We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Iris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Iris
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Reviewed 19 August 2017

I went there with my girlfriend in August 2017 and we were very happy with the price. First of all the building is designed with opulence and elegance and the room was very comfortable. The décor exudes an antique stylishness which fits in perfectly with the old town centre which is located only a short walk away. The reception staff and cleaners were very polite, friendly and helpful. They even let my girlfriend store a souvenir ham in their large fridge!

I would highlight only a couple of points for improvement. Firstly, I don't think the breakfast was made fresh and there was no coffee machine in the breakfast room, guests had to ask at the bar upstairs. It would have been nice to have tea and coffee available downstairs.

Secondly, it was the hottest week of the year and although there was a good electric fan in the room, air conditioning would have been a Godsend with such temperatures. Thankfully the building had quick walls and therefore it was never too hot inside.

I would definitely recommend Hotel Iris to anyone who is visiting Perugia. All of the interesting sites can be found in the old town which is essentially on top of a hill. Luckily Hotel Iris is very close by and you wont need to do any climbing because there are escalators nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Very good hotel with quite good localization.
The staff is very friendly and hospitable.
The breakfast is very good for its price.
The old historical building helps feeling the past times of Perugia :)
The only one drawback is lack od air condition ...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Pawel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

I had a very pleasant stay at Hotel Iria Perugia.
I stayed for over a week. The nights were very hot, but the room had a big beautiful window we could open to refresh, and a fan conditioner to use before. Our rooms were clean every two days, with clean towels coming very often.
I stayed in one room with three other people and, even tho it was cramped in space, everything worked out for the best and we had a great stay.
The living areas of the hotel were the best! There we could chill, specially the terrace which became our favorite spot of the whole hotel!
The staff was the nicest and very welcoming. There was always someone to help us. I deeply appreciate how well they treat us.
The only downside, but not so bad, was the bunkbed in our room. The stairs to get to the top one would hurt our feet.
The breakfast was also good, with a wide range of choices for buffet. Those chocolat croissants were killer!!
All in all, I would recommend this hotel to everyone! I had a great stay in Perugia.

Room Tip: Ask for st floor! There were ones with a very cute balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Hotel Iris is a bit run down and as much as basic comfort - save good quality towels - is ok, with cheap furniture and no frills, the plumbing needs maintenance to avoid constant leaking and stinking up the bathroom. The roads around are noisy but the rooms on the back are quiet with windows closed. Room 28 was small but with a garden view so ok. Very good service. Breakfast average. Location is not the most picturesque but very convenient - with an escalator right behind that goes up to the city center and down to the station to catch a bus to the train station. Perugia is expensive and hotel Iris, at 233 euros for four nights, seems pretty reasonable. Didn't love it but still recommend it. There are two very good restaurants next door, perugia stories on via cavour on the left and Bianca, simple, tasty and cheap a little further on the right.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank angelinebenoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

It is a perfect stay for anyone travelling to Perugia who rather prefers spending money on good food, museums, sightseeing etc, instead of being charged with unnecessary high accommodation costs. Although the hotel is quite old + rooms are rather simple, the location is phantastic. Rooms are very quiet, absolutely clean + spacious. The hotel has a very charming atmosphere. Hotel staff are extremely helpful + friendly. Just ask for any sightseeing advise. Bars, cafés + restaurants are in walking distance.
Sabine v. Mallinckrodt, Munich

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 436sabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#8 of 65 in Perugia
228 reviews
1.5 km away
Ilgo Hotel
Ilgo Hotel
#25 of 65 in Perugia
756 reviews
0.2 km away
San Ercolano Hotel
San Ercolano Hotel
#36 of 65 in Perugia
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#20 of 65 in Perugia
570 reviews
5.9 km away
Vega Hotel
Vega Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponte Valleceppi
202 reviews
0.5 km away
Umbria Hotel
Umbria Hotel
#47 of 65 in Perugia
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iris

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 37 | Historic City Centre, 06121, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: $66 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Iris 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iris Hotel is in a 17th-century building, close to Perugia's Rocca Paolina fortress and the Sant'Ercolano Church. The hotel's wide panoramic terrace offers views of the old city and the hills. Rooms are tastefully furnished and large, with frescoed ceilings and paintings on the walls. Each room features a private bathroom with shower. Hotel Iris is a 2-minute walk from the bus terminus in Piazza Partigiani, with daily departures to Assisi, Gubbio and Orvieto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing