We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Malaysia
315
Reviewed 28 April 2006

The hotel is situated right next to Luzern's main train station (abt 5 minutes away, next to McDonald's fast food restaurant). You only need to walk about 10 minutes to reach Lake Luzern. The views are splendid!

The hotel is about 15-20 minutes away from the Lion Monument (a-must-see). The hotel's room and toilet are very clean. But, the room is quite small.

The receptionist is very helpful too. She will give you a map and give you some ideas about where to visit. Breakfast is good and the hotel even allows us to refill our drink bottles with their fresh fruit juices.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 745 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2006

The Waldstaetterhof location was excellent. Great walking distance to everything and then some. But we has a terrible room and had to pay too much for it. It was loud, and the room was totally nondescript.The blandness of the room was a bit odd given the lobby, restaurant, and even elevator was a little chic. We were given a room right next to the chic elevator which was annoying. The included breakfast was good though. It would've been a better stay if it wasn't so expensive for a budget hotel, even in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shawnbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2006

This is a neat, tidy, quiet hotel with a good breakfast, comfortable beds and friendly staff who speak good English.

We had a smallish standard room for 7 nights at their summer rate booked via HotelClub for just £30.80 pppn. We don't necessarily agree that the rear (yard) side is quiet - a couple of mornings there were commercial vehicles unloading before 07:00. However, this is a city centre hotel and so noise should be expected!

We were seeing Switzerland by rail and so the hotel was very well placed for the station - the side entrance to the station is virtually opposite the hotel - maybe less than a minute's walk.

Couple of warnings: If you pay the bottom rate you will get the cheapest room! Ours had only a shower, an old small tv, and toiletries limited to a soap dispenser attached to the wall. Which was fine for us because we were out the whole time. But we did need to go and buy hair shampoo!

More generally, this is a hotel in which you only get what they say you get. So they don’t say it has a bar and there isn’t one. They don’t show photos of a lounge because there isn’t one. They don’t mention room service because they don’t do it. The hotel restaurant opens from 06:30 to 20:00 and is fairly reasonably priced with a lot of vegetarian food. They will be stripping out the breakfast buffet soon after 09:30 and laying up for breakfast soon after 19:00. If you need a warm drink or anything to eat after 20:00 you’ll need to go out.

Having said that we enjoyed our stay and at the price which was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hollidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2006

My partner and I chose this hotel on the basis of location and price.

Great location.

Great value.

We liked our hotel room (but we're not sure why so many Swiss hotels like this one don't have an alarm clock in the room), facility, and helpful staff. We also liked that breakfast was included.

We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank downtownrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2006

We stayed for one night at this hotel after an 11 hr flight from Los Angeles and it was nice and in the middle of a lot of fun bars and restaurants...We got the standard room which was reasonable and comfortable. We didnt reserve a parking space and had to when we arrived and that was an unexpected 17 CHF but the car and our ski gear were kept safe. We ended up hitting up some of the local bars nearby and it was a lot of fun...specifically the bar called The Black Sheep (cant spell in Swiss German!) and some penthouse bar on the top of another hotel. We ate breakfast at the hotel the next morning and it was good except the room that you eat in has little ventilation so we ended up digesting 2nd hand smoke as well as a croissant! Overall, good stay...nice for a quick stay in town.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bananz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 66 in Lucerne
1,041 reviews
0.2 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.4 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 66 in Lucerne
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 66 in Lucerne
977 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#13 of 66 in Lucerne
867 reviews
0.2 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldstatterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldstatterhof

Address: Zentralstrasse 4, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland (Formerly Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $204 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Waldstatterhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities and comforts is set in late-19th century Victorian in the downtown area; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Waldstatterhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing