We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super-central comfy spot in Swiss capital”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotelbern
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed 27 March 2011

This hotel has some of what every business or leisure traveler needs: excellent location near main train station, parliament and the big banks, shops, restaurants, key cultural sites; comfy beds in clean rooms with a bit of sitting space; excellent buffet breakfast to get your day started right; business meeting space and a bar/restaurant for non-business; friendly, welcoming staff. Bonus points for a small empty refrigerator, hot water kettle and more in the guestroom closet. An altogether cool place, as long as you expect that rooms will be on the small side. (So much to do and see in Bern, who cares?!) The main negative: many rooms like mine have just one window that faces inward toward three or four other rooms' one windows, so there's not a lot of natural light and you may need to take care in closing your curtain and/or window for privacy (see my photos).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelinNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 213 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in March. Location is good, within walking distance of the train station and with a tram stop 2 minutes away. The rooms are comfortable and modern with furniture in bright colours, including some cool designer chairs. However, my room was very small, and, perhaps given the fact that the window faced a small closed courtyard, it felt almost a bit claustrophobic. Bed was comfortable. The hotel was very clean throughout. Breakfast was also good, and they were quick to take your coffee order. There is no gym. Overall I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilja016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

My family spent two nights in Bern on a holiday. The hotel is an easy walk from the train station (5-10 minutes). We booked a triple room for two adults and two children. The room was very spacious with two double beds (i.e. 2 single and a foldaway). The decor was very modern and vibrant, my 6 year old daughter loved the pink bathroom! A small balcony overlooked an alley, but we spent our time wandering the city and not looking out the window. The location is good, centrally located with easy walking access to all the major tourist destinations. It is located right next to the Kornhauskeller, an elaborate and historic cellar with restaurant and bar. The casual restaurant in the hotel, the 7-Stube, was excellent with good service and a 10 percent discount to guests. We enjoyed good Swiss-German cuisine while the children ate spaghetti with tomato sauce. The hotel also offered breakfast that was served on the second floor. It was good and the coffee was very good. Each floor had a basket of fresh fruit greeting you as you stepped off the elevator. It was replenished throughout the day. With small children, we did not attempt the more upscale restaurant on the premises. The wireless internet throughout the hotel had great signals, but require a Swisscom pre-paid card for access. The only negative we encountered was the clocktower or church bells ringing at all hours of the night (even with the windows closed), thus the sleep quality was poor and may not be a a good fit for light sleepers. The bells didn't bother the children, but the adults were a little sleep deprived.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EUHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Nice clean hotel right in the middle of town. Walking distance to all points of interest and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skip007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Stayed after Christmas 2010. It was conveniently located and realtively clean. Breakfast was very good. I think the hotel could be considered the local source for global warming as it was extremely hot in the rooms and the only control was to open the windows. Our room was extremely small even on a European scale. Wait staff was pleasant enough.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodneyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 km away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
165 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.2 km away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
1.2 km away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
592 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotelbern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotelbern

Address: Zeughausgasse 9, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Bern Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $211 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotelbern 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotelbern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing