We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mirabeau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mirabeau
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

We returned from a 4 night stay at the Hotel MIrabeau in Zermatt. We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. From the time we checked in to our departure, our expectations were exceeded the entire time. We arrived later in the evening and were given a tour of the hotel and our room by the woman who checked us in. They kindly upgraded our room so we had a seating area, 2 balconies, a bathroom that had seperate toilet and shower room and 2 TV's. For a European hotel, it was huge and very tastefully decorated. When we woke up, we were amazed at the breathtaking view from the room. The hotel as a whole (along with our room) was immaculate. The bar area, restaurant and spa/sauna areas were perfect and everything seemed new. The atmoshpere was cozy yet sophisticated. Our stay included breakfast which was something we really looked forward to each morning. The selection was excellent and you could also order an omlette. Very food was fresh and coffee delicious. The restaurant overlooked a small courtyard area where we could measure how much snow had accumulated from the day before. We regretted not taking advantage of the sauna rooms but we just didn't make time but it looked brand new and in perfect condition. The hotel provides you a locker to store your ski's and equipment which was a really nice touch. You never felt like you were being "nickel and dimed" on small amenities like you do at some high end hotels. One nice thing...we bought our ski passes from the hotel and picked them up in the morning which was a time saver. We couldn't ski on the last day because of harsh weather conditions and once we left, we were actually happy we had to spend the day at the hotel relaxing.

We felt the prices for wine in the bar's were very reasonable with a great selection. We spent the last evening (feeling very sad we had to leave the next morning) having several glasses of wine in Jospeh Wine Lounge. It is an very cool wine bar and the bartender was very friendly and knowledgable.

The staff was over the top friendly and accomodating. There was no feeling of pretentiousness even though this is a high end hotel.

We really enjoyed the location. It is a short walk to the train station and the bus stop is less than a block away. You could walk to the center of town in 5 minutes and had dozens of restaurants to choose from.

One final story that sums up our stay-as we were getting into the hotel taxi for a free ride to the train station, the gentleman that checked us out ran out and handed us a small bag with a loaf of whole grain bread for our trip home. It was a truly thoughtful gesture and caught us completely by surprise. He wished us a safe journey home and shook our hands goodbye.

We just returned and are already wanting to return as soon as we can. We would absolutely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    71
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
113
266
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

My family stayed at the Hotel Mirabeau for a weekend and we were very impressed with the standard of service from all staff - from restaurant, reception, housekeeping - everyone was professional, helpful and went out of their way to accommodate our young children. The hotel itself was very nice and the location was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAL188107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here after finishing an 11 day trek from Chamonix. It was the perfect ending to a perfect adventure. Upon check in, the extremely nice lady at the front desk informed us that we had been upgraded to a junior suite! So our room was in a separate building just across a courtyard, and faced the main building. We were on the third floor and our room had a large balcony facing the main part of town and the Matterhorn, although you really can't see the mountain. Our room was very large with a sitting area and a very large, modern , spotless bathroom - shower and toilet separate. There was also a towel heater that really worked! The restaurant is lovely with a wall of floor to ceiling windows facing the courtyard. We did have dinner the first night because it was already including in our trek package. After a delicous breakfast the next morning, we went to the front desk to inquire about extending our stay for 2 nights and downgrading to a standard room - hoping we could afford it. the manager and the same very nice lady from the day before, put their heads together over the computer and then offered for us to stay in the same room for about half of the regular rate during high season! My husband slapped his hand down on the counter and said, "Done"!
The breakfasts were plentiful with fresh fruit and several kinds of cereal, meats, cheeses, yogurts and breads. Service was impecable. The hotel is VERY clean, our room was spotless and the bathroom sparkled!! The decor is very contemporary and modern, not quaint and cute Swiss. There is a large wellness center, but it is expensive and clothing is optional - - not for us. The last day after checking out, we left our luggage with the bell desk. When we returned at the end of the day to retreive it, my husband leeft his sunglasses on a counter. When we discovered it two days later and called the hotel, we wer greeted by a very nice lady who said she had been waiting for us to call and where would we like for her to send them! The customer relations skills in this hotel are incredible! We loved our time here - very relaxing and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whoznchargehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ozark
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at the Mirabeau for 3 nights in September,2011. We had a corner room which over looked the courtyard separating 2 buildings,and had a balcony on each side,with a view to the Matterhorn. The staff was friendly and helpful and breakfast was extravagant. Costs were prohibitive for using the spa and other services,and dinner was very expensive,so we didn't eat dinner there. We would definitely recommend it to others however and we would love to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozarktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

My daughter & I stayed at this hotel in September 2011. We loved every minute - From the short (less than 5 min) walk to the hotel from the train station (they offered to pick us up), the easy check in & check out, the upgraded room (it had a good sized sitting area, an abundance of amenities - including an umbrella in case of rain - & a full sized bathroom with separate bath), the fabulous fresh buffet breakfast and the hotel's proximity to the village, all offered at a reasonable price, all helped make our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.

The Mirabeau has many facilities I will not list (as anyone checking it out will obviously look at these) but the main items we all look for are that the staff's friendly & efficient, the room's clean & well-kept (also loved the decor) & a decent size with perfect amenities, a substantial fresh breakfast (with variety) is available & all services which are offered, are provided - which all make for a relaxed & stress free visit - highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#1 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 km away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.1 km away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#11 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.8 km away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#17 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabeau

Property: Hotel Mirabeau
Address: Untere Mattenstrasse 12-14 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price range (per night): $289 - $1,273
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mirabeau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
..Welcome to a magical place! Hotel Mirabeau is a third generation family owned and managed property in Zermatt, Switzerland. The hotel is located in the calmer part of the town, with a majestic view on the Matterhorn and the surrounding Michabel Mountains. With our restaurant ZerMatta, and the 15 points Gault Milliau and Michelin featured gastronomic restaurant Corbeau d'Or as well as our bar and the Joseph's Wine Lounge our guests can enjoy fantastic Food and Wine - the fine art of living. The design of our two buildings is stylish yet alpin and our mountain spa features several saunas, steam baths and relaxation rooms, a newly build pool and jacuzzi as well as a large array of treatments; from couple wine-therapy to chocolate massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabeau Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing