We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
maine
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great value”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We loved our stay at the Butterfly. This was our first trip to Zermatt so were unsure of locations but we found the butterfly to be Perfect. 2 minute walk from the train station, although they will pick you up in the free shuttle, and 4 minute walk ( in ski boots) to the gornegratbahn cog train lift. The sunnegga lift is about 10-15 minutes away. It's located just a street away from the main shopping, bar, restaurant street so easy in the evening to stroll around but so quiet and peaceful.
The staff was wonderful, friendly, helpful. The breakfast buffet was very good and maybe got a bit boring but really was all you need to get going in the morning. Our room was spacious, clean, very quiet. Initially I was disappointed not to have a view of the Matterhorn but we were rarely in the room and saw the Matterhorn all day long from the ski slopes, so no big deal not to have a view. The hotel has sleds you can use, a billiard table, nice sauna area.
But the very best was our guided tour to Cervinia with Milo, who is also the bartender. What a fabulous experience. If you're going during the low season check on the butterfly package. It included our stay, breakfast, lift tickets for 6 days, and the guide to Italy. A truly great value.
We look forward to a return to Zermatt and will definitely stay at the Butterfly

Room Tip: Room 208 is very quiet, has an entry hallway so a bit more privacy when the door is open and not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Napadabema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    203
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
137
312
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have been coming to the Butterfly Hotel annually for about 17 years for a ski holiday.We cannot say enough about the warm welcome and gracious hospitality we experienced here every day.Simone and Frank Shilling are great hosts and all their staff are extremely friendly and efficient.They will advise you about where to ski given the weather that day,make lunch reservations and help you with anything you need with a smile and great care.
During the early ski season they will also take guests of the hotel on a fabulous ski day to Cervinia on the Italian side of Zermatt.This is invaluable for those going there for the first time.If that was not enough,they also treat you to a fabulous lunch there too.They always take care to make sure the group is escorted safely down the slopes and if anyone is a little apprehensive,they will ensure that one of their guides will get them home safely.This ski day is always the highlight of the week here as many of the guests meet each other and make lifelong friendships.We always return the same 2 weeks each year and meet up with all the people we have come to know over the years.It really is like a great big family reunion each year.

The rooms are charming and roomy with great views and all with private balconies.You can book your room with breakfast and dinner,which is a great value given the great quality you receive or you can book just bed and breakfast.Either way,you are enjoying the finest of Swiss hospitality in what we consider to be the best ski resort in Europe by far.The charm of this car free village will enchant you and spoil you so much that you will return year after year.Even though we are closer to the great ski resorts of North America,we look forward to Zermatt more than any other ski destination.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtogoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We were collected from the train station in the hotel's own electric taxi. The hotel is only around the corner from the station and is very central to all the amenities of Zermatt.

We had a nice warm reception. As a family of 6 we stayed in two double rooms with an extra bed in each room. The rooms were spacious and had balconies and although not interconnecting the hotel made sure the rooms were next to each other.

Although the hotel does not have the facilities of a 5 star hotel (it is after all a 3 star hotel) eg an indoor swimming pool it does have the essentials for a ski hotel: great location, free wifi, comfortable warm rooms, and friendly staff. However the highlight is the 5 course evening meal. The food was of a high standard and always varied. Also, although it was a set menu, if our children did not like what was on offer on any of the courses alternatives were offered. The mainly Italian waiter/waitress's could not have been more helpful or friendly.

New Years Eve was special with a disco and a festive atmosphere.

For our daughter's birthday the next evening we arranged with reception to have a cake presented. That evening the lights were turned off in the dining rooms, Stevie Wonder's 'Happy Birthday' was put on and all the waiters came out with the cake to celebrate with my daughter.

I would therefore recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a comfortable and friendly hotel in Zermatt. With regards to Zermatt this is probably one of the best ski resorts in the Alps but the Swiss fanc makes it an expensive place to ski (especially for a large family in the peak week!!)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This hotel is easily the most family friendly, entertaining and helpful hotel I've ever been in.

The staff are extremely efficient and genuinely care about making your experience wonderful. The facilities were great - fast wifi, 3 different types of steam rooms/sauna, ski room, massage, gym, etc. etc. The food and beverages were great - their Apero Spritz was the best we had in Zermatt!

Being located 2 minutes walk from the rail to the ski fields was also very convenient.

Not only did they make our holiday thoroughly enjoyable, but they went out of their way to help us when an avalanche covered the road and rail line into Zermatt, extending our holiday.

To Frank, Simone, Raphaele, Lucia and EVERYONE else at Hotel Butterfly, THANK YOU! Look forward to seeing you on our next trip to Zermatt!

-Josh and Michaela

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN ANTONIO
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This was a wonderful experience for us. The hotel was very close to the train station, the staff was so helpful and pleasant. The room was very clean and comfortable and our view from our room was beautiful. Soooo relaxing. The breakfast in the morning was an added plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the hillside. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOMMUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 km away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.7 km away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#26 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#36 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#15 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Butterfly

Property: Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Address: Bodmenstrasse 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price range (per night): $215 - $390
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Butterfly 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Butterfly has a quiet location in the center of car-free Zermatt, a 2-minute walk from the Gornergratbahn train station and the ski bus stop.All rooms at the Butterfly hotel have satellite TV including CNN, coffee and tea-making facilities and are provide with free Wi-Fi.In the evening, you can enjoy a delicious 5-course dinner in the restaurant.The spa area features a Finnish sauna, an infrared cabin, a steam bath and a tanning bed. During the summer, the spa area is available upon request. Massages are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Butterfly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Butterfly
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing