We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fattoria San Donato(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villasanpaolo(San Gimignano)
US$262
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bel Soggiorno(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Pescille(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$99
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A La Casa dei Potenti(San Gimignano)
US$82
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Agriturismo Cesani(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Antico Casolare(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
96
35
9
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
35
9
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfarm housefamily run b bpool areadirt trackbruschettahome cookedtuscan landscapepleasant staymac and cheeseeach morningbed and breakfastfrancescoportoapartmenttownflorencewine
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the sort of place you want to keep to your self. Because nothing should change. But of course I wish the owners well and they should earn a living so therefore this review.
Affordable beautiful B&B set in the most gorgeous Tuscan landscape with just a few rooms - all of them kept meticulously clean - add to it a large pool and views forever. You can walk up to San Gimignano in the evening after the crowds have left and have the city all to your self. And during the day lounge away by the pool or in the large wellkept garden- enjoying lunch on the terrace - home cooked by the Mama of the house. Simply paradise.
This was our second time here - we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikolai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

It maybe that we got unlucky with our experience with this B&B, and so there are a number of issues you should be wary of when choosing this place. Our experience was terrible, not even the view was enough to bump this up to average as there were a number of other places and options in the area with similar views.

The initial impression of the room was that it is really more sparse and small than the photos indicated. The bathroom is tiny! The shower even smaller, to the point that it was a real drag to even think about having a shower.

We chose this place in the end because it had a great view and it has air-conditioned rooms, and we had read quite a lot about it being very hot at that time of year in Tuscanny. The aircon did not work when we arrived early evening, and the hosts were more interested in getting home then being concerned about checking and fixing our aircon. Only when we persisted did they do something about it, and it really only made a very marginal difference, not worth the hunt to find a place that had aircon. The hosts attitude was 'why do you even need aircon, just open the window.' My first thoughts were 'why do you even advertise that you have aircon and charge for it?"

The cleanliness was terrible, I mean terrible!! The floor always felt dirty, and a band aid that came off my heal in the shower on the first night stay there for all five nights of our stay! I left it there as a test to see if they would remove it after it will still there the first day, so this gives you an indication of just how thoroughly they clean the bathroom i.e., not at all!

Our room was incredibly noisy on the nights they serve dinner as our room was right above and next to the kitchen with a little tile hall way to amplify the noise even more. The second night we were there the hosts held a family dinner in the facility in the common area and no guests were invited. The kitchen was in full swing until almost midnight and made it impossible for us to sleep!! On the fourth night, and the night before we were getting up at 6am to go to Florence they held a dinner for guests. We did not participate as we had been to a butchery for lunch and had eaten and drunk all afternoon so wanted an early night before heading to Florence, this was impossible!!

I sent a Whatsapp message to the host saying that our room was way to noisy on dinner nights and this was the exact response he sent me at 10:23pm (not 10pm), copied straight from Whatsapp:

[10:23 PM, 7/29/2017] Francesco Tuscany B&B: It is only 10 pm and all our guests are very happy when we make dinner. Also you are in a B&B, which naturally runs in a House where people have dinner and live . In italy noise is after midnight.

Note that this is NOT someone's house, but a converted house set up solely for the purpose of making money from tourists. They use it for private family functions but none of the family live there. And I will NEVER choose a place that is noisy until after midnight every night, why would you want to stay in a place where you cant sleep??

This listing is also for multiple locations, and they all use the swimming pool at the location we stayed at. My first impression of the pool on the evening we arrived was awesome, small but inviting and a great view of San Gimignano. My happy impression was short lived the next day as it seems this pool is shared with up to five different locations and if you do not get in early, becomes impossible to get a chair to relax around the pool and enjoy the location. So this almost completely negated the pool and view as our room had no view.

Don't bother with the breakfast, maybe just for a bit of sustenance before you get going. There was no fruit provided, and most other items are packaged goods with few fresh options. Coffee was terrible.

Maybe there are some good rooms and experiences to be had at this place, but ours was certainly not one of them.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco R, Proprietario at B&B Ponte a Nappo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Sean
on you nice story you forget to write about your wife send back the clining lady 4 times from 10am to 2 pm... the small pool as you writhe is 15x7 meter like 105 square meter.
The rooms are not dirty!!!! and it wos'nt at your arrival!!!! (Otherwise you would have claimed immediately) If after 1 night of your stay the room it is dirty and don't let us get in to clean 4 times i think the problem it is not our quality of service!!!!
B&B it is not 5 star hotel with 24 hour room services , tropical fruit etc etc as you pretend.

About Breakfast do you know what it is it HACCP???!!! it is igenic roules that we need to apply, the products "should be packaged" for your SAFETY!!!!!!! so before to accuse learn the local roules of the country are you visitinig!!! If on your country you have dinner 6pm and go to sleep at 8pm you need to figure it out thath you are not on your country.
What we do if on the room next to you ther is a mexican or italian (for example) that he wont to do party in the room until 2 am and you want to sleep at 8pm???!!! who i should make happy???!! or unhappy???!!
what we do ???!!! we are in italy so noise it is permitted until midnihght
so 11:30 pm stop the noise. If you visit a country you have to understand that it has its own uses and customs to which you have to adapt.
we can always do better and that is what we try to do every day.

to resume you was in the room in the side of me and you send me an sms or a wapp to communicate with me, i think it is funny!!! come in person and talk!!!! to write nice story lake this is easy specially on the social media!!! Live the real Life!!!!!
Thank you and good luck!!!




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

There were many other B&B that were better value and had better reviews but we simply chose this place because it had a stunning view of San Gimignano from the pool. Owners are not personable or helpful and give you a feeling that they got no time for you. The staff were very brash and loud when they were preparing for breakfast or cleaning. And it still doesn't mean that they're doing proper cleaning, our shower booth wasn't cleaned for 5 days and their supposedly daily room cleaning is done in 5 minutes. Bed and bedding are uncomfortable. Their house rules say no party in the premise but one night the owner's family were having dinner till late night making all the loud noises in the kitchen and when we complained they just brushed off by saying in Italian B&B the noise would last even after midnight. We had 2 sleepless nights due to their dinner parties and every morning we were awakened by kitchen noises. We should've gone somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco R, Proprietario at B&B Ponte a Nappo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

This is the Wife of the riview write from Sean.
We don't clean your room because you don't let us get in several time!!!!!!!
be onest and wright true things specially Without omitting important details.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Positive:We stayed at this b&b for 2 days. The location is nice since you're inside the city walls right on the Piazza. The B&B has also the pool area which you have to go to my car five minutes away.

Negative: this depends on how you think. If you arrive by car Think about that you have to leave the car outside the walls and there is paid parking. Of course it's an old city so it is understandable. Think about not take all the luggage with you just have a small bag with the necessary. Also we liked the location the room and the service at breakfast we were disappointed as guests to be asked to take our garbage with us when leaving the pool. We asked our host kindly where there is The garbage bin inside the facility and the host told us to take it with us. The nearest garbage bin was one kilometer away so lucky we had the car. Also the room could have been taken better care of. It only had plastic bags which are disposable and then they didn't get changed.

I would've given this Bed and breakfast for points if it wouldn't have been for all the negative things that happened.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Ernesto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The B&B Ponte a Nappo is jut a delight. The highlight for us was the pool and garden area and the amazing views of San Gimignano. The hotel is very quiet and peaceful but close to the town. Breakfast is served by the pool each morning, however there is a dining area within the building for if the weather is not so good. Breakfast is typical Italian fare, nice quality cereals, ham and cheese, some bruschetta and lots of cake! Coffee was good and they will cook you eggs at a small extra cost – 3 euros. Reception is, slightly oddly, in a separate building at the front of the house. On arrival we waited outside on the patio area until someone alerted Carla and she came to look after us. Carla is a delightful host, she speaks little or no English but that doesn’t stop her from chatting, if you want to practice your Italian then Carla is the lady! Our room was one of three or four which are accessed via their own entrance and staircase, there was no access to the main areas of the house which presumably the family occupy and the pool area seemed to be the only public area. This was not a problem for us, the weather was wonderful and we just loved the outside areas. Ponte a Nappo is a small agriturismo located as you might expect down a dirt track. We didn’t venture to walk into San Gim as it wouldn’t have been an easy 30 minute stroll especially in the heat. We drove up to town and parked in one of the car parks (approx 4 euros), however, a little tip, if the car parks are full, there is space at the top of the dirt track for a few cars so you can park there and walk the further 10 minutes to town on proper pavements! Our room was comfortable enough though the dark furnishings did make it feel a little gloomy unlike the website photos and it was on the south side of the building so we had to keep the curtains closed all the time to keep the heat out. We were out most of the time so it wasn’t a problem, though I recommend you request a room overlooking the pool. The shower and bathroom facilities were good. We also had a salad lunch by the pool one day and it was very good and substantial. I would recommend Ponte a Nappo and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Beebsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews