We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and good location!!!”
Review of Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. I loved the view of the room. Especially the sunrise view from the room is splendid. Easy to find and near the train station. We stayed at 3rd level, able to use the wifi without any problem throughout the 2 nights. And also convenient to settle the dinner if do not want to walk to far. We settled our first night dinner at the Pub. Nice view and ambience along the riverside. Room is clean and cozy. The bed is really very comfortable. Really have a great stay. The staffs are friendly. I will stay again if I visit Luzern again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 145 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. We arrived early and we're able to leave our bags at the bar/checkin desk which was very convenient. We requested a top floor room, which has a smaller balcony but is farther away from the noise of the public below. The room is crisp, clean and modern and the view of the River and Chapel Bridge is spectacular. It took my breath away. Breakfast is not included in the price of the room, but there are many options nearby. We spent every morning at the riverfront Hub Bakery a short walk away. The location of the hotel is an easy, scenic walk from the train station and after a long day of traveling, this convenience is a huge plus. Standing on our balcony with a glass of wine, looking out at the sparkling river, and flower encrusted Chapel Bridge was completely delightful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xploretheplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights so it was a bit pricey but most hotels in Lucerne are expensive. Pickwick is located close to the station, just walk across the bridge and you'll find it on the other side of the river. I arrived there at around 12:30pm and checked in at the bar. The reception area (at the back) isn't manned so when you checkout, just drop your key in the box on your way out. To get in and out of the hotel, you can use the back exit with your key to avoid going through the bar.

The elevator is incredibly small so dont expect to be able to fit your whole family in there. I basically just fit with my luggage when I was checking in and out.

The room was quite comfortable for a single room. I was on the 3rd floor so I couldn't hear the noise from the pub downstairs, other than the occasional shout from people outside the pub. My room overlooked the river and I had a nice view of Mt Pilatus and the wooden bridge. There's a safe in the room, a table with 2 chairs and enough space to spread out your luggage. Bed was comfortable to sleep in. Walls are a little thin as I could seem to hear the murmur of conversations from ajoining rooms at night. Had an unfortunate incident on my last night when someone managed to unlock my room door with their key. Not sure how I felt about the security of the rooms after that point so it was a good thing I was checking out the next morning.

The pub downstairs in Pickwick is pricey for its pub meals but most resturants in Lucerne price their meals 20CHF and upwards. Note that that's not including your drink. I bought packaged meals, like pasta salad and 2 minute noodles from COOP to save money for a few nights.

Breakfast is not included but they offer a 15CHF buffet breakfast at another hotel/restaurant if you show your key. Never used it though. There is free WiFi available but its not hosted by the hotel. You need to register your number on the website that appears when you detect the wifi hotspot to get the code but it wouldn't work on my UK sim so I ended up buying a 15CHF Orange SIM card for my stay in Lucerne. I managed to access the free WiFi in the hotel after that (not the SIM internet data).

Old Town is located just behind the hotel so you have access to all the shopping you will ever need. However, dont expect shops to be open after 4pm on Saturdays.. everything closes by then! Resturants are still open though. Friday is late night shopping so it's a better opportunity if you want to shop.

Room Tip: Ask for room higher up (3rd floor or higher) to avoid getting noise from the pub at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Interesting hotel on top of a very popular pub. You check in at the bar which is typically very crowded. The rooms are basic, but you can sleep multi's if need be (we were in a group of 3 and just shared a room - which could have slept 4). As others have mentioned to get the free wifi you do need a phone that can get sms. We had international phones, but never got the code.

No one is around in the am so you check yourselves out. Short walk to the train station (where there is parking).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UsePassport3xYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

My wife and I stopped here on a multi stay trip through Europe. It was easily my favorite. We could open a door and step out to be right over the walk way to the river/lake. Below was a bar so if you want to do something or have a drink, all you have to do is go downstairs. If you want peace and quiet it is great for that too with multiple layers of separation and security from the bussling pub below. We came by train so it was easy to find and walk to. The people were extremely friendly. The only reason I could imagine why someone would not completely fall in love with this place is if they brought kids. But form walking around I cant say that Lucern is really a place to vacation with kids. It is also a perfect central location to get to the nearby shopping and sights. A perfect place to stay for a few days!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank whitewater75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 66 in Lucerne
1,062 reviews
0.2 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.3 km away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#11 of 66 in Lucerne
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 66 in Lucerne
1,187 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#12 of 66 in Lucerne
1,110 reviews
0.4 km away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#13 of 66 in Lucerne
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mr. Pickwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Address: Rathausquai 6, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $179 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Pickwick is a popular tourist hotel and "Swiss lodge" approx. 600 Yards from the railway station. Located directly on the banks of the river Reuss, in the heart of the historical old town of Lucerne, the hotel commands a superd view of the world famous wooden "Kapell bridge". Very well maintained simple rooms with en-suite shower and WC, flat-screen TV, room-safe, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, and free WIFI. Most rooms have a small balcony overlooking the river. Every room is a "room with a view"!Breakfast is not included but we recommend a nearby restaurant (only a few steps away) that offers a great breakfast buffet.Parking: due to our location in the historical old town we recommend that you use the parking garage at the train stations (600 yards away). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Mr Pickwick
Mr Pickwick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing