We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RE: Great Hotel and Staff”
Review of Hotel Mirabeau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mirabeau
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Hotel Mirabeau is a great hotel to stay while in Zermatt. It is very close to the train station and the staff are excellent. They were very helpful during our stay with recommendations for sight seeing and restaurants. The room was spacious and clean. Great hotel and city, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varesh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mirabeau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 224 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Excellent Hotel. What I like most is the availability of the owner. The staf does an excellent job. The atmosphere is cosy and every thing is top. I can not find anything that is not in good order. One of the best Hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This hotel is excellent. It is in a good location, close to the Sunegga lift and the Railway (not that it matters with the free bus service throughout the town). The rooms are spacious and smartly decorated. The food is fabulous. Breakfast is ideal for a day on the slopes. The attentive service delivered by the staff is always with a friendly smile. All staff had excellent English. The spa is a welcome aid to recovery after a day on the mountain. The wine bar is so lovely I wish we'd discovered it earlier in the week rather than the last but one night. When we left at 4am we were given bags stuffed with food prepared for our breakfast on route. Better than any corporate 4 or 5 star we have stayed at anywhere else. Yes, the TV could have been better, but how much time does one want to spend in their room when you have a great view, a great spa and a great wine bar? We're already considering a summer trip back here. It made our holiday perfect. I hope we can return soon.

Room Tip: 102 is over the service area for dining, so a little noisy but not intrusively so.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWife78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Located close to the train and bus station, the Mirabeau is well placed to reach every corner of Zermatt. Everything is perfect, from the tasteful decoration of the rooms (some with a spectacular view on the Matterhorn) through the restaurant, wine lounge and bar to the spa (Alpines Refugium) where you can relax and recover after a day in the snow. You might want to try a facial treatment or a massage for complete relaxation....
Friendly service and a great buffet for breakfast providing all the energy you need for a day on the slopes. The discreet presence of the owners who ensure the well being of the guests is felt everywhere. The food is excellent and if you want to give yourself a special treat try the gourmet restaurant "Corbeau d'Or".

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brigittep37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed as a family of 4 for a week's skiing. Having been to Zermatt before we knew to expect the fantastic views and eye watering prices. We had chosen to stay at the Mirabeau mainly due to its facilities, location and renowned hotel restaurant. The location cannot be faulted as it is a short walk to both Sunnega and Gornergrat trains and the shops on Banhoff Strasse. The hotel restaurant is just fantastic with an extensive and accomplished menu each night and amazing buffet breakfasts each morning. The restaurant staff are wonderfully efficient, polite and friendly. Highlights were certainly the Walliser buffet and the desert buffet which had us loosening belt buckles.

We had adjoining double rooms with Matterhorn facing balconies. The rooms were stylish if a little spartan and the en-suite had a wonderfully powerful shower. In-room entertainment was a little disappointing considering the overwhelming amount of English speaking guests as there were only a few English language channels on the TV in amongst the plethora of Italian, German, Swiss and French channels. In room Wi Fi is also sketchy at best. I found it best to piggy back on adjacent open Wi Fi signals than rely on the hotel's signal.

The hotel shares an excellent swimming pool with the Ambassador and this was well used and occasionally busy but great fun nonetheless.

Some of the hotel's other facilities were a bit of a let down. The Mirabeau guests were supposedly precluded from using the Ambassador's sauna, but as the Mirabeau's sauna was exclusively 'no clothing', many guests either abstained or used the Ambassador's. The boot room - surely the 2nd most important part of a ski resort hotel, next to the kitchen, is woefully small and is a disaster area in the morning and late afternoon. There was also some confusion about a mini bar bill as nobody in the party had touched the mini bar. Had we been charged for what we thought were complimentary bottles of water? We'll never know.

Overall though The Mirabeau is a very good hotel in a wonderful location with fantastic food and staff. Even for Zermatt, the hotel is very expensive and this probably leaves us wanting a little bit more. A little bit of more attention to the facilities and the hotel would be excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Equality_7-2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 km away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
974 reviews
0.7 km away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
451 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#16 of 111 in Zermatt
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 111 in Zermatt
614 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.5 km away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#9 of 111 in Zermatt
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabeau

Address: Untere Mattenstrasse 12-14 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $272 - $1,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mirabeau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
..Welcome to a magical place! Hotel Mirabeau is a third generation family owned and managed property in Zermatt, Switzerland. The hotel is located in the calmer part of the town, with a majestic view on the Matterhorn and the surrounding Michabel Mountains. With our restaurant ZerMatta, and the 15 points Gault Milliau and Michelin featured gastronomic restaurant Corbeau d'Or as well as our bar and the Joseph's Wine Lounge our guests can enjoy fantastic Food and Wine - the fine art of living. The design of our two buildings is stylish yet alpin and our mountain spa features several saunas, steam baths and relaxation rooms, a newly build pool and jacuzzi as well as a large array of treatments; from couple wine-therapy to chocolate massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabeau Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing