We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,613)
Filter reviews
1,613 results
Traveller rating
917
562
96
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
917
562
96
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arno river ponte vecchio great location lovely terrace within walking distance quiet neighborhood an easy walk restaurants and bars minute walk lovely hotel pitti palace hotel is located pastries uffizi gallery our room was spacious nice breakfast spent nights
Filter
Updating list...
815 - 820 of 1,613 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Great Hotel in Great Location and room and breakfast was good and the staff was always very helpful! Will stay again!!

Room Tip: Go to Zeb restaurant a block away for lunch....best food in Florence!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sullieye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Out of the 3 hotels we stayed at on our trip to Italy, this one was by far the worst. It was completely out of date. The flat screen TV mounted on the wall was completely out of place with the rest of the furniture. The bathroom was clean, but tiny and it was very noisy in the morning starting at about 5am as the staff prepared breakfast. it was also south of most of the sights in Downtown Florence, but since my husband and I are active people we did not mind the walk to get to the downtown area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrissyKolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Silla. The rooms are nicely appointed and very clean though a bit small. There are great lovely windows that just spell Tuscany. The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant. The breakfast is lovely and is offered on a breezy outdoor rooftop patio. Very nice. It is not located in the thick of things (which we find great) but is an easy walk to all the sites. The elevators are very small and we just preferred to walk up the stairs. Free use of their laptop which is nice, too. We would stay here again and would recommend this to friends. Important tip: book early for a GREAT price. We paid half of the going rate by purchasing more than 1/2 year in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My wife and I were on a 9-day tour of Italy and the tour started in Florence. We arrived a day early and spent our first night at Hotel Silla on the left bank of the Arno River (a relatively short taxi ride from the airport which cost 25 Euros). It is located in a more quiet neighborhood of Florence (San Niccolo neighborhood) but within easy walking distance of all the major attractions and much less crowded with tourists. It is only a stones throw from the Arno River and a 5-minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio.

We had a room on the second floor (which is considered the first floor in Italy) on the back side of the hotel that overlooked a narrow street. While there was some noise on the street from time to time during the night it wasn't distracting (although they do come through with the garbage truck pretty early in the morning).

The hotel clerk was very smartly dressed and handled our check-in quickly (we had made a 1-night reservation several months early) and showed us to our room (the front desk area is very nicely appointed and is on the second floor....there is an elevator if you don't want to drag your luggage up the stairs from street level).

Our room was a double with one large window that had wooden shutters. The room was small but very adequate for our needs. It has a television but you needed to know some serious Italian to understand the programs (but we weren't there to watch TV). There was a small safe in the wall of the room. The room was very clean. The bed linen was clean and fresh, but the bed was a tad bit firm for us. The bathroom was also very clean and had a bidet along with the toilet. The shower stall was very small (I'm 6 feet tall and wouldn't have wanted to be much taller than that, or very wide) but clean.

There were indoor and outdoor breakfast areas that were both very elegant. We were there on September 17 and the weather was great so they were serving breakfast on the outdoor patio that morning (it overlooked a small tree-lined piazza and the Arno River). They had a wide variety of food to choose from: cheese, salami, yogurt, granola, eggs you could hard boil in their nifty egg boiler, bread for toasting (or not), cappuccino or hot chocolate if you wanted, orange juice (regular or blood orange), milk, and pastries. It was a very nice spread.

You can't go wrong staying at Hotel Silla in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forester67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This hotel is perfectly located. A very short walk to the bridge to the other side of the river and also well-located for a "hike" up to the Piazzale Michelangelo. Parking was convenient and the staff was very friendly and helpful (even helping us make reservations at the Accademia several weeks in advance). The only downside is that our room was tiny - even smaller than tiny rooms we had in Paris. But, of course, you're not in the room much! Definitely recommend.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank johnhoboken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews