We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Booking.com
US$503
View deal
Official Site
US$219
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$243
Hotels.comUS$243
PricelineUS$503
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,573)
Filter reviews
2,573 results
Traveller rating
1,904
501
101
43
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,904
501
101
43
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews louis bar scala restaurant lake view street level the penthouse surrounding mountains small balcony wonderful hotel old town switzerland lakeside bathtub pilatus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,573 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2021 via mobile

Wonderful staff. Fabulous room facing Lake Luzern and the bathtub was amazing! Breakfast was wonderful and the staff was attentive. The Art Deco decor was so wonderful. I loved looking at all the details throughout the hotel. We will definitely return.

Room tip: May the extra money to have a room facing Lake Luzern.
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Totentanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA, Geschäftsführer at Art Deco Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2021

Dear guest
What a great review! Thank you so much for takting the time to write this feedback. We are very happy to read this and especially to hear about your return plans. Hope to see you soon again, your MONTANA-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2021 via mobile

The hotel Montana is a fantastic place to stay in Lucerne! Our view from our 4th floor balcony was amazing. Last day there it snowed in the mountains to provide a beautiful picturesque display! Breakfast in the hotel is amazing! You can choose to have a custom made omelette or help yourself to the wide variety of choices available! Free passes for the bus system are provided which was great! Our Viking cruise representative, Daryl was very helpful in directing us to restaurants and with any other concerns we had. The Hotel Montana is located high on a hill and is visible from town which makes it very easy to find when you are walking back. I highly recommend taking a boat cruise of Lake Lucerne! Be aware that you need a Swiss Covid test to check in or eat at restaurants or enter museums, etc. 30 Swiss francs. Well with it! Lucerne is beautiful! The hotel Montana makes for a great experience!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA, Geschäftsführer at Art Deco Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2021

Dear guest, wow - thank you so much. It is great to read your words and we appreciate a lot that you share your experiences with our future guests. We hope to welcome you soon again in Lucerne and at the ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA! Your MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2021 via mobile

Pls do not fall for the hotel’s aerial images. We thought our room too would face the lake, but it didn’t since we got the most basic room (no mention of the view while booking).

Uncourteous staff (except the baggage handler at 6am who was great). Nobody to receive you when you arrive, no for everything. We realized we didn’t have the view and asked if only one of the rooms could be bumped but unfortunately nothing. I had requested for a cake while check in about 3 weeks earlier but the cake came in at 11pm (that’s when we got back to the room, but should’ve come the next day in the morning).

Hotel has a lot of business conferences and hence why guest satisfaction wasn’t given any thought. Very dull interiors and not welcoming at all. Yes they have a furnicular connecting the hotel to the street downstairs and a Michelin started restaurant, but doesn’t make up for our bad experience.

Room was crazy tiny, I repeat crazy tiny and we found hair in the bathtub. But we were so put off but he overall hotel and experience that we didn’t bother raising this.

Very very bad. Not sure what are they charging customers for. I’d rather stay at continental park which is literally behind the Lucerne HBF.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank varunasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA, Geschäftsführer at Art Deco Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2021

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We regret that you were not satisfied. We would like to let you know our point of view: You have bookd a doulbe room hill side, which is without lake view. "Double room hill side" is the name of the category you've booked and the images do not say anything else. Also, as you were not happy with your room, we offered you an upgrade to a bigger lake view room at a special price. We could not send the chocolate cakes to the room before 11pm, because you arrived later. We probably cannot change your mind, but we assure you that we always do our best to satisfy our guests. We would be pleased to convince you one day. All the best and kind regards, your MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021

We cannot fault the hotel and its staff. We stayed in the Penthouse Junior suite with lake view room for 2 nights. The room was clean and spacious with breathtaking views of the lake. Well stocked free mini bar and super soft towels. The bed was very comfy. The only minor thing is that the aircon was quite noisy however this didn't bother us and we slept well. We ate in the hotel for breakfast and dinner and we were very impressed by the food quality and choice. The walk to the main part of the city was only around 10 minutes. The hotel gave us a voucher for free public transport however we chose to walk to take in the scenery! We will definitely visit again in the future.

Room tip: Get the best you can afford, the view in the hot tub cannot be beaten!
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dominich848
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA, Geschäftsführer at Art Deco Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2021

Dear guest
Wow - what a wonderful message to find on our reviews! We are happy that you celebrated your honeymoon with as and appreciate a lot that you recommend us on Tripadvisor. It would be our pleasure to soon welcome you again. Your MONTANA-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2021 via mobile

Our stay at the Art Deco Montana was simply wonderful. We switched to a superior panorama room with seeview, even if the ‘normal’ room was already very nice. Breakfast was perfect, everything so tasty and of good quality, we had a lovely evening in the Hemingway lounge and our only regret is that we had not booked a diner at the Scala restaurant in time, so we missed out on that. The view from the room was just so amazing and relaxing, the people working in the hotel all friendly, professional and helpful, the little train to bring you up and down from and to the promenade makes the location up hill unproblematic (and that location makes the view so great and gives a bit more privacy when you are on your balcony): really nothing to complain about.
We come back!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank corneliao781
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA, Geschäftsführer at Art Deco Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2021

Dear guests, thank you so much for this great review! We are happy that you completely enjoyed your stay with us. So good to hear that everything was all fine. Looking forward to welcoming you soo again, your MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews