We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazingly Wonderful Stay”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We had the time of our lives in this beautiful hotel.
From the moment we arrived until we left we felt special. Special because our every whim was satisfied and it seemed that there was nothing that would be too much trouble for management and staff to help us with. Attention to detail was probably the key.
Everyone seems to care about everything, Even dear Francesca s time was ever busy for when she had no-one to serve at breakfast she surreptitiously stood by the walled garden removing the dead flower heads. (Oh and does she make the coffee on which everyone should have the opportunity start their day)
The accommodation is absolutely beautiful, the food delicious and the views... there are no words to describe the views other than that you MUST go and experience them for yourselves.
Would we go back? Just waiting for the opportunity.
The most amazing aspect of our stay and to our utter delight delight we were able, with the help of Paolo, to trace relatives with whom we had had no communication for forty years.
Very Best Wishes to all of you at the hotel and until the next time Ciao from Subiaco down under Western Australia
So sorry this has taken some time to write, but better late than never!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Finchamrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,352 - 1,356 of 2,101 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2009

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Villa Ducale in May. The hotel has received much praise on this site before, so to be brief I will simply say it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in - not necessarily by way of facilities because these largely associated with size - but because of the staff. All the compliments the staff have received on this site are well deserved. I would say to anyone wishing to go into a related business, come to this hotel and see how it is done.
OK what else - my interests on holiday are eating, swimming and photography - we found some of the restaurants in Taormina rather disappointing ( as compared to those in other Italian towns ) - however, we came upon a restaurant by the beach called Il Barcaiolo which for us was great. We walked from the hotel down to the town each night, then the Funivia down to the beach, returning by the Funivia and then the hotel taxi. It is a simple restaurant run by 2 sisters and a brother - the food is excellent and the sisters are lovely and the prices are cheap/moderate. Some of the food in the town is a bit like the Italian food in England ( not necessarily a great recommendation ! ). I should add whilst still droning on about food that the food in the hotel - breakfast or other light meals - is really excellent.
Moving onto swimming, there is no hotel pool although the sister hotel in the town apparently does have one. The sea is in theory beautiful and it was for us on the first day. On the second day onwards there were huge numbers of meduse - jelly fish - interesting for interest no 3 - photography - but not so good for swimming. Interestingly it must be true about mad dogs and Englishmen going out in the midday sun because on day 2 on both sides of us on the beach were fellow English tourists who eventually broke and couldn't resist the temptation to swim - in both cases with the obvious consequences. I don't know how typical this jelly fish problem is - my daughter went on holiday last year to Puglia and had the same problem so maybe its becoming more common in the Med.
Finally photogrphy: well there are many opportunities here, I'll just list some:
the view from the hotel balcony - stunning
the ampitheatre which looks straight out to Etna - fantastic
Etna itself - we went in May and there was the incredible mixture of smoke, steam, snow, and ash - very well worth a proper trip up to the top in our case by taxi, cable car and finally jeep.
And lastly if I remember how its spelled Castelmola - this is a village just above the hotel - I walked up to the village a couple of times at different times of the day - again a beautiful view from the top - its a steep 20 minute walk, so a little bit of fitness may be required.
Any other downsides - maybe the chief one for Brits is that with the present exchange rate the hotel is quite expensive - but the question is - is it worth it ? the answer is YES.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carodiario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed here for five nights as part of our honeymoon and it really is the perfect, romantic destination. The hotel staff were incredibly helpful, knowlegeable and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them (even sourced tickets to the Taormina film festival!). The terrace has amazing views of Etna and the bays of Taormina, and we had a gorgeous, spacious room. Our special meal on the terrace was fantastic. The complimentary shuttle bus to and from Taormina town (20 minute walk) was very convenient, and the hotel also has a partnership with a good local beach club. would happily recommend to anyone going to Taormina.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DH08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

The true meaning of hospitality. Impeccable service. Wonderfull facility, setting and service.
We are a 50' ish couple from Israel on a week's trip to Sicily. spent the first night at Villa Ducale.
We enjoyed every minute and were sorry we didnt plan on staying longer.
The location at the top of the hill provided great views of the Etna, the town and the sea. The hotel shuttle or the town bus provides frequent 10 minute connections to the town. The staff were gracious helpfull and very professional. every request was answered with a smile and immediate response. the room and facilities are beautifully decorated with attention to all details. Breakfast and lunch were great.

highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Great location - at the top of the hill in Taormina. Very narrow and windy roads to get there - hire a SMALL car (especially to fit it in the car park)! Very Sicilian decor - lots of tiles in yellow and blue designs, and lots of flowers everywhere. Luxurious en-suite, and great view of the sea from the balcony. The restaurant balcony had views of Taormina and Mount Etna in the distance - it was snow-capped when we were there. Very beautiful. There was very friendly service, and a handy shuttle bus to and from the town (which is at the foot of the hill). Great getaway destination!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OstrichFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
1.7 km away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.9 km away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,380 reviews
1.7 km away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $500 - $730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing