We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leonardo Gelateria-Caffe

Leonardo Gelateria-Caffe
Ranked #41 of 216 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: San Lorenzo
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

So this place was recommended to me by a friend who had visited Florence earlier and as claimed by him it did turn out to be the best gelato I've ever tried. Its not very close to the center of the city but pretty close to the hostel I was staying at (Plus Florence). There are some really good places next to the main attractions as well but this is a must try as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AsimAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    36
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Fantastic value, great gelato, and the garden in the back makes this a true gem of a gelateria in Florence. I got the dark chocolate and mint- YUM!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolemarie422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this gem on a walk. Flavoursome gelato was enjoyed. Service friendly. Courtyard garden, which we were invited to use, was a quiet and welcoming retreat in which to savour or gelato. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“More than you'd expect - quality, ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

From the exterior, this Gelateria might look quite ordinary. Two things differentiate it. One - really fantastic gelato!! my wife, kids and I sample liberally as we wander Europe and this is among the best. Good flavor selection, generous portion and great flavor/taste. Secondly is the delightful oasis that exists in the garden at the back of the shop. If you need a moment away from the hustle and bustle of Florence, this space is attractive, quiet, comfortable and a nice place to enjoy your fantastic gelato.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The hidden garden out the back makes the great value and interesting flavours even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Some outside the box gelato flavours, at only 1.50-2.00 for two scoops, it's nice not to get fleeced. The little garden oout the back to relax in while you enjoy the flavours and some espresso makes it a little oasis in the bustling heart of Florence.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leonardo Gelateria-Caffe also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Leonardo Gelateria-Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing