We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The integrity of everyone I encountered deeply impressed me.”
Review of Hotel Silla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Silla
Ranked #63 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Most of the people who work here have been there for 10-20 and it shows. The location was wonderful. It was easy walking distance to everything including the Piazzale Michelangiolo. The security is good. I left a pair of glasses there and they sent them to me at no charge. The rooms were fine but they could use some updating. Colors are a bit drab but that's the only criticism. They were very clean and quiet and I loved my stay there. Would happily return.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kmcciii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 633 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

Great Hotel in Great Location and room and breakfast was good and the staff was always very helpful! Will stay again!!

Room Tip: Go to Zeb restaurant a block away for lunch....best food in Florence!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sullieye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Out of the 3 hotels we stayed at on our trip to Italy, this one was by far the worst. It was completely out of date. The flat screen TV mounted on the wall was completely out of place with the rest of the furniture. The bathroom was clean, but tiny and it was very noisy in the morning starting at about 5am as the staff prepared breakfast. it was also south of most of the sights in Downtown Florence, but since my husband and I are active people we did not mind the walk to get to the downtown area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrissyKolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Silla. The rooms are nicely appointed and very clean though a bit small. There are great lovely windows that just spell Tuscany. The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant. The breakfast is lovely and is offered on a breezy outdoor rooftop patio. Very nice. It is not located in the thick of things (which we find great) but is an easy walk to all the sites. The elevators are very small and we just preferred to walk up the stairs. Free use of their laptop which is nice, too. We would stay here again and would recommend this to friends. Important tip: book early for a GREAT price. We paid half of the going rate by purchasing more than 1/2 year in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My wife and I were on a 9-day tour of Italy and the tour started in Florence. We arrived a day early and spent our first night at Hotel Silla on the left bank of the Arno River (a relatively short taxi ride from the airport which cost 25 Euros). It is located in a more quiet neighborhood of Florence (San Niccolo neighborhood) but within easy walking distance of all the major attractions and much less crowded with tourists. It is only a stones throw from the Arno River and a 5-minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio.

We had a room on the second floor (which is considered the first floor in Italy) on the back side of the hotel that overlooked a narrow street. While there was some noise on the street from time to time during the night it wasn't distracting (although they do come through with the garbage truck pretty early in the morning).

The hotel clerk was very smartly dressed and handled our check-in quickly (we had made a 1-night reservation several months early) and showed us to our room (the front desk area is very nicely appointed and is on the second floor....there is an elevator if you don't want to drag your luggage up the stairs from street level).

Our room was a double with one large window that had wooden shutters. The room was small but very adequate for our needs. It has a television but you needed to know some serious Italian to understand the programs (but we weren't there to watch TV). There was a small safe in the wall of the room. The room was very clean. The bed linen was clean and fresh, but the bed was a tad bit firm for us. The bathroom was also very clean and had a bidet along with the toilet. The shower stall was very small (I'm 6 feet tall and wouldn't have wanted to be much taller than that, or very wide) but clean.

There were indoor and outdoor breakfast areas that were both very elegant. We were there on September 17 and the weather was great so they were serving breakfast on the outdoor patio that morning (it overlooked a small tree-lined piazza and the Arno River). They had a wide variety of food to choose from: cheese, salami, yogurt, granola, eggs you could hard boil in their nifty egg boiler, bread for toasting (or not), cappuccino or hot chocolate if you wanted, orange juice (regular or blood orange), milk, and pastries. It was a very nice spread.

You can't go wrong staying at Hotel Silla in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forester67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#156 of 409 in Florence
2,040 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#38 of 409 in Florence
836 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 409 in Florence
2,817 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
834 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#45 of 409 in Florence
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silla

Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Florence
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $120 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silla 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Silla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing