. Not a good value for the money.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
Thank winthedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

My partner and I stayed here 1-8 June 2015. We travelled down from Catania Airport by car (hired from Fire Fly - good service and would use again). We used the SatNav until we were sure we were on the right road and then followed directions from the highway to Siracusa. Just to add some clarification to the directions, when you pass the cemetary on your left you may join a queue of traffic that will take you to a T-junction. Here turn hard right on a hairpin bend and continue with the instructions as provided - there wasn't any obvious signage that we could see. On days out we set the SatNav to a roundabout near the Villa as a means of easily finding our way back. If you save the Villa location in your SatNav I promise you, you will not find it easily!

We stayed in accommodation for two with a kitchenette. This consisted of four gas burners only and a fridge with worktop and sink. An oven would have been useful as we do like to self cater. This has been provided by other agritourismo we have stayed at. The kitchen equipment was pretty minimal, a decent kitchen knife would have been useful as would salad servers and something to drain the pasta with. We made use of the communal BBQ without any problems. This was a favourite of my partners. We ate our evening meals out in the beautiful garden, such a lovely setting. Twice we had evening meals at Villa Christina which is near by. The food was lovely and typically Sicilian.

Also provided on the ground floor was a table and two dining chairs and a TV. What would have been nice was a couple of easy chairs for somewhere comfortable to sit in the evenings (one by the stairs and one by the door perhaps?)

A mezzanine provided the sleeping area. There was plenty of wardrobe space and the bed was firm but comfortable. The air con worked very well and was much appreciated.

The spacious bathroom was on the ground floor with plenty of hot water for the shower, good quality towels provided and a hairdryer (had I known that was available I wouldn't have taken mine, but this is not a big issue).

There was daily maid service which included emptying of bins, tidying of the bathroom and making the bed. A nice touch we thought.

Breakfast was available in the lounge. The food available included both sweet and savoury and gave us interesting selections, with plenty of tea, coffee, water and orange juice available. The lounge is furnished with antiques and I loved it.

We asked at reception for anything we needed and they were only too pleased to oblige.

I love Mediterranean holidays, but I always seem to get bitten. This happened in this region too despite using Jungle Strength insect repellant. I only mention it if this is a deciding factor for you.

We enjoyed our stay and the location was very convenient for visiting the sights of Siracusa, Ortygia and other towns in Southern Sicily i.e. Noto, Ragusa, Caltagirone and Modica.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews