We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool and impressive views, but not much else.”
Review of Sina Brufani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sina Brufani
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The hotel is located at the very heart of the old town at the beginning of Corso Pietro Vannucci. This street is the highest point in central Perugia. Everything that leads away from Corso P. Vannucci goes downhill. The hotel is literally as close as you can get to all the major sights in Perugia.
If you arrive by foot you can use the escalators built inside the Paulina fortress that part of the old town is built on top of, using these you'll end up right outside the hotel entrance.
If you arrive by train there's a bus that stops 20 meters from the hotel at Piazza italia.

Upon entering the hotel there are door men to greet you and the service from the staff in general is very friendly. Lobby looks nice and they'll help you with your bags so keep a tip ready.

The hallways on the floors above look rather dated but the rooms are alright, everything is clean and comfortable but in no way are these high end rooms, so don't expect to much, inf fact the classic double rooms are smaller than they advertise on their website. There's a mini bar and in our room a very nice view. This is the strong point of the hotel, being situated at the edge of the old town you can see the lower parts of the city and valley below for miles on end. However you won't see much of the old town from here and the windows are not that big.
The bathroom is clean but slightly dated with a hair dryer and everything else you'd expect from a four or five star hotel, bathrobes etc. Flat screen TV on the smaller side had Italian and German channels.

A few floors below the hotel, built into sealed off parts of the Paulina fortress there's a sauna and a swimming pool, these are very nice and match the brochure picture. It's perfect for a winter time visit since part of the pool is a jacuzzi. We were there for new years eve so obviously the pool area had quite a few people in it, but it wasn't over crowded. The hotel claims that there are Etruscan ruins to be seen under a sheet of glass at the bottom of the pool, that may well be but it is just a few rocks and not clearly visable (If you want to see Etruscan ruins you must visit the Etruscan well at the end of Corso P. Vanucci)

The breakfast was not included and had an average selection presented in a very nice dining hall. If you don't feel like spending close to 40 Euros every morning there are plenty of café options nearby. Eggs, omelets and American coffee were all extra so the bill quickly adds up.

Two things made me very irritated however.
1. The Wi-fi was not free as it is in hotels on most parts of the globe nowadays, instead it was six Euros per hour! In a word, ridiculous.
2. This hotel did not carry the most simple of practical things that might be needed by their guests, for instance: A type of electrical plug converter that is commonly used in Italy to be able to use a laptop or other more energy hungry devices, was no where to be found in the entire hotel. The staff eventually managed to find one, but this was by pure chance and luck.

In closing, for the amount you pay and the way the hotel presents itself online you don't get what you are expecting nor paying for. This is basically a good, slightly dated 4 star hotel, if you book with this in mind you'll have a nice stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingNormands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 386 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

My husband and I are just back from a visit to Perugia for the Eurochocolate Festival. If you are planning to visit the Eurofestival of Chocolate in October of 2013 this is the hotel for you. The hotel is in an excellent location for visiting the festival. The festival is just outside the front door. Brufani Palace Hotel is at the top of the old city. The vistas from the hotel are magnificent. AThe hotel is located near lots of upscale shopping and just steps away from many many quality restaurants and cafes. The Brufani Hotel is 100 % elegant. Their are elegant rugs, art work and furnishings throughout. Our bedroom at the Brufani was spacious and decadent. The linens were exquisite. The bathroom was very generous. There were 2 sinks inset in a gorgeous marble countertop. There were bathrobes. There were wonderful bath products. Early in the evening there was turndown service. The bathroom was refreshened. Bath towels were replaced. A bedtime floomat and slippers were positioned at each side of the bed. WOW!

Just a few tiny problems. The temperature of the room refused to be regulated by the thermostat. It stayed 23 C. This was just a little. It too warm for us. During the first night the power went out twice and the television turned on without our prompting. Our iPads would not charge and the hair dryer would not work. What unusual events. We reported these events to the front desk and we received courteous but disbelieving attention. An electrician was called. The electrician's report was that a broken hair dryer had caused all the trouble. The hair dryer was replaced. The electrical worries were alleviated. The room stayed too hot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bett6827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Our travel agent booked three nights for us at the Brufani Palace in late September. It was a lovely hotel - right in the heart of the old city. Our room was spacious and clean and the views from two balconies were beautiful. Our reservation included a dinner in the hotel restaurant which was outstanding and a very nice breakfast buffet was also included in the price. The staff was very helpful. We enjoyed being able to walk to many restaurants, shops and best of all, the Piazza IV Novembre and the underground city, which was right across the street from the hotel. The hotel is located at the top of the city and was very challenging to find - but we agreed it was worth it to stay in such a gracious old hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank designer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of town center of Perugia. Our rooms was very pretty (Italian old style decorations which i love), sizeable with a very comfortable and huge bed. We had a beautiful view over the hills of Umbia, it was perfect. If there is one thing to complain about, then the fact that when we booked the room we also booked parking (in their garage). They advised us that upon arrival we should inform them about the time that we will need the car for departure so that they can arrange everything. When we arrived we did so and the lady confirmed that it was not a problem to pick up the car the next day at 5pm. When we checked out, we reminded them of the time for the car and suddenly a gentleman said that this was not possible, the car needs to be out of the garage the time we check out i.e. the latest at 12. Because the chocolate festival was on they dont have space to keep our car in their garage, and as a pure exception he can offer us to keep the car until 3pm. The lady at the reception on the other hand confirmed to us that it was normal practise that they keep the cars until their guests actually depart from Perugia and she was very apologectic about the situation. This is not exactly what I would consider 5 star service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hase1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

So okay, I am not a Princess, only in my mind ! But I felt like one staying in this hotel. I drove here with my husband to see the sights in Umbria , Italy . We used this hotel and town as our base. This hotel is located in the older part of the city ,smack in the center of things , at the top of the town. We drove directly there and you are able to valet your car. The staff was very nice and this includes the front desk , bellman and the cleaning team and wait staff in the restaurant . Our room was spectacular. It had old world charm. The room was very big, as we were in a suite and the bathroom was very large. There was breakfast included and a fruit basket upon arrival. The breakfast was in a very lovely room and it had very good selections. The room had nice views but the hotel itself is located in a very scenic spot as you just have to walk outside and see spectacular views. It was very clean, provided robes and slippers. It is walking distance to all things in the older section of town. We took the car over it Assisi, Deurta and other places. We dined in the hotel restaurant and it was by far, one of the very best and I am not kidding ,meals and dining experiences we had in our 3 weeks in Tuscany and Umbria. If you like old world charm in your accomendations, you have found your private palace. And if you are like me and like to feed that small delusion of being a Princess, at least for 2 nights, stay here.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite and look at their special rate packages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms.go-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
2.6 km away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
861 reviews
0.3 km away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#7 of 65 in Perugia
1,530 reviews
5.5 km away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 65 in Perugia
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
502 reviews
5.9 km away
Best Western Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
0.1 km away
Locanda della Posta - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Brufani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Brufani

Address: Piazza Italia 12, 06121, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#3 Business Hotel in Perugia
#3 Spa Hotel in Perugia
#3 Family Hotel in Perugia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: $202 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sina Brufani 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a panoramic position in the heart of Perugia, the Sina Brufani boasts an ancient tradition in the luxury hospitality, and from 1884 it is the home of royalty and celebrities from all over of the world. Since then it is the only 5-star hotel in Perugia, and some parts of the Hotel are protected by the Ministry of Cultural Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sina Brufani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brufani Palace Perugia
Hotel Brufani Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing