We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge de Confignon
Ranked #5 of 21 Geneva B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2017

I acknowledge that Geneva is an expensive city but this hotel is totally overpriced for the quality of service and poor accommodation offered.
Our double room was in the eaves so nearly 1/3rd of the floor space was barely useable (unless you happen to be shorter than 4 foot). This coupled with a massive air conditioning unit meant that you couldn't swing the proverbial cat!
Even more disappointing was the complete indifference of the staff at breakfast time. The buffet was not replenished so by 9am there was hardly any choice, and the few slices of bread left languishing were stale, completely unacceptable when you are paying for a buffet breakfast. If it is first come, first served they should make this clear.
The hotel was hosting a training course and the delegates, working on their presentation, were blocking access in the dining area and the staff made no attempt to ask them to relocate to a less disruptive location. I know the delegates themselves should have recognised they were in the way but as they didn't seem to acknowledge this I feel the staff could have stepped in.
Interestingly, we were never asked if everything was OK, even at checkout. I guess this is because they knew the answer would not be very positive.
Overall I would suggest that travellers seek alternative accommodation unless you enjoy being ignored and staying in cramped rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EastAnglianwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Upon our arrival we were greeted with a couldn't care less attitude. We were told there was parking at the rear of the hotel but not which were dedicated to the ho9tel. Three days later we were asked to move because the owner of the parking place had complained. The information from the hotel said that the restaurant in the hotel was closed on Sunday - our day of arrival. I asked at the desk about this but was told that the restaurant was open. We went down for our first meal and were shown to a table. The price for the meral was very expensive and the wine list prices were eye-watering. We were too embarrassed to walk out as we were staying for 4 nights. The meal did not justify the price charged. The next day we discovered there was a Bistro which we had not been told about. The rest of our stay we ate in the Bistro of course. Asking about going into Geneva Elodie put herself out to give us free tickets for the trams and also found us a map of the tram system. The only other member of staff who seemed remotely interested in helping us was Paulo. Our room was on the second floor and the slope of the roof meant one of us had to be very careful when getting out of bed. It was small and cramped and we had to store our suitcases in the car boot. We were on holiday for 4 weeks! We were very disappointed. We knew that Switzerland was expensive but we did not expect such indifferent service.

Room Tip: Don't go for a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twotogo688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

The auberge de Confignon used to be a rather staid restaurant, serving solid (in all senses of the word) dishes. Then renewal arrived with a French couple - the husband had been a chef on cruise ships. We enjoyed the new ambiance and dishes. But nw back: new ownership again. We were convinced by the dishes, but found the service to be wanting - slightly lacsidasical, but the high temperatures may have contributed (36 degrees). The food was excellent and so were the wines from the region.
This resaurant is very child friendly, with a little playground. By our taste too childfriendly, we like our lunch with someone else's screaming children. But as it was quiet we found a little corner away from the noise and had a nice time.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert_bos53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

What a surprise, I need to find a decent hotel with parking close to Geneva for a week and have used Ibis regularly, but all my usual efforts showed nothing available for under CHF1000, so I stumbled across this place on the web and what a find, the hotel has 14 rooms all boutique styled and individual, the parking is free, the on site restaurant is very stylish and food is superb (although a little pricey) great selection of wines and the setting is stunning, with great views of Mont Saleve, I enjoyed a tipple in the gardens seating area and dined alfresco, staff are very helpful, and in the close vicinity is a supermarket and a few other cafe bars.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so those with luggage choose ground or 2nd floor, all nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rummers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a week long ski holiday. We wanted to explore Geneva after a few days on the slopes. We knew that this hotel was a bit out of the city but were quite happy to travel in and out. We found it very easy to get there from the airport. Just jump on a number 23, 5 or 10 bus and get off at any stop that has a connection to the number 14 tram. The tram is for P + R bernex and you stay on it until the final stop. Easy! There was only a very short walk from the tram to the hotel, maybe 5 - 10 minutes. I was 6 months pregnant at the time and manged no problem.

The hotel itself was very nice. The decor is modern and very bright and clean. We stayed in the budget room which was extremely small so if you are claustrophobic I'd suggest paying more for a bigger room. However, it was well decorated and clean.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We were given travel cards and advice on how to get to tourist attractions. I would suggest asking about the cards though as we wouldn't have known about them if we hadn't asked.

It is really easy to get in and out of the city on the 14 tram and then connecting via a bus or tram.

We had breakfast in the hotel and it was delicious. Highly recommend.

We did not eat in the hotel in the evenings but we did eat in the pizzaria across the road and the local Thai. Both were very nice and within walking distance.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank aireyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#19 of 109 in Geneva
982 reviews
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#36 of 109 in Geneva
496 reviews
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#18 of 109 in Geneva
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiffany Hotel
#24 of 109 in Geneva
610 reviews
Hotel Des Balances
#1 of 1 in Versoix
6 reviews
Chez Maman
#4 of 21 in Geneva
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Confignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Confignon

Address: 6, Place de l'Eglise | 1232 Confignon, Geneva, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range: $194 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de Confignon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Auberge de Confignon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing