We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and spacious rooms with good interior but poor understanding of booking”
Review of Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2017

I booked 3 adults room (we were 3 adults and one child), however lady at the reception misunderstood something in booking which was clearly written as 3 adults and initially provided us only double bed.
After lots of argument, she agreed to provide one more bed at additional cost of 20 CHF which was not right but I accepted to stop wasting my time with her.
The booking was directly made on hotel website and had very clear information about travelers.
I would not say she wanted to cheat since by talking to her, I felt it was real misunderstanding and she reduced additional cost as much as she can.
Free Wifi was available in room.
On last day I had to leave luggage at Hotel and they took care of it till I returned to collect luggage in the evening.
Overall, staff was very nice and helped us as much as they can.
Lucerne train station at at 400 m of distance.
This hotel is located at the bank of lucerne lake and had nice views of lucerne and mountains.
Restaurants, bar and supermarkets are at walking distance.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank jatinpatel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear jatinpatel77
Many thanks for your detailed and informative review on TripAdvisor – your comments are very much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you spent a good time with us and enjoyed beautiful Lucerne!
Our team really strives hard to provide an unforgettable stay to all our guests; we apologize and thank you for understanding that there was a misunderstanding concerning your reservation - we recently introduced a completely new booking system and our staff is challenged to keep up with all those issues. In any case, we would be pleased to welcome you back to the Hotel Pickwick sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We came for lunch and place was very good with a very nice view. Located near the station and perfect view for the lake and bridge. Place is so relaxing.

Food was excellent. Served fresh and newly cooked. Also have varieties of beers.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ryan_VP_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Ryan_VP_20
Thank you very much for your very good rating on TripAdvisor! We do indeed work hard to provide an authentic British pub experience to our guests and we are delighted that you were totally satisfied! For your next visit we recommend trying our homemade gourmet burger if you haven’t yet done so … We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

The hotel is located on the main street of the city, right in front of the lake with the Medieval Bridge and only 6 minutes walking from the train station. Although the room was very small, it was clean and with new furniture. The shower was hot and strong.
Recommend the location for those who will stay from 1-2 nights at Lucerne.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana Beatriz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Ana Beatriz G
Thank you very much for your positive feedback – your recommendation is strongly appreciated! We are happy that you spent a good time with us and hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Online viewing of the small single room I knew exactly what to expect. Thinking of spending two evenings on the 2 person Balcony made the booking decision easy.
It was even better than expected. About 10:30am July 13 the extremely helpful ladies in the unopened bar permitted me to drop my bag. I always used the back exit so never was actually in the bar when open and unable to give opinion. Easy walk to train/bus/boat/art museums/grocery and of course viewing THE Bridge at night was a delight.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank waktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear waktravel
A big thank you for your 5***** review on TripAdvisor – your words are very much appreciated! We are delighted that your single room exceeded your expectations since the wellbeing of our guests is our utmost priority. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Pickwick quite soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

The view from the room was directly in front of the Chapel Bridge. Did not disappoint. The hotel, slightly different story. You enter through the Pub and check in is at the back of the Pub/bar. The room is very simple and there is no hotel staff on site after the pub closes. The Pub atmosphere was fun and we were there for the band celebrating St. George's Day. Good location, but have to walk to it. No driving or parking. The $15 a night parking is across the bridge and street parking, so not guaranteed. Best if coming in by train

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Blair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Blair H
Thank you very much for your informative review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the marvellous view from your room and spent a cheerful evening in our Mr. Pickwick Pub.
As our popular tourist hotel and "Swiss lodge” is located directly on the banks of the river Reuss, cars do not have access to the narrow alleys; in exchange, you are compensated with a picturesce historic old town … We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,025 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
486 reviews
0.2 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,129 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#18 of 67 in Lucerne
599 reviews
0.1 km away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz- Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mr. Pickwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Address: Rathausquai 6, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $179 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Pickwick is a popular tourist hotel and "Swiss lodge" approx. 600 Yards from the railway station. Located directly on the banks of the river Reuss, in the heart of the historical old town of Lucerne, the hotel commands a superd view of the world famous wooden "Kapell bridge". Very well maintained simple rooms with en-suite shower and WC, flat-screen TV, room-safe, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, and free WIFI. Most rooms have a small balcony overlooking the river. Every room is a "room with a view"!Breakfast is not included but we recommend a nearby restaurant (only a few steps away) that offers a great breakfast buffet.Parking: due to our location in the historical old town we recommend that you use the parking garage at the train stations (600 yards away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mr. Pickwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mr Pickwick
Mr Pickwick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing