We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic, clean, poor service”
Review of Atel - Calvy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atel - Calvy
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 4 December 2016

The room was of acceptable size, with an ugly linoleum flooring imitating wood. The furniture was not beautiful. There was a nice and large door-window. The bathroom was nothing special but fine.
Everything was clean.
The location is convenient, and the area is not too noisy.
Nevertheless, none of this seemed to be worth all of 160 CHF. For the cheap looks (except for the TV), it seemed quite overpriced.
I was put off by the lack of hospitality in the morning when I went down for breakfast. The breakfast room adjoins a bar. There were a few people in the bar and a young woman serving. Yet not once did she look in my direction. The breakfast was not extraordinary. The yoghurt was inedible, and some of the bread was dry. The jams and honey were the usual very cheap choice. I did not have the temerity to try the drip coffee, so I opted for the mediocre tea.
Next time I need a hotel in Geneva, I'll try an AirBnB...

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anastasia_biroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

I found this hotel in Geneva: welcoming me and arranging immediately my room number 36 at 10:00am. I was surprised because usually you can enter a room only after lunchtime. Arrived from an early flight this was appreciated with a deep catch up sleep.

What is mega different on this hotel is that the owner is a family who runs the daily operations of the hotel personally. You will observe that they connect with their guests. It brings out a kind and warm charme about this place. Something seldom to find in a city where you just a room number...

Room number 36, is spacious, all Swiss clean. The bed was comfortable, the furniture fits the charme and price of the room. The shower had good water pressure. The wifi worked fast and reliable. If one would modernise the hotel it would lose its modesty.

The hotel has its own bar and restaurant serving a menu inside or on the covered terrace. The restaurant has all the items to put on weight - forget your diet. Breakfast had the usual spectrum from cereal killers to yoghurts with the bliss factors.

Geographically it is literally around the corner of connecting main streets with access to busses, trams and taxi stands. Use bus nr 10 from and to the airport - the trip is for free, using the voucher system.

In summary:
You get personal attention by the owners - authentic smiles and chats - you can see they have fun to run the hotel.
I will book again!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank Dutch4847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Hotel was quite good, room was spacious, clean, wi-fi worked perfectly, staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast was tasty. Nothing to complain about if you would like to spend 2-3 days in Geneva. A great advantage of the place is location, just 7-10 minutes on foot from lake, very close to restaurants, shops and other places worth visiting. Close to bus station where you can find a bus to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jimbo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

I stayed there 4 nights. Personnel were very good helpfull and friendly. The hotel's location was very convenient. Breakfast was satisfactory. The room was average but clean. If they renew the rooms that would be a good desicion. Wireless was perfect and price was very good if you compare with other hotels in the region. Friendly hotel.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
Thank myserdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

The staff were all as friendly and helpful as any hotel we've ever stayed in - they attended to our every request quickly and cheerfully. The room we stayed in had been renovated and looks different (and better) than the photos on this site. This is a "basic" hotel - not fancy or elegant. But very clean, and very well run. And the hotel is in a fantastic location in the heart of Geneva, close to everything.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Sagitta & Residence
#60 of 109 in Geneva
178 reviews
Bel'Esperance
#46 of 109 in Geneva
286 reviews
Drake Longchamp
#71 of 109 in Geneva
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 109 in Geneva
1,126 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#43 of 109 in Geneva
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atel - Calvy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atel - Calvy

Address: ruelle du Midi 5, Geneva 1207, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $212 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atel - Calvy 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Atel - Calvy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atel - Calvy Hotel Geneva
Atel Calvy Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing