We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico!”
Review of Hotel Colomba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colomba
Ranked #73 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
Reviewed 9 August 2007

I stayed at the Colomba for two nights in July with six other guests, two adults and four teen-age girls. I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. Signora Rosanna and Signor Michele made sure everything was perfect and it sure was. The two rooms that we had were spotless and the bathrooms sparkled. We had a delicious breakfast every morning, with high quality items, like the fresh pastries and excellent juice selection. The location of this quaint hotel is fantastic, just a short walk to the Duomo, the San Lorenzo market and the Uffizi. The Accademia is just behind the corner from the hotel.
The proprietors had a few dinner recommendations and we enjoyed dinner at the San Zenobi and the Grillo Parlante restaurants (just behind another corner of the hotel). But the best part was our lunches, travelling with a group of seven people, we usually purchased deli meats, cheeses and breads from a local store. Signora Rosanna, gave us the use of her facilities for our sandwich making, and a place for us to have our lunches in her breakfast room. It made our lives a lot easier and the hotel owners went well beyond what was expected of them.
I am Italian and I stayed at many other places in Italy and I can assure that you are not going to find a better deal for the money other than at La Colomba.
I know that we will return.
Grazie Rosanna and Michele!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Frilo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    366
    87
    20
    6
See reviews for
354
498
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2007

The Hotel Colomba is the perfect little hotel in the heart of Florence. The owners were very friendly and so helpful, it really made our stay. We were so pleased to have a quiet, air conditioned room with wireless internet in the heart of Florence. We had all of the conveniences that we could have wanted and when we stepped out the door, we were in the heart of the city. We have spent three weeks travelling around Italy and France with two very young children and this was absolutely the best place that we stayed. Thanks to Rosanne and Michael from Maurizio and family! Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Location and Helpful Owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank familyltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2007

I stayed at Hotel Colomba for 3 nights at the beginning of August in 2007 with my girlfriend and we both loved it. The hotel is a very good location, easily walkable from the train station. Our room was very nice, the room was a very good size and it was very clean. We had a nice size bathroom and shower, wifi, mini fridge and tv.

The hotel staff was very helpful, providing maps and directions to all the sights and was always a friendly sight upon our return from sightseeing.

The location of this hotel is very good, minutes to the Duomo and minutes to all the othre great sights. We walked from our rooms to everything, had no need for taxi, bus, etc.

The breakfast was good, a mix of breads, cereals, eggs, yogurts, ham, cheese etc. They also make individual drinks (cappucino, espresso, coffee, tea) for everyone during breakfast.

Next time I am in Florence, I know where I will stay.

  • Liked — Room, Location, Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CubsWin_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2007

To find a quadruple room in Florence is not an easy task in the first place.
We arrived at Colomba and found an hotel far above our expectations! Not only the location is perfect.
This is a family with serviceinstincts beyond anything one can dream of; from serving us an extra early wonderful breakfast ( due to an early morning flight) to mailing us our forgotten keys,wallet and stuff to Sweden! The fantastic Rosanna would not even accept us to pay for package and postage!
Throughout the years we have stayed at various places in Florence but this surely beats them all!

Vi saremo sempre grati!!
Martin Andersson, Pia Svorono, Fabio + Gabriele.
Sweden

  • Liked — The Atmosphere
  • Disliked — The street outside
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mezzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2007

After arriving in Italy and walking from the train station (which is only about 10 minutes) we arrived in front of Hotel Colomba. This is a GREAT location, only about 5 minutes walk to the Duomo and Uffizi. Lots of great tourist shopping around the area. My son and I stayed at this hotel when we first arrived in Italy. I can tell you the warm welcome was wonderful after 5 stressful days of traveling and other terrible hotels. Rooms are much bigger and cleaner than any that we had previously stayed at, and some were $500 per night. When I asked Rosanna if she knew of someplace close by where I could buy something she immediately went into her personal quarters and brought me the item I was going to go buy, at no charge. I was so happy to have booked this hotel. The breakfast is more substantial then any other hotel in Italy (or all of Europe for that matter) that we stayed. Even though we only stayed one night we were very comfortable and happy. Thank you for making the start of our Italy segment at wonderful one.

  • Liked — Rosanna, the owner
  • Disliked — There was nothing that I didn't like about this hotel
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mrsdaysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#88 of 412 in Florence
389 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#56 of 412 in Florence
498 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 412 in Florence
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 412 in Florence
785 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#66 of 412 in Florence
542 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#40 of 412 in Florence
2,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Property: Hotel Colomba
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Florence
#65 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#74 Business Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): $120 - $287
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. The hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. Located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing