We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$230
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$140
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$273
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$356
US$290
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$363/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$565
US$354
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$239
US$207
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$146
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$294
US$244
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveller rating
422
512
148
47
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
512
148
47
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationgreat locationold townbusiness roomdirectly across the streethalf boardburger kingchapel bridgetriple roomstreet noisequiet roomtourist informationbreakfast was excellentcentral locationloved this hotelfew minutes walkbeautiful city
Filter
Updating list...
778 - 783 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2006

The Waldstaetterhof location was excellent. Great walking distance to everything and then some. But we has a terrible room and had to pay too much for it. It was loud, and the room was totally nondescript.The blandness of the room was a bit odd given the lobby, restaurant, and even elevator was a little chic. We were given a room right next to the chic elevator which was annoying. The included breakfast was good though. It would've been a better stay if it wasn't so expensive for a budget hotel, even in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shawnbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2006

This is a neat, tidy, quiet hotel with a good breakfast, comfortable beds and friendly staff who speak good English.

We had a smallish standard room for 7 nights at their summer rate booked via HotelClub for just £30.80 pppn. We don't necessarily agree that the rear (yard) side is quiet - a couple of mornings there were commercial vehicles unloading before 07:00. However, this is a city centre hotel and so noise should be expected!

We were seeing Switzerland by rail and so the hotel was very well placed for the station - the side entrance to the station is virtually opposite the hotel - maybe less than a minute's walk.

Couple of warnings: If you pay the bottom rate you will get the cheapest room! Ours had only a shower, an old small tv, and toiletries limited to a soap dispenser attached to the wall. Which was fine for us because we were out the whole time. But we did need to go and buy hair shampoo!

More generally, this is a hotel in which you only get what they say you get. So they don’t say it has a bar and there isn’t one. They don’t show photos of a lounge because there isn’t one. They don’t mention room service because they don’t do it. The hotel restaurant opens from 06:30 to 20:00 and is fairly reasonably priced with a lot of vegetarian food. They will be stripping out the breakfast buffet soon after 09:30 and laying up for breakfast soon after 19:00. If you need a warm drink or anything to eat after 20:00 you’ll need to go out.

Having said that we enjoyed our stay and at the price which was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hollidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2006

My partner and I chose this hotel on the basis of location and price.

Great location.

Great value.

We liked our hotel room (but we're not sure why so many Swiss hotels like this one don't have an alarm clock in the room), facility, and helpful staff. We also liked that breakfast was included.

We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank downtownrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2006

We stayed for one night at this hotel after an 11 hr flight from Los Angeles and it was nice and in the middle of a lot of fun bars and restaurants...We got the standard room which was reasonable and comfortable. We didnt reserve a parking space and had to when we arrived and that was an unexpected 17 CHF but the car and our ski gear were kept safe. We ended up hitting up some of the local bars nearby and it was a lot of fun...specifically the bar called The Black Sheep (cant spell in Swiss German!) and some penthouse bar on the top of another hotel. We ate breakfast at the hotel the next morning and it was good except the room that you eat in has little ventilation so we ended up digesting 2nd hand smoke as well as a croissant! Overall, good stay...nice for a quick stay in town.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bananz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2006

My family (husband, mother and teen-age niece) stayed two nights in January at two of the standard rooms. We were very pleased with our choice. We paid 96 Euro for each double room, breakfast included. The lobby and breakfast room were very attractively decorated and although we had chosen the standard rooms, they were large, with a comfortable bathroom and with excellent heating. When we got to the hotel we were given a map of the city and a brochure with a guide to activities. Breakfast was very good, with a good selection of food. The hotel is located 100 yards from the train station, 200 yards from the Water Tower and wooden bridge. The hotel building itself is elegant and attractive. There is an Internet service in the lobby which you have to pay for, but it is better than having to find a place outside. We had dinner in the restaurant the first night and it was very good, as well as the service. By the way, I found out when I was leaving that service is included in restaurants in Switzerland,so that you don't need to leave a tip!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Argentine-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews