We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
101
189
72
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
189
72
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom hard boiled eggs train station private bath old town quiet street hotel is located yogurt clean hotel budget stay free breakfast the hotel staff double bed an expensive city main station large room sink
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

The location of the hotel is close to Pilatus street, in walking distance to the concert hall. Location is quiet too. The whole complex including rooms is clean and well equipped. Only disadvantage: no private bath and toilet. If you are willing to do without that there is nothing to complain.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Hans-Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Hotel Alpha is neat and clean hotel without AC. Located 10 minutes away on foot from central station and hub of transport and 3 minutes from public bus stop on foot. Its toilets and shower on sharing basis are separate for ladies and gents and are neat and tidy. Washbasin is available in rooms. Breakfast is very good includes all necessities. Suitable for all ages. Staff is also very nice. Keep food stuff in room for late night eating if required as restaurants and eat outs close by 2000 hour nearby. Power plugs are different from other EU areas and adopters can be checked on request and availability at reception. Reception closes at 2300 hours daily so do inform hotel for late arrival to avoid any inconvenience.

Room Tip: Ask for city view rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muttaqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The receptionists welcomed us very warmly and were very helpful. Also, the hotel had a very nice location - only 10 minutes on foot to the city center. However, since the day was very hot, it was really hot in the room too and we didn't find conditioning system. The shared bathroom was clean, however, they could provide with simple showering gels or something. Also, breakfast was not very good, just simple breakfast with no hot meals.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

They have a few parking lots on site but reserve early. Easy to find. Check-in was fast. There is a lift. The room was spacious and clean. There was a sink with towels and a desk but that's all. I normally don't like shared bathrooms but this one is so clean and modern and had plenty of hooks for clothing I almost didn't mind. The hotel is slightly farther from town but still easily reachable by foot. Most accommodations in Switzerland is expensive. For the last 2 reason perhaps is why this is slightly cheaper than average so I find it of good value. The breakfast was good.
Wifi was not strong in the room. We had to go to a living room nearby. There is no aircon and again we had to open the windows to let the cool air in before we could sleep. Problem is then we can hear the street and people below, and it was noisy. I was woken up at midnight by this couple who came late and the reception was closed. They keep knocking on the door. This is not a 5 star hotel with 24 hour reception people. Inform the hotel if you expect to come in late instead of waking everybody up. I wonder if the rooms that face the other side are quieter.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We had a great nights sleep here, the room was very clean and had the shared bathroom to ourselves each time. It does have the feeling of a youth hostel.

The breakfast was not good, not much choice for vegetarians and our first introduction to the strange coloured shell-ready boiled eggs? We left hungry but well rested!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank charethcutestory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews