We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$550
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/22
Official Site
US$548
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$495
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/01/22
PricelineUS$506
Booking.comUS$550
Hotels.comUS$550
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
603
66
22
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
603
66
22
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews widder bar old town favorite hotel modern design love this hotel sitting area other hotels housekeeping staff baur au lac quiet location central zurich the main train station single room concierge switzerland chf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 709 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2021

Beautiful rooms, each with a different motif. The rooms are gorgeous with every amenity. They are so beautiful it is difficult to leave the room to tour.
The food is outstanding. Breakfast was delicious, large variety with a lovely menu.
Perfect location.

The staff was phenomenal from check in with Ricardo, who was polite, helpful and very kind.
Katatrina, the concierge was outstanding. She was phenomenal getting our desired reservations. She was extremely helpful with suggestions to enhance our visit.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank luckyBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina Fink, Marketing at Widder Hotel - Zurich's Luxury Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2021

Dear luckyBaltimore

We would like to thank you very much for your flattering words.

It was a great pleasure for us to read your review and to learn that you enjoyed your stay in the heart of Zurich. We truly appreciate your compliments to our staff members. Every day our whole team is doing their best to make every guest’s stay perfect and feedback as yours are the nicest present we can get.


We wish you all the best and are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you soon again at the Widder Hotel.

Best regards

Anina Thom, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2021 via mobile

The hotel was much more than I expected! The location was wonderful, close to good shopping, good food and in walking distance to most of downtown Zurich; also walking distance to the central train station. The staff went out of their way to make our stay easier and more enjoyable offering options that we did not know about… I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jale77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina Fink, Marketing at Widder Hotel - Zurich's Luxury Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2021

Dear Jale


We would like to thank you very much for your kind feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us that much.

The location of our property is indeed unique and we are happy to fill our guests with enthusiasm for our hotel in the heart of Zurich.

We wish you all the best and are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you soon again in the heart of Zürich.

Best regards

Anina Thom, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2021

My recent stay here was perfect. The room was spacious with a sitting area. The bathroom was beautiful with high end finishes. The staff was attentive and very service oriented. The food in their restaurant was also excellent. The location is excellent. Walking distance to the main train station and on a street with no traffic.

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank travfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina Fink, Marketing at Widder Hotel - Zurich's Luxury Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2021

Dear travfromLA

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff did take good care of you. Indeed we are happy to be located in such a historic quartier.

We truly appreciate your kind review and hope we will have the possibility to welcoming you soon again in the heart of Zurich.

Best regards

Anina Thom, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

This hotel is right in the heart of district 1 and old town and an easy 7 min walk to the train station. It’s a very stylish hotel and the service top notch as you can imagine. I was only staying for one night as had to head out the next morning.

I loved the bar , both indoor and outdoor are very cool and a nice welcome drink voucher too. Now I was staying in a single room so their smaller ones, it was not that large and a little out of date for my liking but I think that’s the look they are going for, bathroom was the same tiny and very dated. I guess the doubles are a lot nicer and brighter and the pics look more stylish , so maybe avoid the single rooms it was the deciding factor in me choosing a different hotel for my return tbh to their sister property the Storchen nearby which seems a bit more my style.

Overall I can see why it has good reviews, especially the service and restaurant etc, but perhaps avoid the single rooms if you can.

Room tip: Avoid single rooms
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 547nadeemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina Fink, Marketing at Widder Hotel - Zurich's Luxury Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2021

Dear 547nadeemu

First of all we would like to thank you very much for your kind feedback.

It is great pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we truly appreciate your compliments to our service and staff.
Our property is indeed a quite historical building with 49 rooms which are all a little different from each other and individually designed.

We appreciate that you have also stayed in our partner hotel the Storchen Zurich which is also part of The Living Circle Group.

It would be great pleasure to be able to show you a different room upon a future stay. We wish you all the best and are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you soon again.

Best regards

Anina Thom, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2021 via mobile

This is one of our favorite European hotels (up there with Le Sirenuse). The building is an architectural feat; joining old houses together - you have to see the glass elevator! The courtyard is lovely, as well as the other restaurants, bars and seating areas. The lobby is very well appointed.

Our room was gorgeous; we got upgraded to the historic suite, and it was simply fantastic with original ceiling and floors, so charming. And it overlooked old town. The bed was really comfortable. Nice bathroom and good bath products. We had robs and slippers.

The food was delicious; we ate in the courtyard. Their restaurant on the street was always busy. And they had a nice breakfast offering.

The location is amazing, right in the middle of the charming old town but also close to the main shopping avenue. And it’s a very short walk to the lake through the old town streets with all the beautiful shops.

What makes this hotel even better is the wonderful service. The check-in was a breeze and so pleasant (I wish I remember the gentleman’s name at the front desk; he was so kind and professional). Everyone goes out of their way and always have a smile. They learn your name right away. And they had everything ready for our early check out even without us prompting them. They’re so well coordinated.

Even their pens and umbrellas are super cool, which they let us take with us. They even had a cool Tesla taxi for us to take us to the airport!

You should absolutely book here. This is the perfect balance of cool and elegance wrapped in great service.

We will absolutely come back. We even tried to change our flight so we could stay another night.

Virtuoso review: we always travel with Virtuoso program and this hotel knocked it out of the park. They let us check in early and had upgraded us about 3 levels up before we arrived; no hassling, no pointing out the program like at other hotels in Europe. Just fantastic. The only other hotel with this level of care in Europe for the program is Le Sirenuse; the Widder is that good. Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LOM-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina Fink, Marketing at Widder Hotel - Zurich's Luxury Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2021

Dear LOM-NYC

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this feedback and share your experiences about your stay at the Widder Hotel.

Our building is indeed unique with 49 rooms inhouse which are all a little different from each other and we are more than happy to see that our guests appreciate this individuality. As you mentioned we are surrounded by Zurich's old town with all the famous churches and other historical buildings which allows our guests to get to know Zurich at its best.

Especially we would like to thank you for your flattering words about our staff. Your compliments to our staff are wonderful to read as this is our most valuable asset and it is our ultimate ambition to satisfy our esteemed guests.

Every day our whole team is doing their best to make every guest’s stay perfect and feedback as yours are the nicest present we can get.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we feel honoured to learn that you will choose the Widder Hotel for your future stays in Zurich again.

Best regards

Anina Thom, Front Offic eManager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews