We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Small Hotel with Beautiful Grounds”
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #75 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

For a trip to Florence and Tuscany, we agonized on whether to stay in a hotel in the heart Florence, outside Florence, or further in the Tuscany countryside. We ended up staying 2 nights at Villa La Vedetta and then another 2 nights in Colle Val D'Elsa. The Villa La Vedetta was a wonderful hotel and location. It was removed from the hustle/bustle and noise of Florence. There was a campground nearby but this wasn't an issue. The Hotel has a shuttle bus to/from a location near Ponte Vecchio - it took a few tries to understand exact location of the pickup spot; good to coordinate this in advance. The grounds are very special as the mornings and evenings sitting on the terrace over-looking Florence were without comparison. We enjoyed looking at the beautfiul pool, below the terrace and one of the restaurants, but unfortunately could not fit a swim into our schedule. The breakfasts were wonderful and we had an excellent lunch and dinner at the restaurant as well. We had 2 suites - the Belle Vista Suite and a suite across the hall. Both appeared to have been renovated in the past few years and were spacious. As to other reviewers, there are many hotels in Europe where shower takes a bit of skill because of the required handicap-accessibility. One evening, there was a birthday party on the terrrace and, after one request, the management was sure to make sure the noise died down at a reasonable time. Laura, who met and coordinated us on arrival, was excellent. We would definitely stay again, probably longer, and consider this as a base for trips to the Tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 227 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

The estate is beautiful and you cannot beat the view of Florence from the terrace, but I cannot give a higher rating for this hotel because of our poor start to our 3 night stay. We were put in a handicap access room without being informed of such beforehand. The toilet was unusually high from the floor, the faucets only worked with motion sensor (like public bathrooms), and the shower had no clear separation from the rest of the bathroom floor. That wasn't the worst of it. The door and window face directly onto the driveway. The drapes had to be closed for any privacy. As this was the only source of natural light for the room, I felt like I was in a dungeon. To make matters worse, I could hear every vehicle pull up and out of the driveway along with the constant slamming of the car doors. Complaints were made three times to change to another room, but the manager was less than sympathetic. She simply said that there was another room available for 100 euros more per night, which I was unwilling to pay at this juncture. The only good experience we had from this hotel was due to the bellman/shuttle van driver/all around handy man, Ayman. He was so delightful that our anger with the manager melted away. This man is a gem!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask where the room is located before they start taking you and your luggage to your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Solegirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Customer ,
thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor ! I personal apologize for the little issues and concerns about your stay .
I would like to point out few things as follows :
The room you were allocated is a regular room equipped with some facilities suitable for handicapped people . The Italinan law ,accordind to Eurpean Community, requires for Hotels ,restaurnts etc. to have facilities also for Handicpped no "only for them" . This is ,obviuosly to avoid any type discremacy about sucha terrible human problem . The room is regular authorized for all users and non restrincions on use is evident .
I am the Hotel manager and you may have contact my reservation dept. manager ,who is a SHE, and she has offered and alterantive solution that you did not like .

All our "Romantic rooms " are located in our "Villetta Romantica" ,see our full descrption on our official site, and when possible we up grade with no extra fees or apply a supplement .

During your stay the Hotel was fully booked and no free upgrade was possible .

Thank you very much for your time and attention

Roberto Boccacelli
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Villa La Vedetta. The staff were just great, the room was clean and comfortable. However, we were allocated a room in the garden annexe which had no view and I had booked the hotel for the lovely view back over Florence so this was disappointing. Also it was on the ground floor and was obviously a room adapted for disabled guests which we (thankfully) did not need and some of the adaptations made life a bit tricky (the unusually high toilet for example). There were a few issues with oour room around maintenance (the toilet flush did not work properly) which never got fixed although on our last night they did offer to change our room which seemed a bit pointless. I think the description of the hotel underplays its distance from the main Florence city centre and it took a bit of organising (a long walk down and up a steep hill or the hotel shuttle bus) to get to the main city.It is true that they woud come and pick us up if we called the hotel which was a great service. The hotel is very convenient though if you have a car and want to avoid the hassle of the traffic restrictions in the city centre. We did have a car so it was convenient from that aspect. Overall it was a good experience with just a few niggles.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel facing north or west
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank historygirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Customer,
thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor ! We are happy that your stay with us was pleasant and confortable .

Roberto Boccacelli
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The hotel has a stunning location but the decor is tired and the restaurant average. Poor value for money. We shall not be returning

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Customer,
thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor . I apologize for the your concerns and issues about your stay with us ! I will guarantee my personal attention on your notes and will defintely sort all this out !
Thank you very much for your attention

Roberto Boccacelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Hotel was beautiful, small and pretty with a gorgeous swimming pool. Rooms were cute and romantic - the gardens were immaculate and beautiful. Best part was the roof terrace on the top of the hotel which gives you the best view of Florence - better than the michelangelo viewpoint which is rated the best view of Florence. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We went and had dinner in the 4 seasons hotel and went to go check out their place, but from what we saw i much preferred villa la vedetta - it's a boutique hotel, the pool was better and prettier, we had the most amazing view from our bedroom - (the 4 seasons had no view at all), there was a big stunning white terrace which you can eat and have drinks on before you head out for dinner. Just stunning! Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a romantic trip to Florence!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFromage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberto b, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Guest ,
thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor ! You have made a perfect picture of our Hotel and our services and we thank you for it ! We do all our best to ensure all our customers all the attention possible and tom read such good comment is our best satisfaction .

Roberto Boccacelli
Guest Relation Manager
Hotel Villa La Vedetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 411 in Florence
884 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#78 of 411 in Florence
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Cora
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,031 reviews
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 411 in Florence
418 reviews
Il Salviatino
#86 of 411 in Florence
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#47 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $273 - $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing