We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
297
158
49
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
158
49
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square hotel parking lovely hotel via guelfa park the car historic hotel city gate staff went out of their way old world huge bathroom piazza della repubblica wi fi family wedding breakfast was included views are spectacular steep hill charming town
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Stayed for 6 nights with friends. Room ok bathroom very old fashioned could do with a make over.
Comfy beds sheets changed daily , room clean and tidy.
Breakfast very boring no variety went out for breakfast in the end.
Struggle to get tourist information out of the staff, hard work. Smiley and pleasant seems to be a lack of management.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear Mrs. Angela W.,

Thank you for your review – we appreciate any kind of feedback that may help us constantly improve the services we are happy to provide our guests with.

We offer a buffet breakfast with homemade cookies, fresh juice, milk, toast, croissants, honey from a local bee farm, homemade cakes and sweets, which are our breakfast's top feature, fresh fruit fruit including apples, kiwis, grapes, oranges, pears , varied according to the season, fresh white yogurt, three selections of cereals: you will be able to choose among chocolate cereals, Muesli and Corn Flakes, Nutella and jam in practical confections: essential in any buffet, really tasty when spread on bread, boiled eggs, omelet, bacon, selection of cheese like Pecorino and Mozzarella, selection of Salami and Ham and other tasty food according to what the season is able to offer. Our staff are all locally based and well-informed about the history, traditions of Cortona, as well as what attractions the town and surrounding region have to offer. The tourist information we remember you requesting were the train schedules from the nearest train station, a simple task we were happy to oblige.
We are pleased to add that we have been working on several important innovations for the new 2017 season, and we look forward to welcoming you in our Hotel again.
Best regards,

Dott. Nicolò Alunno
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We chose to stay within the city walls this time around and it was a good decision. The hotel is located close enough to the main piazza to not miss anything but far enough to be a quiet environment. Numerous restaurants and shops just a stroll away to enjoy and explore. The rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished. The staff were very helpful and welcoming always, we stayed five nights and wish we had a longer stay, it is a great location to base yourself while sampling the delights of Tuscany. The breakfast were generous and delicious. Cortona was the location for the 'Under the Tuscan Sun' movie, it is beautiful. We highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank KarePhilBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolò A, Direttore at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Kind Guests,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed so much every detail of the hotel, we are doing important renovation work now and we look forward to welcoming you back soon with a lot of surprises for the new season 2017, to let you have a comfortable stay with us again, full of good memories and emotion.

Yours sincerely,

Dott. Nicolò Alunno
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

This is truly a perfect position for staying in Cortona. We had a lovely welcome and a very helpful porter. Our room was classic Tuscan style. Breakfast was good and could be eaten in the courtyard if desired. Our check out (young man, more interested in his phone- couldn't even bring himself to respond to my 'arrividerci) wasn't as friendly as the girl who greeted us on our arrival or the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leo930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolò A, Direttore at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Kind Guests,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed so much every detail of the hotel, we are doing important renovation work now and we look forward to welcoming you back soon with a lot of surprises for the new season 2017, to let you have a comfortable stay with us again, full of good memories and emotion.

Yours sincerely,

Dott. Nicolò Alunno
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Hotel in the center of the old city. It is possible to walk to the old town of Cortona from the hotel, very convenient position. The staff is very nice and ready to help with any need.

Great place to visit Cortona

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernesto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Dear Mr. Ernesto T,

Thank you for your kind words,

I look forward to seeing you again at the Hotel San Michele!


Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

We did not stay here but ended up being stranded in Cortona without a bus or taxi in sight. The excellent concierge who spoke superb English found us a taxi when most were booked up due to a wedding, and very comfortably rested in lounge until taxi arrived - very grateful ++

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Charminsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolò A, Direttore at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Kind Guests,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed so much every detail of the hotel, we are doing important renovation work now and we look forward to welcoming you back soon with a lot of surprises for the new season 2017, to let you have a comfortable stay with us again, full of good memories and emotion.

Yours sincerely,

Dott. Nicolò Alunno
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews