We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,340)
Filter reviews
2,340 results
Traveller rating
946
921
309
112
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
946
921
309
112
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingplenty of sunbedsthe busswimming poolrestaurant staffhead waiterlovely hotelold citygreat poolminute walkreception staffsiena centrehire carsuperior roomeach eveningquiet locationoverlooking siena
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 2,340 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Garden Hotel at the end of June and had a most enjoyable stay. The hotel is in an enviable position overlooking the city of Siena and is surrounded by a lovely garden with mature trees. There is also a relaxing pool area which is perfect for a cool dip after a hot day. The hotel itself is an Italian villa with painted ceilings and furniture to match.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and we ate in the al fresco restaurant on three occasions. The restaurant manager and the barman were particularly good fun making sure we were well looked after. It was my birthday on one of the evenings and they made it extra special. The food of course was excellent too.

Thank you we would definitely stay again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Hotel Garden is a wonderful, beautiful location with a relaxing place poolside. It is tucked away from the traffic, providing a sanctuary from the busyness of life. The staff is helpful and caring. We enjoyed all the amenities and Robert in the dining room is the absolute best!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Philomena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile



Set in a lovely park, the hotel is 25 mn walk from the center of Siena. That is a real treat.
The problem is that the hotel itself is very tired. We were in a deluxe room in the annex. The room itself was a good size but it was quite dark and fittings and finishes were dated. The bathroom was ok size wise but the plumbing was easily 15 years out of date: impossible to have a shower (in the bath) without flooding the bathroom. The swimming pool was a good size but the red tile surounds have a strangely cold war feel about them and the necessity to exchange your "towel card" for a towel every 2 days only, was dispirintgly untrusting. The other thing that drove us bonkers was the wifi: you needed to login ( very long numbers for both user and password) every time you spent a few minutes away from the internet. Breakfast was disappointing. And not cheap. But the staff was very nice and attentive.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank radiolondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Winding down after a wedding we chose this hotel for proximity to Siena centre. I walked it once and it was not that far.

Room was OK. Pool area very relaxing. Bar and dining above expectations and good value. All staff very professional and attentive. We would book again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Good bits: Most of the staff were friendly, some decidedly grumpy. Room and bathroom very clean. Good range of toiletries. We were "upgraded" to "superior" room but it was quite small but had a good view. Terrace dining area is pretty. Fresh ground coffee. Evening meal good quality if pricey and limited choice. Good range of free bar snacks when you purchase drinks but again the wine and beer are quite costly for the area. Good range of breakfast pastries made in house (if you like lots of sugar and loads of carbs at breakfast). Reasonably close to town and good bus service.

Bad bits: The pool is a waste of time. I love to swim before breakfast and dinner but it was only open 09:00 - 19:00 so swim before breakfast is impossible, as breakfast finishes at 10:00. At 5:00 there is still too much sun on the pool to swim comfortably. Smoking was permitted round the pool, as was drinking (wine and beer bottles and glasses - not plastic). Pool was not very clean. Breakfast was poor, no real healthy choices. Very fatty greasy bacon which was COLD!!! Scrambled eggs needed to be quarried they were so rubbery. First day there were tinned peaches in 3 of the containers and prunes in the other. Next day there was fruit salad (tinned!). This is Tuscany, I expected fresh sliced melon, cherries, grapes, pineapple etc. there were some tired looking apples and oranges. The Latte from the machine was cold. No skim or semi-skim milk. No coffee in room (when I asked at Reception, I was told that Italians don't do instant coffee, but I've had it in Rome, Lucca, Firenze and Lake Como) and no complimentary water. If you dine outside there is always the problem of smoking. Didn't appear to be designated smoking area or smoke free area.

All in all 4 star prices for 2- 3 star facilities

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LancsLass211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneGardenSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Dear LancsLass211,

thank you for the recent stay at the Garden in Siena, I would like to thank also for the review but not for the score given to our Hotel and services.

The pool is not a waste of time..... is open and guarded by lifeguard (couldn't be open without) from 09.00 am to 07.00 pm. Are 10h of service for all the Hotel Guests

Smoking is not permitted in the hotel rooms, in the hotel lobby... in all the indoors areas, outdoor I think people should do what they like (they are in Holiday to...)

In the Superior rooms you can find a kettle with complimentary teas and herbal teas all complimentary....

All prices of food, wine and spirits are at disposal of our guest on bar/restaurant menues, also you can ask before, everibody here is very welcoming and they will let you know all information you need.

Anyway, my suggestion for the next time if you would like to come back is booking in advance a Superior room directly from our booking office and not the lowest category rate online.... You are just disappointed because we let you pay for the room upgrade.

Hope to Guest you again in the Future
Our Best Regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli & the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews