We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different than the average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jailhotel Loewengraben
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 8 November 2017

The quirkiness of the hotel was something different, and it all contributed to the whole experience. The rooms were small and basic considering we had a 3 sleeper room. The bathroom was very basic with shower, toilet and hand basin. But it is a jail hotel and it probably contributed to the experience. We saw some of the other rooms which were a bit more luxury. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is situated centrally and easy access to shops and restaurants. Not everyone's taste but surely an experience for a night or two.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel as a part of a Contiki tour in December 2016.

The hotel's location is great. It's in a very central spot in Lucerne and it's surroundings truly are beautiful, it's a shame I cannot say the same for the hotel itself.

Firstly the hygiene levels are a huge problem. The hotel was dirty. There was dust absolutely everywhere. A friend of mine's sheets had stains on them. I don't even want to think about what they possibly could've been. The bathrooms were so unclean - I showered with flip flops on. It felt like the hotel had not been cleaned in months. I did point out my issues with the dirtiness at the time, but little was done to correct these issues.

Secondly, the plugs are so weird. One has to put a deposit down on an extension in order to charge their devices. This is a bit of a nuisance, especially because the hotel ran out of adapters because there were so many of us.

Lastly, I would like to recognise that the hotel is in the process of being renovated. My friend was staying in one of the newly renovated rooms and they really are beautiful. However, with regards to the hygiene levels, there is still room for much improvement!

One thing I will commend them for is their bar staff. We had plenty of buy one get one free beers and the bartenders made our nights super fun and these are memories I will hold dear to my heart forever. Huge "well done" to them.

Overall, I'd probably give this hotel another chance if they improved their cleanliness levels and if I was staying in one of the newly renovated rooms.

Stayed: December 2016
1  Thank 333tifff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stayed here for a tour trip, the breakfast was terrible the room was not clean, there was a small window above the beds on the wall and no curtains. I also left a family heirloom behind, ( I know I should of remember it ) But I tried emailing many times and even had a family member call for me as I was unable to while still traveling. No replies and no calls returned. Extremely disappointing. Would never stay here ever again. Nor would I recommend any one else stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LMB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

This hotel was right in the middle of town, close to all amenities and the lake. Ten minutes from the station. The room was a bit sparse, very basic, the bars at the window put me off. It was clean and warm but I wouldn't stay more than one night. More like a youth hostel but better than sleeping in the street. Breakfast was good. I paid for two nights but I only stayed for one as it was a bit scary. Not for me.

Room Tip: It was what it was, a prison. Some of the rooms were bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

This hotel, is dirty and the history behind the hotel is scary. The rooms are small, and the sheets are not so clean. I would not say here ever, unless it was my last option. The location is great..! There is plenty of nice shops, very convenient shopping location.

Room Tip: Rooms don't have Air conditioner units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank conrodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#43 of 66 in Lucerne
176 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 66 in Lucerne
494 reviews
0.7 km away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#31 of 66 in Lucerne
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 66 in Lucerne
1,042 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 66 in Lucerne
1,168 reviews
0.4 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhotel Loewengraben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhotel Loewengraben

Address: Loewengraben 18, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $203 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhotel Loewengraben 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Jailhotel Loewengraben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhotel Loewengraben Lucerne
Jailhotel Loewengraben Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing