We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Gradale

Gradale
Reserve with
Gradale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 842 Restaurants in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$47
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The simplicity of the home-made pasta, the fresh and genuine flavours from Umbria make special the cuisine of our restaurants. Once seated in the cozy dining room or in the enchanting covered terrace, admiring a wonderful view on the countryside, you can taste the dishes inside an interesting gastronomic itinerary: it is like a constant research of emotions and sensations, from the palat to the heart.
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

During our stay in Perugia we had dinner here on two occasions. The location in the castle and the view from the terrace are stunning. The staff is very friendly and helpful although service can be a bit fast (but this is normal in Italy). We asked for a simple pasta pomodore for my daughter which was no problem at all, they were really nice to children at Gradale!

Regarding the food, what can I say? It was the best I ever had in Italy. I had the tartufo based pasta and the wild boar piglet the first time and the beetroot gnoccheti and the duck the second time. All four dishes were outstanding with the gnoccheti and the boar being my absolute favorites. My wife had the lamb the first time and the cod the second time. Perfect dishes as were here desserts.

The waiter even gave us a discount the first time because we had to wait for 35 minutes for my wife's dessert (which is normal in Belgium). Pricing is easily 20-40 percent cheaper in comparison to a similar Belgian restaurant.

In conclusion, I highly recommend Gradale for their service, location and their food!

1  Thank Kasper E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Responsabile di sala at Gradale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Dear Kasper E
thank you for your detailed and precise review, we're grateful to you to have shared your opinions and feelings about our restaurant. We're also proud to be recommended by you with such beautiful words!

Simone e lo staff del Gradale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2016

If you're staying in the castle, don't forget to have one of your dinners at the restaurant. Yes, the breakfast is in the same location, but the evening meal provides another view. The choices were delicious and the bread was so fresh!

Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Responsabile di sala at Gradale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Dear Julie F,

thank you for your review and for your beautiful words.

Simone e lo staff del Gradale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

The food and the local wine was amazing. We all loved it, and we had a lot of picky eaters from Beverly Hills. Only two waiters, but they were so nice that the late service didn't matter. The view of Perugia was beautiful. It was great.

Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Responsabile di sala at Gradale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear Steve S,

thanks for your beautiful review!!

Simone e lo staff del Gradale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

We stayed in the castle and booked a dinner here on our arrival evening. While the menu was somewhat limited, there was still enough choice for both of our tastes. The pasta appetizer "Aromatica" was beyond amazing! We could easily have had it as a main plate. We both savoured our dinners of a lamb dish ( 2 different cuts) prepared and served expertly. A wonderful evening! If the weather had been a bit warmer, we would have dined on the terrace

1  Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Responsabile di sala at Gradale, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear Betty L,

wow! what a wonderful review! ThanK you very much for your enthusiastic words.

Simone e lo staff del Gradale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We read the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to try this restaurant during our stay in Perugia. The food and the service were first class and we were not disappointed . On the night we dined the weather was wet to say the least and we dined inside which was a disappointment because the restaurant lacks atmosphere on the inside which resembles a school canteen!! Dining on the terrace would have been a much better experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank christopher m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Responsabile di sala at Gradale, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear christopher m,

thank you for your review, in particular we are very grateful for your words about the food and the service. Surely our terrace is a fantastic place to dine, his view is amazing and you can see the skyline of Perugia, nonetheless we also think that dine inside is a fulfilling experience and, of course, we don't consider our restaurant as a "school canteen"...

Simone e lo staff del Gradale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gradale also viewed

Ponte San Giovanni, Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Gradale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing