We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business trip”
Review of Hotel Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Basel
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2017

I stayed here for 2 nights in November. I had a single room as the hotel was fully booked. For one person the size of the room was ok. The bed was a bit uncomfortable. I think the mattress needed changing as it sloped.
When we arrived we were told the mini bar was complementary...Which would have been great if it had had more in it than 1 bottle of beer, a coke and 2x bottles of water. Maybe a small bottle of wine would have been good for the non-beer drinkers? Everything else in the room was good (bathroom, TV etc)
Breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful
Location was excellent

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cjr242424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear cjr242424
Thank you so much for your rating. That will help us and future guests a lot.
Best regards
Your HOtel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

I stayed at Hotel Basel for a business trip.
The location is excellent, but that's it. Nothing else about this hotel is outstanding. Rooms are smaller than most people's bathrooms (8 square meters if you want to feel generous). It's impossible not to feel claustrophobic. Beds are spectacularly hard, with stupidly empty pillows. I couldn't sleep at all. And their ventilation system must be in need of some maintenance, as it's spectacularly noisy.
Prison-like, uncomfortable, lacking of any redeeming feature, Hotel Basel is only acceptable if your are absolutely DESPERATE to be minutes away from a Subway sandwich. Never again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ficiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Ficiz
Thank you for rating us and sorry that we did not meet your expactations.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Located in the pedestrian district of old Basel, the Hotel Basel was a wonderful overnight before our AMA Waterways cruise. The hotel room was wonderful. My husband and I had to ask twice that we heard the receptionist correctly when she said the mini bar in the room was FREE! We also received two free drinks in the restaurant and breakfast(which was awesome). The rate was very reasonable and I would highly recommend the hotel. The hotel was in walking distance of many of the things we wanted to see.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank geshrwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear geshrwh
Thank you so much for your review and your nice comments. We like!
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Great location in the center of old town. Easy to walk to all attractions. The staff was amazing. They couldn't be more helpful. We actually ate in the two hotel restaurants during our two night stay and both were fantastic. Friday night jazz in the dining room was a real treat. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PTrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear PTrez
Thank you for rating us. We like!
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Great little hotel in the middle of the Basel center. Comfortable rooms with all you need. Went to see tennis last week. Quarterfinals ended at 1100pm at night. Had a very late dinner at the bar, serves full menu until late at night. Free drink offered from the hotel. Worth the trip. Shops and restaurants in arms lenght. Highly recommendable.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Andreas M
Thank you so much for your nice review. We like!
Best regards
Your HOtel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 52 in Basel
1,009 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 52 in Basel
657 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#6 of 52 in Basel
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basel

Address: Muenzgasse 12, Basel 4001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: S$213 - S$446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personally owned and managed Hotel Basel is situated in quiet yet central old town location. Pedestrian area with permitted access by car for hotel guests anytime. With 72 rooms furnished in a modern yet classic style, conference and event facilities and two cosy restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing