We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
131
220
63
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
220
63
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location third floor split level small lift central location the piazza del duomo bedroom window duomo view opened the window within walking distance stay there again salami croissants coffee machine flights of stairs continental breakfast every morning
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2016

What a great hotel this is. Get a room with a view and you are looking right at the famous Duomo. Also, just a short walk to the best museums and points of interest. Big, comfortable rooms at a very fair price. Some rooms may be a little noisy due to the proximity to the cathedral, but the view makes it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffDelanzi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Bigallo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Dear James,

Thank you very much for having been our guest, and thank you for spending your time writing your wonderful review.

We are very happy to read that you had such a good impression of our hotel! We are always very glad to give our rooms with a view to our guests when they are available. We know that the view our guests have from the windows of those rooms is amazing, and we always do our best to give the rooms to those who ask for the view - even though sometimes, of course, this is not possible for everybody.

We are located in the very heart of the city historic center and, as you correctly wrote in your review, you can reach any monument, church or museum of the center with a short walk.

Thank you again! We hope to be able to see you at Hotel Bigallo if you come back to Florence! If you wish to book another stay, just send us an email and we will get back to you with our best offer.

Best regards from all of us,
Andre
Hotel Bigallo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We had such a great time in Florence as the hotel location is not far from the tourist spots. The reception area is on the second floor with Duomo view. I really love their hot chocolate serving during breakfast. Hotel staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mayjaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffDelanzi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Bigallo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Dear Mayjaka,

Thank you very much for your review!

We are really happy that you had a great time in our city. We are always glad when our guests are able to fully enjoy their stay in Florence. As you wrote, we are located in the very center of the city, and all attractions (museums, historical buildings, churches) are within walking distance. Thank you very much for your words about our staff - we are always willing to help our guests as much as we can, so that they can have a better experience in Florence thanks to our suggestions and help.

It's great to read that you enjoyed the hot chocolate! It's really perfect for the beginning of the winter here in Florence, we are happy to learn that you liked it.

In case you are coming back to Florence, we will be glad if you book at Hotel Bigallo! Just send us an email and we will reply with our best offer.

Best regards from all of us,
Andre
Hotel Bigallo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Very outdated lift is your first impression leading up to a nicely decorated reception area. Upon arriving the receptionist was on the phone and continued to talk for around 5 min without any acknowledgement of my presence. There were no friendly greetings or smiles. She was rude, aggressive, overly officious and condescending and I ended up in tears ( re an apparent miscommunication between our booking agent and us) but I was treated like a lowly criminal. She also demanded the city tax up front ( whereas others were at checkout noting that the amount requested is higher than the Information in the guest pack in the room) Fortunately the other staff were not like her. The lady who organises breakfasts is delightful. I suspect it is not her fault that the breakfast is very basic. Our room though had an incredible view of the duomo. i enjoyed listening to the bells at 7 am. Our room was adjacent to reception and the breakfast room but that did not concern us like in some other reviews. We were not effected by noise or privacy concerns. The only reason we would not stay here again or recommend it is due to the insensitive, cold and callous treatment received at check in. I have never, ever been treated that badly at any hotel in the world. This woman should not deal with the public but work in a back room. We paid for wifi ( the only hotel in our one month Europe trip where we had to). Don't bother as it drops out frequently and is very slow.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Penry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffDelanzi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Bigallo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Dear Penry62,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your experience at Hotel Bigallo.

First of all, we would like to say that we are very sorry to read that you have had such a negative feeling at the check in.
Please be assured that every member of our staff is here to help and make our guests feel welcome; I have talked with the receptionist you mentioned in your review as "rude and aggressive" - who is a person who has been a member of the staff of Hotel Bigallo for many years, and she has always worked in Hotels at the front desk - and she described and explained what happened when you arrived.

The main reason of the misunderstanding that happened at the check in, and caused the situation, was that we were told that you were going to come at our Hotel with bicycles, and that you would have needed a safe storage for them. One of our colleagues wrote to the person who made the reservation for you, and explained him/her that we did not have enough space for the bikes at the Hotel, and that you would have to put the bikes in our affiliated garage at the price of € 8 per bike and per night. He/she replied that it was ok and that you would have done so. When you arrived, the receptionist explained you this, but you said that you did not know about the garage and the extra charge, and that your agent did not tell you about it. The same thing happened with the city tax - we had explained via email to the booking agent that the room rate was paid in full from their part, but the city tax had to be paid in cash at the check in, which is something we always specify to all our guests. It is our policy to ask for the payment of such tax at the check in, and that's why our receptionist asked you that when you arrived, but of course it is not our intention to force anyone to do anything, nor did it mean that we did not trust you. We always ask for the payment of the city tax at the check in. The only way we had to communicate with you prior to your arrival was through your agent, so all we could do was telling him/her all the information you would have needed for your stay.

We are sorry that you felt attacked or - as you wrote - treated like a criminal, but this has never been the receptionist's intention. Again, we would like to specify that we are very sorry that you had this impression. The receptionist is a highly regarded staff member that has never had trouble dealing with guests, so you can be sure that she had not any intention of being aggressive or condescending. She reported that you were crying and you were shaken. After having accompanied you at the check in, the receptionist spoke to your husband, and explained him that she was sorry that you reacted that way to her behavior, and that she was sorry that she had been unable to explain herself better and to clarify the reasons that stood behind her requests, since you seemed to refuse any further contact with her.

We hope to have clarified the matter and addressed all of your doubts. In case you want to contact us for any questions, you can write us an email anytime.

We would like to thank you for all the positive words you spent in your review about the rest of your stay, and we wish you all the best.
Andre
Hotel Bigallo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Clearly a hotel that offers a room with a view - a spectacular one at that. Our window looked out over the Duomo... was utterly stunning. Elegant and commodious. Hotel staff were very helpful. We arrived by car and they helped us with a garage. Everything in room was clean. And quite elegant. Obviously the hotel is extraordinarily well positioned... you can walk everywhere. A real treat.

Stayed: October 2016
2  Thank largogoldoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffDelanzi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Bigallo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Dear largogoldoni,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Bigallo. Our rooms with a view (we only have a limited number of such rooms) offer a spectacular sight of Piazza del Duomo, thanks to our location - just a few meters away from the Cathedral. As you wrote, apart from the view it offers, our Hotel is also very conveniently located, so that our guests can reach any part of the city center with a short walk.

We are glad that you liked the style of our Hotel, and we truly appreciate your words about the staff. We are always happy to help our guests, and we are proud to read that we have managed to make your stay a pleasant one.

Accessing the Florence city center by car is always difficult - also for those who live here! We offer a garage service, thanks to the agreement we have with a local garage. At the rate of € 25 per 24 hours, we can authorize the car to access the city center, and the garage provides a valet service that allows you to ask for the car to come directly at the Hotel whenever you need it, by asking it in advance.

We hope to have you back here soon! If you wish to stay with us again, just send us an email and we will be glad to reply with our best offer.

Best regards from all of us,
Andre
Hotel Bigallo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is our second visit to Florence and we were very happy to stay at Bigallo hotel again. The staff is very welcoming and they recognized us after 3 years, Location is incredible - right next to Duomo, very clean, nice breakfast. We left for 2 days to visit Pisa - hotel stored our luggage and when we were back (separate reservation) the luggage was already in our room. We also want to thank charming Ciada who with her hospitality made us feel at home.

Room Tip: Best location ever.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Irina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffDelanzi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Bigallo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Dear Irina,

Thank you very much for your amazing review!

First of all, it's always great to see guests who come back after years - to us, creating a connection with our guests really means a lot. It was a pleasure to see you again, and our staff remembered of you because it was so nice to have you with us!

Thank you very much for your very kind words about the staff and the location. In fact, we always give our best to make our guests feel at home, and we are very happy that we achieved that with you! We believe that Florence is a beautiful city and that every part of it is worth visiting: we offer genuine hospitality, so that our guests can fully enjoy the days they spend in our Hotel and in our city. We are located in the very center, and we are in a perfect place to reach any part of Florence.

You are and will always be welcome at Hotel Bigallo, feel free to come back anytime. If you wish to book a room, just send us an email and we will reply with our best offer!

Best regards from all of us,
Andre
Hotel Bigallo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews