We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
130
218
62
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
218
62
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air conditioning was great great location third floor split level beginning of june small lift the piazza del duomo bedroom window set you up for the day hear the bells central location opened the window staff was helpful and friendly short stay in florence within walking distance stay there again hotel is clean
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Location
Easy to find, central, walking distance to everything worth seeing

Feeling
Nice staff and clean room with character (ac, fresh and roomy bathroom etc.)

Bonus
A cup of coffee and a breakfast buffet as a great start to an exciting day in Florence

And all this for a reasonable price. What would you expect more?

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dusanstanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We were very happy with our stay room was clean good size. Opened the window blinds and there was the Duomo and bell tower with 50metres away. What a view. Handy to the station and just about everything. Staff helpful with good English. Would recommend

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank dfly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

BUYER BEWARE. Not only is this hotel a total dump, these people are the biggest scam artists. We booked this hotel for two adults and one child. When we arrived, we were told that they could not accommodate us because they only had a reservation for two adults. We insisted that we had booked thE hotel for 2 adults and one child and we had no other place to stay. After a call to the supervisor, they informed us that we could stay only IF OUR CHILD SLEPT WITH US IN OUR BED,BUT IT WOULD COST US AN ADDITIONAL 60 EUROS for our stay TO HAVE OUR DAUGHTER SLEEP IN OUR BED. WE SHOWED THEM A SCREEN SHOT OF OUR RESERVATION WHICH CLEARLY SHOWED THAT WE HAD BOOKED THE HOTEL FOR TWO ADULTS AND ONE CHILD...TO NO AVAIL.. They had us by the neck because we couldn't start looking for hotels at the last minute.
As you walk up to the hotel, you are met with garbage outside of it, and graffiti everywhere. At night, expect to be woken up numerous times since it is right next to and ambulance station. When it is ridiculously hot outside, don't you dare open the windows because it will automatically shut off the air conditioning.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneG2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffDelanzi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Bigallo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Joanne,

Your review reflects your opinion and we respect it, but we can not accept what you wrote. A reply from our part is absolutely required.

What we are about to write is something we already explained you in person, but since you wrote here your view on what happened, we will also reply here.

First of all: you did not book for 2 adults and 1 child. You only booked for 2 adults. We showed you your reservation on the website you used, which is Hotels.com, and we quote from the reservation page: "Guest count: 2 Adults". Furthermore, there is no way you could have booked a double room for 2 adults and 1 child at those rates, because the age of the child required a triple room and not a double. It may be a mistake of the website, it may be a mistake from your part; we do not know this. What is certain is that you did not book for 2 adults and 1 child.

In your review you mentioned a screenshot for your reservation, but what you sent us as "proof" was NOT a screenshot of your reservation: it was a screenshot of OUR website (NOT HOTELS.COM), taken on the day you arrived, in which you just selected "2 adults and 1 child" and checked the availability of a room (which by the way was NOT available). It was not even a reservation, just the home page of the website with a selection of "2 adults and 1 child".

We just don't see how a screenshot of the home page of a different website can prove that you booked for 3 people when your actual reservation, on the website you used, showed only 2 adults.

About the graffiti and the garbage: how can we be responsible for walls and streets outside our Hotel? The Municipality of Florence runs a public cleaning service, and its effectiveness is not something we can control or change. We keep our Hotel thoroughly clean and we do not understand why you define it as a "dump". The cleanliness of our rooms is constantly mentioned in every review as a very positive aspect of the Hotel.

About the air conditioning: if it was hot outside and you had air conditioning to keep the room cool, what's the purpose of opening the windows? And, when the windows are open, what's the point of having the a/c on? Our air conditioning system indeed stops when windows are opened: it's a way of saving power and try to impact the environment as little as possible, avoiding a waste of energy (such as air conditioning running with open windows).

We can NOT accept in any way to be called scam artists, because we received a reservation for 2 adults and we prepared such a room, in no way we did scam you and we did not make mistakes while processing your reservation.

We think we have clearly explained what happened for those who read your review and our reply.
We remain at your disposal for any further questions or remarks.

Best regards
Andre
Hotel Bigallo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

The staff was friendly and accommodating. The location was wonderful and the breakfast buffet was lovely. The only issue with this hotel was that the AC in our room was too warm. During the night, our room was warmer than the hotel lobby. There was nothing the hotel could do to remedy this issue, because they could not switch us to a new room. But they made sure to keep the AC running while we were gone, so the room would not get too hot. Would recommend and would stay at Hotel Bigallo again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank helmsmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

So close to the Duomo...very helpful staff, Nicolo at reception and Rosi in charge of breakfast, bright smile to start your day.room comfortable..would recommend
.the old fashioned lift adds to the character..

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelma142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews