We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare find in the heart of Florence”
Review of La Casa del Garbo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa del Garbo
Ranked #33 of 661 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2011

From the moment we arrived in Piazza della Signoria to the moment we left, we felt very fortunate to have booked this B&B. The location is amazing and within easy walking distance to almost anything you want to do in Florence.
The rooms were a really nice size, with comfortable beds, large bathrooms and FREE Wifi which allowed us to use our iPhones to plan our day and to find restaurants for dinner. We didn't have a room overlooking the Piazza, but you are in Florence, how much time are you going to spend in your room anyway? The rooms also had a mini-bar/fridge so we were able to store water and keep it cold for when we went out walking.
The staff in the office was extremely helpful, whether it was to book dinner reservations or reserve a time for the Uffizi or the Galleria dell'Accademia, which helped us avoid the long lines. The breakfast was really good, offering a variety of pastry, meats, cheese, fresh fruit and perhaps the best melon I have eaten in my entire life. The men who worked the kitchen were so helpful in the morning - they replaced anything if food ran out, they made fresh cappucino and provided us with bottled water that we took with us for the day.
I hope that one day when we have the fortune to make it back to Florence this place is still here and still amazing. If anyone I know is going to Florence I will definitely recommend La Casa del Garbo.

Note, if you can't walk up or carry your luggage up the stairs, this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaH1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 190 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

La Casa del Garbo offers 5 different suites; we stayed at Suite Lorenzo which has 1 living room with double bed plus sofa, 1 kitchen and 1 room with a single sofa-bed. This is an ideal accommodation for 3 guests. Location is great, Piazza della Signoria, 5-10min walk to all main sites. Italian breakfast is included.
If you want to avoid being charged abusive prices in restaurants and bars in central Florence try to stay outside tourist areas. Some good places with decent restaurants/prices can be found on the other side of the river Arno which is basically 10min walk from Casa del Garbo.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chippy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Five stars from beginning to end! Spacious clean rooms. great location, A+++ staff. I'd recommend La Casa del Garbo without hesitation. Perfect in every way. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattyR424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

we travel a lot and this has to be one of the best 'value for money places we have stayed in. The room was huge; the bathroom large and well fitted; the decor was beautiful; breakfast and coffee very good (though would have killed for an egg!); service consistently warm and helpful. Location couldn't be better. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theedge106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed a whole week at La Casa Del Garbo and did not regret it at all. We really loved the place. The location was just perfect ! Every important monument is in short walkable distance. Staff was very friendly and supportive. The rooms are very tastefully decorated. Our room was facing la Piazza della Signoria and we had a wonderful view - we could not wished for a better one. Having a view like this you of course have to take into account that it is not the quietest place on earth. But we did not care, closed the windows and slept very well. We also had the chance to enjoy the opera "La Traviata" from our room which was performed on the Piazza at one evening. It was wonderful.
We definitely can recommend this B&B. We cannot support some negative reviews on this site. Of course you have to take into account that it is a B&B and not a hotel. So you cannot expect to have 24-hrs reception or full hotel service. (Note: there is free Wifi.)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina61_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
#43 of 661 in Florence
626 reviews
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#12 of 661 in Florence
1,019 reviews
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#26 of 661 in Florence
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
B&B San Remigio
B&B San Remigio
#39 of 661 in Florence
158 reviews
San Marco
Antica Dimora Johlea
Antica Dimora Johlea
#27 of 661 in Florence
450 reviews
Santa Croce
B&B La Casa dei Tintori
B&B La Casa dei Tintori
#7 of 661 in Florence
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Garbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Garbo

Address: Piazza della Signoria 8 | Corner with Via dei Magazzini, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 661 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $142 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Garbo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa del Garbo**** A home in the heart of the art of Florence Florence is a city that amazes you every day while remaining the same. It boasts a wonderful succession of artistic vestiges and characteristic corners that little by little will surprise you as you stroll the streets of its center. The historical accommodation, La Casa del Garbo, is an elegant Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of the Florentine historical center, in Piazza della Signoria. It is right in front of Palazzo Vecchio, a few meters from the world famous Galleria degli Uffizi, near Piazza del Duomo and Ponte Vecchio. Every day that you spend in one of the suites of La Casa del Garbo, you will breathe the charm of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your La Casa del Garbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Garbo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing