We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$228
View deal
Expedia.com
US$246
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$179
View deal
Hotels.comUS$246
Hotel WebsiteUS$228
TravelocityUS$246
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
172
124
41
11
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
172
124
41
11
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river view piano bar great location train station old town less than a minute walk early check hotel is beautiful air con comfy bed stayed nights across the river front desk staff zurich hb booked this hotel coffee machine short stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2022

Of course there is little to no air-conditioning in Europe overall...so yes the room was stuffy during a heatwave, but the condition of the room and service were impeccable and the breakfast service was first class.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JrnyJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Central Plaza, Inhaber at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for your positive rating.


We have an air flow system. You can control the temperature using the temperature controller on the wall. The temperature that gets into the room is a maximum of 10 degrees colder than the outside temperature. The Superior Rooms are equipped with air condition. Maybe this is interesting for a future stay. Your feedback on our location and breakfast service drives our commitment and passion for being an excellent host for our guests every day.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at our hotel.

Sunny regards
Franziska Kläy
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2022 via mobile

We received a warm welcome on arrival and we were impressed by the tasteful decor in the reception area. Unfortunately, this did not extend to our room. It was small, cramped, dark and very hot. We had a tiny window that overlooked the street and an ugly building. We were given a fan, but it didn’t make much difference.

The hotel is in an excellent location, directly across the road from the station. There are lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance and we found that the ones closer to the river were more expensive. We enjoyed walking along the river and down to the lake to admire the boats and the many swans and ducks.

At breakfast time there was a selection of cereals, yogurts, breads and cold meat and cheese. In addition, there was scrambled egg and bacon. The chef will also cook an omelette or eggs fresh if required. The coffee and juices were served by a waiter and were of a good quality.

We had a drink in the bar one evening (almost £50 for 6 beers) and were surprised that they closed at around 10:30. The staff were efficient and courteous.

We had not realised that Swiss electrics are different to the rest of Europe, so we had to borrow an adapter from reception for a 15 franc deposit. It was only later on that we realised there was actually a British socket built into the fridge unit! Such a good idea!

The room was cleaned to a high standard each day, although there was a strange smell. We put it down to the heat, because all surfaces were spotless.

The health club is across the road, not part of the hotel.

Room tip: Ask about the view before you accept a room.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ellie-dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Central Plaza, Inhaber at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you for your visit and for letting us know your experience at the hotel.

We are pleased to know that our reception staff, the breakfast and the cleanliness met your expectations. We regret that the size of the room did not meet your expectations. There are more spacious Superior Rooms, Junior Suites and Suites. Maybe one of these room types would be an interesting option for a future stay. The restaurant / bar Central is open until midnight on Thursday, Friday and Saturday. On the other days of the week until 11 p.m.; Our hotel guests can use the Activ Fitness gym opposite the hotel free of charge. You get a key card at the reception.

We would be delighted to welcoming you again in Zurich.

Best regards

Franziska Kläy
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2022

The location of the Central Plaza is central just as advertised. We paid for three rooms and disappointed the hotel did not offer a complimentary breakfast. The rooms were clean, but were very warm, as was the sitting room outside our room.

Room tip: Ask for room facing the street.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tour751784
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Central Plaza, Inhaber at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you for your visit and for your feedback. We are glad to read that you like our central location. We offer a continental breakfast, it is 21.00 CHF per person. It is possible to reserve rooms that include breakfast. There are also special rates (e.g. early bird rates). We wish you a pleasant time.

We wish you a good time.

Kind regards

Franziska Kläy
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2022

My Wife and 2 adult children stayed here during a 2.5 week Europe trip and this was one of our favorite stays. The location was perfect for us, close to the train station that we used to take day trips, super convenient. The food at the restaraunt was good, the room was clean and the staff was super friendly. Highly reccomend.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank garycA3340GL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Central Plaza, Inhaber at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for having taken the time to share your experiences. We are delighted to read that your stay was one of your favorite stays in Europe. Thank you for your compliments which will be forwarded to the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Franziska Kläy
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2022

The Central Plaza Hotel is true to its name, very central to the City of Zurich and located just in front of the main train station. The rooms are nice, a little small and the hallway always feels cramped. The décor of the common areas, lobby, restaurant and bars is a bit much. Loud marble floors and animal print fabrics but the spaces are comfortable, the breakfast very good and the staff excellent.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreggSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Central Plaza, Inhaber at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2022

Dear GreggSD

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for your very positive feedback. We are delighted to receive your compliment about the quality of our breakfast and our nice staff. Your feedback drives our commitment to and passion for being an excellent host for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Franziska Kläy
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews