We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, not so good hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Continental Bern
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Excellent location, but not good value for your money. Make sure to arrive before 7pm at night, otherwise there will be no one to help you... We stayed in a coner room, which was twice the size of the room our friends stayed in just next to us... Very old hotel, but at least the rooms were clean. The WiFi was not free. We only stayed in this hotel, because it was the cheapest at the time, so I would only recommend this hotel if you are not going to spend alot of time at the hotel. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, and by the looks of the restaurant, we prefered to have breakfast somewhere else.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are twice the size of the normal rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanParys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

Very good location; in the centre of Bern but didn't find it at all noisy.
The room itself was quite big, but the corridor going from the hotel door into the bedroom was so narrow it was difficult to walk through! The shower was powerful but the cubicle was quite small, as was the bathroom.
The best thing about the hotel was the amazing staff. They were all friendly and helpful and one member of staff bent over backwards to print off some train tickets for us.
All in all, we did purposely stay in a budget hotel to save money, so for the money we paid it was good value and a great location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed one night. Convenient location in the centre of old town. But we were travelling by car and there is no parking available in the centre so we had to pay for the underground car park, it was 40 Swiss Francs overnight and we also parked briefly during the day so another 10 francs, so I think an hotel with parking on the outskirts of Bern would have been better. The hotel is basic, clean, the bathrooms are a bit tired, our bath had a patched hole in it, and old pipework sticking out of the wall in the toilet area. Our room was at the back of the hotel, no street noise, but the nearby bells rang through the night, heard them at 2am and 3am. Reception closes at 10pm, you have to ring the bell after that - we did not go out very late, so got in before the curfew. But it is cheaper than other central hotels, but everything costs in Switzerland so although it is cheaper no change from £200 for two basic rooms plus car park for one night - scary

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tryavna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very well located in the old town area. The room was nice, though the bathroom quite old. It's extremely noisy. I only stayed for one night and it was ok. Cleaness is also ok, it's not spotless. No more to say about this hotel..it was ok for only one night i would't have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julylatina100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This was a budget stay (but still pricey for the money by Aussie standards...that's Switzerland for you)! However its in the Old Town and made it easy to walk to the historical-touristy places and only 10 mins walk from the railway station. The room was acceptable and had all the facilities required, although on the smallish side.

The heater outlet vent, located in the bathroom, blew out really warm air, to the point of being stifling, but it was controlled by simply closing the bathroom door which made the bathroom great for drying clothes. An aside, there is no mini-bar, not that I would use one anyway, so keep drinks cool, simply open the window and put it on the window shelf...in winter, of course.

Staff were friendly, spoke English and most helpful. No free wifi in the room but there is a free PC with internet and printer service in the lobby-dining area. Staff were very helpful explaining the use of the Swiss style keyboard.

Location is very convenient to shops and there is a Migros supermarket next door for anything a tourist could require (toiletries, food etc).

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the street. Every morning about 6am, there is a lot of noise, sounding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LawrenceGuanTeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Goldener Schlussel
0.1 km away
Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
0.2 km away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Jardin
Hotel Jardin
#13 of 30 in Bern
122 reviews
1.7 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bern
201 reviews
0.3 km away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Bern

Address: Zeughausgasse 27, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $198 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Continental Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing